Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Leave The Room

by Irioder - Compo Entry

Hello everyone, my name is @VictorSanchez and this is my first LD!!!

The concept of my game is really simple, take the key and leave the room... but wait!! every time you do the room keeps getting bigger and more dangerous!!

Control your character with: W,A,S,D
Fire with [space]
Special attack with [P]

Recover mana with blue cristals and recover lives with healthy chicken! :P

Can you leave the room?

Here are the tools I used:
- Aseprite for all pixelart
- Unity
- GarageBand and default loops for the OST
- BFXR for the sound effects

[WARNING]:
- The windowsX86 version is untested, I own a MAC so I don't know if it will work

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#155Audio3.29
#189Graphics3.50
#294Mood3.13
#304Fun3.18
#357Humor2.25
#405Overall3.11
#506Innovation2.56
#583Theme2.56
#1199Coolness36%

Comments

Tuism says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:51pm

I can see what you're going for, like a Binding of Isaac sort of vibe, with procedural bits. But there are a couple of fundamental flaws:

1. Controls were sticky, not sure why. It didn't always go where I pressed the key to go. Sometimes I'd get stuck.
2. I didn't know the attack and ammo relationship. It wasn't shown.
3. You'd often spawn right next to an enemy and take damage just because. In a game as brutal as this that seems completely wrong.
4. The pattern of attack and how you could work around that was pretty limited, that's a combination of your attack range and enemy attack patterns being limited.
5. Cool music, cool graphics, though the two really don't suit each other...

Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Good work. There are some issues with movement, but the game plays nicely and it's very difficult and fun to play. Great entry :-)

Irioder says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Hello Tuism, creativewhisper,

There is some kind of issue with the controls I could not figure out in time indeed it can get frustrating.

@Tuism

2.) what kind of feedback would you suggest to indicate that? mana cost in the tutorial? or other things? (text when you launch a spell?)

3.) agreed, it should be a safe zone around the player where enemies can't spawn

4.) Agreed, way more content needed :) hopefully in a post-jam version!

anatolat says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Superb!
I hope you'll fix the problem with controls soon. But this game looks very nice.

Congratulations!

Stefanie899 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Good work! I enjoyed the aesthetic of the game -- the main issue for me was movement being a little wonky and that when you collide with a pick-up, your character stops completely. Would be smoother if pickups didn't stop movement.

dvdking says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:23pm

you should definitely fix controls issue(bug fix allowed even post compo), as the game is a lot harder than it should be with this bug.

The game is fun and graphics/sound are good, but the bug is kind of ruining it all

I'll check out later if there is fixed version.

Magius96 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:33pm

Pretty much a recursion of what Tuism said. The controls were sticky, it almost seemed like the game froze when picking up keys. The enemies move too quickly for the control style that was being used, maybe if the controls were more fluid that wouldn't have been a problem. The background music was hard to hear, but it repeated so often it quickly became a bother. The graphics were nice, and fit with the sound effects, but not with the background music. There didn't seem to be any real correlation between collecting the keys and exiting the room.

Xinelu says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:47pm

The gameplay is a bit klunky, but the overall is really good! :) good job!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Hi !

I tested the windows version and the game crash after a few rooms (I would say 4 or 5, I tested twice and had the same issue each time).

I agree with what has been said about controls, and I will had that when we change room, I often got directly hit by the ennemy appearing just next to me (like the turrets for example).

Other than that, the game was well executed ! I just can't say if the music fits the action... ;)

TurboCorp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:25pm

I could barely play it, because it crashed a couple of times when I got through like two rooms.

I said two rooms and I already regret it. I feel like the idea is that the room itself is getting bigger. It would be interesting to see everythinig remain from one level to another, just adding more enemies each iteration.

As said by others, the controls make you stop in place a lot, but that should be a not-so-hard fix.

Good job!

Irioder says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Thanks for the feedback guys.

@Turbocorp, I assume the crash was also with Windows? I believe I will take the windows version down, and leave webgl only, since I can't debug this version. Also loved your idea of keeping the unkilled stuff from one room to another, definitely a must have for my post-jam version ^^

Working on a bug fix for the controls right now, a little more challenging than I expected ^^

josemwarrior says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:12pm

Nice game, simple and effective gameplay.

I would have liked to move diagonally like the old Zelda games. I find a bit bugged in the movement.

Music 10/10

I really like the light system.

Congrats for your first Ludumdare! :D

francismoy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Cool game! Some things that could be improved: 1) the issues of the control are the most important ones, as mentioned by otheres; 2) sometimes when when I juste entered the new room, an enemy was in my position and I suffered damage that I couldn't possibly avoid; I would've used a small image of the character (or a small heart) instead of the chicken for the +1 life item. Other than that, the gameplay is fun, and the enemies are cool and pose an interesting challenge. Congrats!

oyoh says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Decent game, great graphics, but the controls are anoying : the character will stop whenever you press two button or you collect an item. It was really frustrating, that and spawning on an enemy, had to restart the game too often.
But great job anyway !

Dec 30, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Fun game and good graphics. Controls seemed to be a bit odd.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]