Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Witching Morning

by Mayhem Makers - Jam Entry

UPDATE: Post-Ludum Dare build available to download!
________________________________________

You are Lettuce, a little witch who woke up Late.
Gather your things and get ready for school as fast as possible, so you don't miss class!

There are 8 possible endings, and 7 collectible items.
Try to get all items in time.

Controls:
[Arrow Keys] / [WASD] - Movement
[Space] / [E] - Interact
[Mouse] - For the Hairdresser Mini game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#23Graphics(Jam)4.64
#105Mood(Jam)3.91
#107Humor(Jam)3.65
#121Overall(Jam)3.87
#124Theme(Jam)4.12
#149Fun(Jam)3.68

Comments

slimabob says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:14am

So cute! Some of my favorite art in the compo. I think the triggers for the events are a little small though (took me a bit of tapping back and forth before I was able to activate some of the things).

Aside from that, great work- and this is definitely one of my favorite games that I've played so far!

Palarus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Excellent game. Artstyle is cute and adds to the magic feeling of the game. Minigames are welcome to add some spice and there are many endings to get depending on which items you find.

Managed to be a model student!

vrojman says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Really nice art :D

captainskye says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Ah I love it! Great job!

c4m says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Excelente art!!! And a very funny game =D! Super short but more than enough to enjoy it! Good job

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:26pm

The art is so nice!! The mini games were fun as well. Great job! :)

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:57am

Some of the best art in the jam.

scorched says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:04am

Graphics are cute! Like the flying book!
The controls are not very good, you need 3 hands to play it comfortably :-)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:13am

Loved this entry, one of the games I've enjoyed most x33 (so cute >.<). However, I do agree with the first comment, some of the triggers are a bit tricky.

Great work ^^

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:36am

soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo cute! and a nice idea for a short game! Thanks! I loved it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:57am

Lettuce is so cute.

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:43am

short and cute!

ValiaP says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:51am

So Cute! Art style really got me. Going to witch school with only underpants was a nice story setting for a short game.The hairdressser mini game idea is also fun.

Dose somebody know how to get that hat?

Marta Viader says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:42am

Super charming game. I love the graphics :D

Mayhem Makers says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Thank you so much for the feedback everyone!
We will work towards fixing some of the problems you mentioned on postLD builds.

And @ValiaP, the Hat goes under the Bed after it teleports.

Sun-Wukong says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:18pm

It's so cute! Loving your art style, and saving this one for inspiration.
The game also executed near perfectly. The only thing getting little out of the way is that you need to use mouse for combing hair(it took me a while to realize since mouse cursor was out of the window and you use only keys for all other things). Also it's short but I don't care because of overwhelming cuteness. And teacher's notices got me cracked too.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Fun little game, i'm a perfect little witch :3
Cute caracter!
I didn't stop playing until i get the perfect ending haha.

Maybe the jump to get on top of the "dressing furniture" (sorry i don't know the name...) is a bit to difficult and frustrating.

Realy nice game :)

Kizler says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Played it over and over again until I was able to get everything. I had the hardest time with the toast.

jerwil says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:03am

The art is so great! The hourglass is very well done, and the game is fun. It was satisfying to finally be ready for class! Great work.

Swordbrella says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:04am

Great game! Simply loved the art :)

SpaceRelated says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:22am

Very cute, and very fun. Hitboxes were a little funky though.

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:23am

oh! Nice! is it onlu for windows? Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

Mayhem Makers says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:48pm

We don't have a Mac, so we can't export it for Mac as of right now.
And yes! You can find it here:
http://www.indiexpo.net/en/games/witching-morning

Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:49pm

FINALLY got everything in the time limit. The triggers were against me in a few plays. I just didn't have time to grab the toast, SO many times.

This game is super cute, awesome job :)

Catwheel says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:55pm

I'm all ready for Witches school!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:24pm

I really liked the game! It's quite challenging being ready for a day in the withc academy! Nice art and funny. Perhaps the colliders of the interactables are hard to get sometimes,but the overall is very cool! Good job!

Hores says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:15pm

That was a fine morning! Takes you a couple of days to master but then you have plenty of time to even enjoy a healthy breakfast ;-) A very nice game! Perfect for the theme.

ursagames says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:23pm

That was an adorable game! It took me way too long to realize I could jump from the bed to top of the wardrobe... once I did it was smooth sailing from there. Enjoyed the different endings and the toast timing was a nice element to complicate the perfect run.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:09pm

It was such a sweet entry, so sad it was so short :(

Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Cute graphics, lovely little game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/YiLAPTz00w0

Yvanor says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Great game ! It's cute and fun. The graphics and the music are excellent, and we want to try to get every endings. Excellent entry ! :)

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Nice tricky little game.
I had to finish and forgot everytime a different thing a dozend times.
Would be a good educational game for kids.
Your company logo is awesome!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:03pm

How nice the graphics are!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:06pm

The character design is really good, background and animations are drawn well as well, not sure what happens to the table when I pick up the book though. Gameplay, I like the mini games and I like that when you fail at getting a certain item then the teacher will chastise you about it, that's good attention to detail. The obvious problem is I had to mash the spacebar most of the time cause the game wasn't responding to my inputs, made it a bit frustrating.

parias001 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:20pm

After 10 times I managed to finish the game!!!
Y Really liked it, specially the different endings. Great job! I would like to suggest to improve the queues that let you know you can use an item, maybe by adding a bright outline, but overall it was AWESOME AND CUTE!

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Great work! I enjoyed playing this. I really like the visuals :)

pmarincak says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:14pm

This was really cute and I really enjoyed it. I loved the art, and it was actually kinda hard to get to the last few items (toast and hat). Great job :D

DOXM says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:48am

The artstyle is unique!

hiki911 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:40pm

nice and cool game. you are awesome!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:46am

hahahah
I really like this entry!
I love the graphic style and the gameplay is smooth and enjoyable!
Maybe a little short, but a nice game after all
Well done!

Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Very lovely little game! Kept playing it till I managed to get all things in time :) Well done!

ema1ih says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:07pm

The graphics are so cute, nice game :)

PolygonTeam says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 10:57pm

very nice art!!! fun music! i love this game)!

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 3:25pm

wooooow amazing!! ~_~
my only complain is that I have to spam space so much that when the final scene is showing I keep pressing space and it skips it, if there was like a 5 seconds delay in the last scene it would be perfect!
your art style is flawless!
absolutely enjoyed your game! :)

Ellian says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 4:13pm

This is adorable! I managed to win and I'm the best student. That godamn toast was so hard to get in time!

This is a very fun ting, all the congrats for making this! It was really fun to play, and the art is absolutely adorable. Congrats!

Minato4th says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Very pretty game where all components are done very well. In same time I think this game are focused on girls!

mirta000 says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 7:47pm

so cute! I still can't reach that damn hat though!

Dec 31, 2016 @ 9:33pm

its impressive what you have managed here, great entry. loved the art style

Jan 1, 2017 @ 3:59am

Cute sprite sheets and a fun concept. It was a little bit hard to find out how to succeed without failing repeatedly though which is a bit tough.

Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:17am

Impressive art!! There's really a good mood here, well done.
I think the collisions with what is interactable should be improved, and I don't see the point of using the mouse just for one mini game if the rest of the game doesnt use it.
Apart from that, nice little game, congrats!

yuigoto says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 2:18pm

Nice and cute! It's so short though! :P It took me a while to get all endings (didn't realize about jumping on the wardrobe), but I did get all endings in the end! :)

The graphics are beautiful and really well made! The base concept of the game's also pretty good and you've a pretty great mood there! :D

Controls are also pretty responsive and work nicely once you get the hangs of it! :)

Congrats!

Mayhem Makers says ...
Jan 4, 2017 @ 3:00am

Thank you everyone for the feedback, and for taking time to play our game.

We will consider everything said and try to make the game better.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]