Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Exit The Room Update 1.1

by Artsicle - Compo Entry

This is my first ludum dare game, where you have to escape the room. Yes, I know what you are thinking: Thats not creative! Well I see no submissions about it so why not but I see what you mean.
Github: https://github.com/ArtsicleReal/exit-the-room

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#315Humor2.44
#446Audio1.34
#542Theme2.83
#573Innovation2.11
#619Fun1.64
#637Overall2.06

Comments

Soundless_dev says ...
Dec 11, 2016 @ 11:34pm

hahaha I didn't have the attention span to escape. Or the time, as I'm on break at work. But the game's execution was pretty funny.

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:06pm

That wasn't fun but it was an interesting experiment :)
You just made me wait 10 minutes and click 100 times :)
Good for the laughs, great job!

MAT4DOR says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Interesting implementation, using inputs/headings for interaction/rendering buttons instead of using events and WebGL. Good job!

erikiene says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Interesting idea, not too fun though.

P.S. You can embed your game so it's playable on this page by copying over the link from itch.io -> distribute -> embed

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:16pm

It doesnt let me embed, so I might aswell add a play link to the top :)

gene-z says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:18pm

nice game, good work

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:33pm

maybe think about making better use of the space you are not using, the messaging could of been on the wall on the left which would of saved constantly scrolling down and back to read it

dobnarr says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Not much to do here, although there's a little bit of a cookie-clicker vibe on the first game - I was wondering what the optimal ratio was, but I stopped after the 5000-point upgrade. But, it works and does something, and fits the theme.

moomoomang says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:36pm

I feel like the f***ed up embed code kinda fits with this games tone lol

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:40pm

@dobnarr, I believe its the same if you buy the 5000 money upgrade or just go to 10,000.

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:41pm

@cynicalmonkey The latest messages are at the top.

ISG says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Game is a little bit boring, sorry.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:56pm

I don't know what it is. It is definitely original, but hardly involving.

Asturk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Hey man, about my game not working on web version, i fixed now, i just accidentaly left on "draft mode" instead of "public mode" so only i could play the game, so really sorry about it!

I will test your game later when i got more time and vote / comment here again, if you can test my web link again, i will be appreciated! ;]

Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:58pm

As others have said, I didn't really want to play a game where one of the win conditions is just waiting for five minutes.

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:59pm

@Asturk Yes, it works for me

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:05pm

It's a funny little "thing", but it has hardly any gameplay in it. Next time put in some simple skill games ("how many times can you throw the ball through the hoop in 1 minute" for example).

Congrats with finishing a game!

Gulyasarni66 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:12pm

Good game, but you could have improved it a little more.

ALobker says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Boring :(

kptemre says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:56pm

Fun idea against gamedevs but you won't make a million with this game! Who am I kidding! This is cool :D

rburema says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Hm. It seems you can click the screens, but not the text on it.

You can beat the patience game if you make the tab into a separate window. But you may want to keep that, sometimes, especially in game-creation, making people feel they've outsmarted you is better than throwing every gate closed...

Quaternius says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:10pm

I like the idea! maybe you should round up the numbers?

Mik3 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:50pm

Interesting concept... but kind of boring to play.. maybe it is like that on purpose?

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:04pm

@rburema Yes, i'll keep it :) Also the text was clickable, but I removed it due to a glitch

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:05pm

@Mik3 I am not very creative, and no it wasnt on purpose. I just didnt have enough time left of the dare to make another minigame

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:06pm

@rburema Also, are you talking about the time going down still in a seperate window? Because that is on purpose. I would've used setinterval if I wanted you to keep the window opened.

gdcvdqpl says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:15pm

That was a bit painful to play... But there is a first try for everything !
Good luck, looking forward to play more games from you ! :)

avalkyrie says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:27pm

The patience game reminded me that I have no patience, so there's that. I'm stuck at "You forgot your camera and left it in the one room"

Avocadosan says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:21pm

This game is so meta! Cool game! :D

Asturk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Oks i am back now!

well the idea behind it was very funny, altough everyone nows that doing this kind of process in games is not that really great, people still plays clickers or wait games a lot, and this is what this game really shows, i think. So, very good idea you had to show it into this compo entry! nice job!

Irioder says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:09pm

300s? who has time for that hahahaah? not very playable funny, but very humor funny :P

vipper says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:38pm

10/10 :D best game ever

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Great job entering something-
The clicker I feel would be more fun with a stronger theme. Just clicking for the sake of clicking wasnt too entertaining. The patience one was easy- Just leave it running in the background.
Great job- keep learning!

Feips says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:21pm

It´s... interesting, but fun!

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:27pm

@avalkrie
Thats the end. The camera is you

slimabob says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Funny game, definitely don't think I'm going to be seeing another game like this one!

jusw85 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:05pm

I didn't have alot of fun with it, but I certainly had a good laugh out of it :)

timgarbos says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click click.

mkl says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:29pm

im waiting 4 android release xd

Meles says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Never played a game where a challenge was simply to wait.
felt that as a escape the room type game it could have done with more challenges or puzzles to complete rather than simply cookie clicker and wait,
Although the concept of getting progression simply by doing nothing for five minutes did put me in mind of the Stanley Parable!

mutuware says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:56pm

I think I just got trolled

sollinxp says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:21pm

just...okay

Mieeh says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Hm a little weird, am i supposed to just click click click until i get out?
The game wasn't intuitive enough to keep me hooked for long!
Great concept though, but needs some more work.

Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:45pm

Hey thanks for rating my game. Ill redo the hole game over the next few month so stay tuned and subscribe to my YouTube: Acuadoy Studios.

Youre game is good. I like the game and the style of it.

Malsanity says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:58pm

A clicker game on a gamejam? Sigh

vini60 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Doesn't fit the theme.
Good effort though.

Hovester says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:39pm

Uhuuu a Clicker game : )
Ahh Where is the part that numbers go up whithout clicking.. :(

dodormeur says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Strange and a bit boring "game"

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Interesting :) the intended tediousness is an uncommon humor.

xesenix says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:06am

You need to work on readability of your interfaces even using black and white would look a lot more readable. Check something like http://getbootstrap.com/ it offers ready solution for simple interfaces. And you also may be interested in /r/incremental_games if you make games like this

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:12am

Strange game... patience is not a virtue!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

KadaDev says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:26am

Pretty strange game :) those fractional clicks really add up

Artsicle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:53am

:)

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:21am

I'm not waiting 300s.

nwestninja says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:33am

I don't need to explain why this is bad.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:27am

Congrats on completing your first Ludum Dare!

Just a heads up, if you use integers for you clicker game you won't run into the random .0000000 numbers.

SmokeNMirrors says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:16am

I didn't have enough patience dude D:

SmokeNMirrors says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:17am

Maybe you could make it so the player can change screens and the counter won't pause

fishbrain says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:20am

Interesting idea, needs to be fleshed out more.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:55am

it very simple to start playing. But need to add more gameplay features.

Cerberus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:02am

Interesting concept, loved the graphics, really interested me. the gameplay was curious but almost not fun. good work.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:48am

This game was missing...something to keep the player engaged. Most idle games have a little animation, or pour out snark, or something.

MCRewind says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:20am

Interesting idea, pretty fun :)

d3uced says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:25am

To win the game you truly have to lose.

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:32am

Interesting idea, I would love to see it a little bit more in depth tho. To me the concept breathes a Stanley Parable feeling. I would add more gameplay

ZQMony says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:49am

The game doesn't have much to it.

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:53am

got trolled at the end
10/10
would waste my time again.

Palarus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:16am

Simple, but works as an experiment

MrJackphil says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:20am

ASCII graphic is cool, but I think what gradient is not working here.

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:59am

why i can't exit when i have both keys. where is the camera that i forgot?

Artsicle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:10am

@NeverAutomatic Why didnt I think of that? :D
@WarmLemon The camera is you
@Mrjackphil Me too.
@yumaikas Yea, I didnt have that much time since I spent so much time thinking how I would make the game. If I had more time the other computer would be a idle game where you HAVE to wait to get upgrades :)
@Smoke I might as well add the secret feature, And everyone here will see after I update: If you hold all the keys HACK at once your time becomes 5 seconds and money becomes 10000. You have to hold it in the computer because it resets your time when you re-enter it. The Update will be coming within 2 hours!

Artsicle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:41am

Hey guys! I removed the (What I thought wasnt)confusing ending and added a better one!

Darkfrost says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:45am

I think I won? Not sure!

Good effort, congrats on getting something done!

Clicker game would've been fun with some more buttons imo, and the patience game... well, I actually assumed there was some trick to it, turns out it is just patience!

Good work!

Artsicle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:46am

And the secret feature is in!

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:28pm

I'm completing this game as I write this review :) Great idea.

raconteurnick says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Interesting experiment! I liked seeing exactly when I decided to upgrade the clicker and when I decided to hold off on it - I'd like to see stats about when others upgraded too!

2Bit says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:08pm

Haha, oh boy you got me.

FinGamer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Fun and nice game, good work.

x1212 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:29pm

Interesting idea.
I feel like there should have been a few more games and maybe some kind of order to unlock to them to give the player some kind of "progress".

nikitapash says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Interesting idea

DrSnuggles says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:37pm

All we do, is click and wait :-) Don't know why, but i do.

makhovykh says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:55pm

My finger is tired!

grena says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Interesting, but games are not really fun :(

Yvanor says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Good thing it's not another escape game, you tried to vary the gameplay, but the patience game is just boring, but I guess you wanted to make something else but you didn't had the time. Nice game still !

Asghardian says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:05pm

As a programming exercise it nice. As game, it`s not nice. Lack of fun. It became very tedious.

But keep studing and keep trying.

Tkachov says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:17pm

This lags a lot in my Firefox. And both of your challenges look pretty stupid: click a lot of times / sit and wait. What's the fun of it?

Good thing you've put a cheatcode in your game, so I could use that and easily beat it.

Ryuko13 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Great little game!

Treborginho says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:56pm

My god... I don't have time for this... So let me try! :-)

adsilcott says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:04pm

The clicker was the more fun of the two, since you don't have any way of knowing how much of a time investment it wil require. Diabolical that I can't switch tabs while I wait for the timer!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Escaping the room idea fits the theme but I'm not even sure if it's a game. Next time I'd suggest you try to create something you would like to play yourself.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:53pm

lol, RSI or a cup of tea. I'll take the cup of tea :)
Great concept, graphics could have been better though hehe

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Very funny XD seems right for a jam :P

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Not worth of time.

Artsicle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:45pm

@Tkachov Its optimized for chrome

bplane2 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:27pm

I quit the second I saw the timer on the second one. Not enjoyable, but a little funny.

bigbuggames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:59pm

I clicked all the times needed, but didn't have the patience xD

Artsicle says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:19am

@bigbuggames
@bplane2
Hold all the keys 'h''a''c''k' at the same time. you'll see

srakowski says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:48am

ain't nobody got time fo dat! :) Fun hacks though!

kleinzach says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:50am

You should keep track of how many people actually finish. I sure couldn't, but it would be interesting to see what percentage do.

KingMatthew says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:01am

Simple, but I had to wait to see what the ending would be. It was exactly what I expected. Good job!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:51am

Thought I'd be clever and let it count down while I looked at other pages.

Well played.

Cole Chittim says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:13am

I have no suggestions for this game =| Its perfect already! "Would wait for 300 seconds again!"

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:50am

Interesting idea of having to beat mini-games to get to the end. With more time and better execution could be fun.

tylerraz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:18am

The 5 minute wait man. I laughed though, so +1 for that.

KobiHawk says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:26am

Not very fun, and I wasn't even sure that I had beaten the game once I'd opened the door. Maybe change the screen?

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:15am

Grr. What would be cool is if you had a database of how people really played. Super innovative

Splendidus says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:29am

It was easy. )

TubbyS says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:48am

Feel like it could be a lot more.

banana4life says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:44am

What did I just play.

Artsicle says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:56am

@Yvanor Thats exactly what happened. I was trying to make an idle game where you wait to get upgrades that increase your waiting for money

Artsicle says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:59am

@peterthehe Itchio says I had around 300 players

Artsicle says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:01pm

@Kobihawk I have one room. I cant add more. maybe a future update when judging is done

Shigor says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Seriously ?!
- Riva

wwwhizz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Meh. Not that fun, not that pretty. Does fit the theme though.

Greemax says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:49pm

Interesting concept and the humor was there.

levubivenatus says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:44pm

I like the ASCII graphics, but the game is.. Uh... Well, it could be better, you know what I mean? Anyway, it has some potential, so it deserves 4/5 overall

erdiizgi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:02pm

Haha I tried to abuse the patience key since I have two screens :D If you put a reversed flappy bird as third game, I wouldn't surprised. It was a good time. Good luck.

menip says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Idle lovers would enjoy this.

menip says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Idle lovers might enjoy this.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:13pm

wtf...

eddynardo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Innovative and humorous what else do you need :)
great work, especially for a first jam, I hope to see you on the next one

frittatenbank says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:26am

Very retro with good taste of humor. :)

rambauldi says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:03am

Somewhat interesting. DID feel a bit like a chore than a game though!

Karai17 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:33am

Nice to see a clicker game! Wish there was more, or maybe autoclicking! Nice game.

~josefnpat

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:29pm

This game became for me "Hack JS code" challenge :)

Artsicle says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:42pm

@Vadim
I used the code inside a function for a reason :)

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:44am

Cool game, enjoyed it.

wowods says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 10:50am

I'm not that patience and not that clicky... :D

Thijs Tak says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 1:35pm

A clicker game? Sigh... that feels more like work. -- WL

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 1:44am

I wish I can give this 11/5 for humour :'D

phoenix1987 says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Interesting experiment. Didn't have the attention span to play either through. Should have something else to engage users. Keep programming

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 1:27am

I like when numbers go up !

Green Soda says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 3:54am

Nice and cool simple game :) Interesting but got me bored in the middle... But I liked the concept!
I've always fancied clicker games

Jan 1, 2017 @ 7:02pm

Your game proves that even with no art or sound, the cookie clicker mechanics works! Not so sure about the patience once but that's a good effort for your first participation, keep up the good work!

Artsicle says ...
Jan 10, 2017 @ 5:41pm

My website is now up! http://artsicleprojects.com/

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]