Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

One room, one life

by Ygogo - Jam Entry

Try to survive in open space, being locked inside a room in a spaceship.

Use "E" or mouse click to activate objects.

In "Nuclear reactor" minigame drag out nuclear fuel bundle out of spaceships by mouse manipulator, evading touching walls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#114Theme(Jam)4.14
#303Mood(Jam)3.53
#380Innovation(Jam)3.23
#456Humor(Jam)2.56
#492Audio(Jam)2.70
#493Graphics(Jam)3.39
#495Overall(Jam)3.27
#580Fun(Jam)2.93

Comments

tartlegames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:11am

woah that is stressful. With that count down and I couldn't figure out what do to and by the time I found the puzzle screen I was done for. Nice work. The graphics are good and I like the low gravity.

mighty.buxx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:13am

We're going to apply some fixes, and it would be more pleasant to play. Thanks!

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Nice game, I like the graphics :)

Unentokku says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Pretty fun, I didn't realize I needed to do the last part you do and having taken a some time trying to find a camera before realizing what it wanted was just a card so I was already low on time and died and wondered if I won or if there was more to do before going through it all again.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Beside the lack of crosshair, i Actually enjoyed the experience ! I had a hard time with the secon puzzle,though. Great impression of urgency !

lonesurvivor says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:41pm

Looks nice, but sadly I can't figure out what to to. If I try to interact with the oxygen system, nothing happens.

MCjammydodger says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:43pm

I liked the puzzles and having a time limit makes you feel under pressured. Good game.

bes_kurales says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Web don`t work :( But nice ;)

ISG says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Cool game and the idea with riddles. I wish you did some background music in "action game time"

erikiene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:53pm

A great mixture of mechanics, good job!

My camera zoomed in into the screwdriver puzzle too much though, so was not able to finish.

unit684 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Nice game! I managed to finish it after a few tries. There's quite a few interesting puzzles in there and it's quite a bit of content for a weekend! One minor thing is if you jump, you fall back down even though there should be no gravity :)

Asghardian says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:58pm

Gosh! It was very immersive. I felt myself in "Gravity" Movie. The machanics are great and the game is very good. My only sugestions is a little smooth moving and some kind of "tutorial" in the mini games. In the last trial I figured the code by pressing all the buttons like crazy. But it was one of the bests games I've played so far. Congrats!

leewalkergm says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Strong theme ties
Quite good fun
Took me a few deaths to work out what to do

Archimagus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Really nice. Was a fun little experience.

Took me several tries to figure out what to do but was overall really good.

One little nitpick. The reactor dragging minigame, the core moves at a different speed to the mouse, and it seems to be different based on screen size, I tried it once full screen and once in a window and it dragged differently on each.

cgd11 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Nice work!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Good job guys!. I love these games!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:06pm

really cool. Well staged, with the next escalation right at the right moment. While low gravity is cool, in one of my plays it lead to the tool stuck behind the o2 screen, I then accidentally activated that screen and couldn't get out of it.
Still a neat game - would be great if you'd continue it.

Treborginho says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Got to the piping system, but a bit to complicated to be casual. Idea is nice though. Graphics are also good.

limered says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:42pm

Fun game with a "happy" end. Couldn't find the screwdriver at first, bacause i bumped it to the ceiling during my jumping in low gravity. 10/10 would explode again ;)

Mieeh says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Woah, amazing 3d models, cool gameplay.
A little stressful and hard but overall pretty fun!
Amazing work here!

JesseyCool says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:48pm

I was stressing. And i didnt liked it playing. The game it self nice made. Spacey looks.

leondryaso says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Great game that was quite stressful but I did it, good job! The first puzzle sadly glitched for me once and I could not see the entire panel :(

VeryBadBunny says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:15pm

I was kind of lost .. I think it was due to the sensitivity of the mouse that it is very high. I really liked the graphics. =)

piwicode says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:36pm

I like the game-over sequence showing a silent flash in deep space. I saw it many times, and I can tell I know the first enigma by heart now. I died mostly by surprise, and I realised that maybe the threat was more impressive to me than the actual game-over. I have to do the first puzzle 4 times and make possible to turn back the pipes with the right button could help.

I like the fact that tools are floating, and I wonder how we could have make the player floated as well without ruining his sense of orientation.

Self-sacrifice is very powerful theme, and reminded me `the beginners guide`, a great game that I would recommend to every contestant. At that point I did not expect the class to break. Maybe we could ask the player to make a decision: either save himself, or save his three companions and die of the depressurisation.

Thanks for sharing this game.

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Anyone noticed that the only thing that expierenced gravity is you? :D

Outbreak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Love the game! Great entry! Was fun to play and i enjoyed the music and graphics. Well done!

Outbreak says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Oops. Seems the music I was hearing was coming from another tabbed game that loaded in! :P Still really good though!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:51pm

I think the game has a great balance between tension and puzzle solving, but I found it hard to interact with the objects and move through the room. Cool overall :P nive work guys!

vrojman says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Nice zero gravity physics ;)

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:43pm

Took me a few deaths to figure it out but I enjoyed it :)

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Interesting game, but way to hard. It felt a big buggy when I tried to pick up items, and I'm not sure what the signs means I didn't really make sense.

But nice with zero gravity and the stress factor :)

theck says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Great one, I liked how it was, with the mini-games and the stress management :D

GriloGordo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:57pm

I'm going to need more time. ^^'
Hahahahah.

Good concept.

interfect says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:50am

I like this one! It's too hard for me, though.

Jerodak says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:08am

Cool concept, very interesting ending, If you expanded on this and made a sequel I would play it, especially if it was from the perspective of the survivor.

Stylo21 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:17am

Stressful and satifying, very good job, guys.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:10pm

молодцы :)

ThatSnillet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Really cool! I also like how you can exit anytime by pulling the fire alarm. Maybe i missed something, but there doesn't seem to be a way to exit the screen focus view manually.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Try Esc.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Funny stressful game ! It was a nice kind of escape game !

Having the cursor disappearing during the search phase wasn't helping to grab the objects.

Good job on the room design !

Ganon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:29am

Cool concept! I struggled to complete the second challenge (I think you had to avoid the black walls), but it was cool having to quickly come up with a solution. I like the idea!

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:00am

quite nice

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Good entry. I feel under pressure. Great experience. Well done ++

JackTheOgre says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Wow, what a great Entry! It's like I watched a short sci-fi movie. A wonderful example of games as an interactive experience. Keep it up guys! Really loved that ending and outro sequence.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Erg! I died.... again. Great graphics and mood. I think I just need to practice my first-person controls..

Simple Ghost says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Nice puzzles! I really enjoyed the ending scene! :)

PaidGEEK says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:30pm

I like the idea to play multiple mini-games while timer ticks down.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Web worked, like the mini puzzles, not frustrating.
The low poly work was great, sfx also.
Could use more music during game.

DoubtfulGames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:22am

It's tricky to learn! I didn't get very far. Cool situation, though.

Berbecarul says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:44pm

Nice concept. It really made me feel under pressure

Joshsimard says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:07am

Really fun game. 2nd game took me a few tries to figure out, but all-in-all not too difficult and enjoyable!

fufi says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Nice entry! Graphics are good and there is a good mood to it! I wish there is more puzzle games to it. Anyway, good job;)

Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Good stuff! It was pretty twitchy which made it very difficult to play, but your atmosphere was believable and the puzzles worked out. Pretty cool.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:31am

It took me about three explosions before I realized I am not to touch the walls with the circle in that puzzle.

Nice touch integrating mini-games into a bigger picture.

If you like puzzle games, you can maybe try mine?

Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Nice game, nice graphics. I found the signs with tools quite counterintuitive, as they had the cross over. I also found it disappoinitng that the puzzles were the same each time I played. I know it is hard to generate puzzles, but the numbers on the dial could at least have been randomized I think. (Played twice to check this). Other than that, it is a fun game!

Dec 20, 2016 @ 6:43pm

Hey, this is a really nice game!
I like the art style of it.
Please keep on making games!
And please go and try out my game!

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 11:56am

Nice and kinda sad game. At start it was hard to find out what to do, but I got the hang of it and completed it.

Nice puzzles

Brickkid512 says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 9:10pm

It's a good game but sometimes on the pipe puzzle when all the pipes are lined up. It doesn't work. Good job though

Palarus says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 10:06am

Nice room escape! I miss some audio in the game. Plus the movement feel a bit messy sometime. I like the idea of multiple mini-games. Good work!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 2:19am

Concept is very interesting but the game was pretty difficult (especially in terms of the limited amount of time to complete each "puzzle") and sometimes confusing (especially with the nuclear reactor minigame) since you're just placed straight into the action with no explanation. With that being said though, this definitely looks like something I would play on a HTC Vive.

Tkachov says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 9:29am

Not bad, but at first I didn't get what to do with that spaceship diagram, and when I did I tried moving that very carefully a few times, failed and decided it doesn't worth it. One room, two old minigames. Not really innovative. In a space game you could do some puzzles with gravity, or a bigger ship with more objects to interact with, not just minigames.

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Streessful but fun!

I managed to send one cryogen thingie out the window.
I really felt the need for a crosshair.
The models are simplistic but get the job done.

More Sound would have been appreciated.

Execellent job!

Dec 29, 2016 @ 7:16pm

I found the controls difficult, my mouse was way too sensitive :(

Jan 2, 2017 @ 12:06pm

Superb mood and work onf the SFX.
Sadly the gaemplay isn't obivous and it's quite strange that all the tools and the stuffs are without gravity and the player is. It makes it really difficult to catch anything.

Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:37am

Nice sense of urgency. I like the mini games associated with each problem. The controls were a bit unclear for some of them, but you figure them out after a few tries

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]