Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Life.exe

by wujood - Jam Entry

*Hint: Read the diary*

Find out what your life is about.
What is going on? How do you open this god damn door? And where are all the people? Is there more than the one room you are in?

Controls
[A/D] -> Left/Right
[E] -> Action/Conversation
[Space] -> Jump/Climb
[Return] -> Confirm Input

Tools
Unity, PyxelEdit, GarageBand, VisualStudio

Extern Sources
- Font : http://www.dafont.com/de/vanadine.font

Patch Notes:
- Less distractions
- 911 is now a thing?
- Edited Screenshot
- Edited Background music
- 911 won't leave you alone with your problems from now on.
- New visual after effects
... Installing Updates 98% ...

This was our first ludum dare. We had a good time and hope to see your feedback on our result. We love it ! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#221Humor(Jam)3.23
#438Audio(Jam)2.93
#564Mood(Jam)3.10
#587Graphics(Jam)3.16
#601Theme(Jam)3.27
#634Overall(Jam)3.07
#678Innovation(Jam)2.66
#694Fun(Jam)2.74

Comments

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Good start, very charming. I'm concerned that the player's green shoes may not be humongous enough though.

Shockk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:57pm

I spent an excessive length of time in this game, just trying to figure out if the numbers mean anything. I COULDN'T FIGURE IT OUT and it's driving me insane. I tried all sorts of combinations with the phone and the door but couldn't get it.

wujood says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:02pm

@Shockk He said he should read his diary ... maybe this helps? ;)

imphenzia says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Hey, nobody was picking up when I dialed 911 =) Like how this brought some memories back from the era of point click adventures. I tried the numbers that I could find on the level to open the door but was unable to. I also tried some obvious ones like 1337 etc. I need to have another stab at it. The music had a bit of a repeat on it so it would have been nice if it had been just a tad longer. Liked the comedy of the updates still installing as you woke up :) Nice work!

wujood says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:23pm

*Hint* I think you all need Jesus ... is what your granny would say. If only you had her number.. *Hint ends*

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Really need a walktrough for this !) Great game with a very charming humor :D

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:29am

Cool. I got stuck on "Insert" though, just when the going was good.

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:31am

You can fix that by clicking inside the Input Field

Potato Dog says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:42am

Ace

xclementx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:31am

I was stuck too... Fun to play :)

ranner198 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:01am

Yo, I got a question. Whats up with this guys socks? is he a size 36? XD P.S. Fun game!

Schrunkin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:03am

Got stuck at "insert", but really cool! I like the idea of exploring a room to find out who you are. Liked how you guided the player to the bookshelf in the beginning. One negative thing: the looping music is really short. You can hear it very clearly as it loops and it quickly becomes monotenous. Will try later to see if i can get past the message that says insert :)

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:20am

i fixed those "insert"-stuck bugs now :)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:27am

I couldn't really figure out what to do. I tried concatenating a whole bunch of numbers to get "64351521298" but that didn't do anything.

madlee says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:27am

Nice style, very intriguing! I wasn't sure what to do with the "INSERT" pop-ups though. Great job on your first ludum dare!

Spab says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:34am

Old Point n click games bring me right back! Really enjoyed the Art Style and the humorous setting!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:39am

I have tried every combination but the right one. I like the concept though!

Lucas Knutson says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:22am

I really like the graphics!

laylow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:23am

Wow, very difficult. I think I'm just slow though, seems everyone else got pretty far. I like the art and music though

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:43am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:51am

Nice game! Very charming and has some good humor in it. I couldn't find grannies number though :/

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:13am

Hard to find number. Please add improved ambient music.

Tkachov says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:51am

Nice graphics, but the numbers... Interested in how the game goes, tried a lot of combinations of found numbers, but didn't make it.

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Made it slightly easier for you guys to solve the first puzzle :)

Ethan Allwood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:27pm

i tried dialing 911 for help... nobody answered...

bigoss73 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:45pm

The music and graphics are great, the puzzles seem pretty hard, but that's probably just me because I always sucked at point-and-click adventures and similar games :D

Yomalolo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:54pm

That composer guy seems like a decent dude.

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Been playing it for a long time and couldn't solve the puzzle.
I like it, it made me laugh, I liked the references to other things such as Star Wars or Full House, but sadly I don't think either the puzzle is too hard or it's not a good one.
Loved the graphics, liked the music, admired the character's socks.
Also... is that weed upstairs?

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Been playing it for a long time and couldn't solve the puzzle.
I like it, it made me laugh, I liked the references to other things such as Star Wars or Full House, but sadly I don't think either the puzzle is too hard or it's not a good one.
Loved the graphics, liked the music, admired the character's socks.
Also... is that weed upstairs?

EDIT: Managed to get grandma's number and it was useless. What's happening!

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Calling granny will change your view of some things that become important!

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Nice one, pretty neat graphics.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:08pm

love them big shoes! good humor too! :)

stuffedgravy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:45am

I enjoyed what I could of the puzzles, but got stuck after the first one. I would suggest a link that has a quick walkthrough for people looking to review the game! Of what I saw though, I enjoyed the humor and the puzzles seemed satisfying (911 was pretty crucial for solving the first, wish it kept giving you hints). The audio started getting a bit repetitive, but I don't think it's intrusive enough to get on anyone's nerves. This is one of the few game that I've seen that actually engaged with the theme outside of "we only coded one room"!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:49am

Solid, Managed to figure out the grama's number but the random passage in diary got me stumped.

2Bit says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:41am

Poor granny, I guess I'll never call her, at least I can climb faster than I can walk - like way faster.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:48am

Love the simple pixel art style and humour. The Full House joke made me laugh, haha.

I almost gave up but then it clicked. I solved the first puzzle and like any good point and click I felt brainy figuring it out. But the second puzzle, I just couldnt quite figure out the number, thought I had it a few times but in the end I had to quit. But I will return and solve it!

The music on the second puzzle is pretty good too. Nice work!

rainssong says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Winner is a shit? lol ,nice work

erikiene says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:44pm

Didn't manage to complete the game but can say it's fun and well designed!

Might be due to me not finishing but who's on the roof?

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Graphics are sometimes buggy, peeking through floor; reminds me of McPixel

Frantos says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Great game! Really liked it, played it for a while, but I can't seem to unravel the second puzzle... first one was easy enough. Either way, great job on your first Ludum Dare!

TitoMakaniJr says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:36pm

That ladder sure is CRAZY! I was digging the pixel art for sure, lol those shoes might be a little big though! Good job on the game guys!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Am I the first to complete this game?
http://i.imgur.com/ZkVSGVq.png

Btw, I noticed the thing wujood, how creepy! I wish I could have uncovered THAT mystery.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:36am

Nice and charming entry!
Well done!

p.s. too big shoes xD

Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Good game. I finally figured out Granny's number. I read the clock wrong. *doh!* I couldn't figure out the next number.

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:09am

Spent several minutes playing, couldn't find the telephone number!! I'm feeling stupid LOL! Where's my diary!!! GODDAMNNNNN!!!!

Bemmu says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:54pm

Best entry I've tried so far. I could see myself really getting obsessed with solving the puzzle, but had to wrestle myself away to go on with my real life!

masterkrepta says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:18am

Great pixel art and humor. Loved the framed award winning poop hung on the wall.. who does that? I loved the layering to add to the sense of depth of the graphics, it was a small detail, but I enjoyed it. Definitely got stuck, and would love to come back when i'm less drowsy to try and figure this game out.

kidando says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:43am

I wasn't able to figure out what to do. I tried some number combinations but no clue. Interesting concept though. Congrats on submitting your entry

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:17am

Couldn't figure out what to do after the "rabbit hole", sorry D:
Please just maybe start off with a few easier puzzles because I was almost just going to give up on the grandma's phone number, which most people will do. Keep building this game though, it's interesting.

JackTheOgre says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Awesome. I haven't played a lot point-and-click games. I love he humour in the game. Yeah, as people have mentioned, would be nice if there was an opportunity to get anoher clue once you're stuck.

rplnt says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:56pm

I like the music, has certain Birdman vibe to it. Graphics are great, puzzles were engaging, but as many I wasn't able to progress far enough (rabbit hole was my end).

BoltKey says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:06am

That's it, I give up. I got into the rabbit hole and got stuck...

Really great entry. Atmospheric, nice graphics, great audio. The controls felt a bit clunky though, but that is not what the game is about so it's k.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:32am

Overall, really difficult but well made game. It's a game I'm going to definitely come back too! Great work!

darkdaragon77 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:08pm

This game is the best game I played so far, but it contains of only out of 3 Puzzles, which are way to hard. Still very creative game, which made a lot of fun to play.

Spoiler:
If you got stuck on the third puzzle as well: You have to work with the ToDo list.

Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Really funny game though I was not able to find the numbers for the phone or door ^^' Well done though :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 5:17am

So close! But couldn't finish the last puzzle.

The way the guy climbs the ladder is unreasonably amusing to me =P

Clemzd says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Really cool game and really hard too!
The last puzzle is really really hard!
But I did solve it =)

Tortoise says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 6:45am

art is nice and consistent and it felt like it could be the start to a larger game.

ema1ih says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 8:14pm

I didn't get the number thing but it's an intriguing little game.

Dec 29, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Neat game. I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/hYD1PzuDX-0

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Very intriguing . Nice music could be a little longer. Not to found on the pixel art colors.
And those shoes? Nah, non important. Cliimbing the ladder was strange.

I got stuck on after granny and reading the bible and trying to use those numbers to open the door.

Spend around 15 minutes on it ... that's got mean something.

A cool entry nonetheless!

Dec 30, 2016 @ 8:12pm

I got to the Rabbit Hole part, I knew I had to use the numbers by the pictures, then cat and then radio, but there were too many numbers by the pictures. I tried a lot of different combinations but couldn't get one to work, there's probably another part of it that I'm missing. I liked the atmosphere of the rabbit hole section, and the first 2 puzzles felt like a good difficulty to me

Jan 1, 2017 @ 7:12pm

Couldn't find the 7 digits number but I got really addicted by the game. Really well written also, the right kind of humour, nice job for your first participation, keep up the good work!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]