Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

One Night

by freyby - Jam Entry

Holy cow, i'm so happy that me and RangerPrO111 managed to pull this off before the deadline! We think this is pretty good result for our first LD, and we happy with it.

Some basic controls:

To buy things in shop, you have to press on the item you want to buy.

To change weapons press 1,2,3,4, 4 - melee fight, 3 - pistol, 2 - revolver, 1 - shotgun.

Ammo box that selling for 750 is shells for shotgun, ammo box that selling for 500 is bullets for revolver, ammo box that selling for 100 is bullets for pistol.

When zombie dies, you gain 100 $

To shoot you first have to aim holding right mouse button, and then press left mouse button.

There are only 32 waves

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#358Audio(Jam)3.13
#513Mood(Jam)3.17
#518Graphics(Jam)3.33
#770Overall(Jam)2.84
#796Theme(Jam)2.71

Comments

FisherG says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:17am

I can't judge the game as the link isn't working.
Please fix.

CandyCreep says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:43am

Your download link doesn't work :\

freyby says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:40pm

I have updated the download link, now it should work just fine, but if it's not please leave a comment.

dobnarr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:42pm

Fun, and complete. Auto-equipping the weapon you buy would have saved me many minutes of frustration. Also, the aim-shoot thing would have been better as just click-to-fire, I think. Gloomy music shifting to rock beat for combat was fun, and the graphics were simple but appropriate. Nice job!

MrGussio says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Game is fun to play, but it's hard to notice if you actually hit a shot.

fauche_j says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:51pm

it is king of difficult to enderstand control in this game but quite fun

TeamSemiColon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Start of the game is slow, kiting the enemies around is the only viable strategy for the pistol it seems. There's no indication as to how many bullets you have left either, which feels a bit unfair. The music is really good, and the simple graphical style suits the type of game really well!

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:02pm

some amount of frustration and little hard to figure controls but fun

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Really good graphics and decent audio. The gameplay is really slow and really difficult

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Took a while to figure out how to buy the gun, also a bit hard to hit - I wasn't able to get the zombies down with my bullets even after multiple attempts? Great music and animations!

Fuad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:24am

It's pretty hard to make a headshots, but that's is the only pretension to the controls :)

A little bit frustrating that sometimes you die even before you can do something.

DOXM says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Not working?! :(

patrickgh3 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:06pm

The graphics and music made a nice atmosphere for this kind of game, good job on that.

automatonvx says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:56pm

nice monochrome style, threw me off that i didn't start with any weapon and which bullets to get etc. So a bit frustrating. Music was not bad either.

freyby says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Everything you have to know about a game are in the description, please check it before playing!

Gamechoy says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:41am

A little confusing at first, but eventually I got the hang of it. Nice entry.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:17am

Wow, the atmosphere was really good! I found the controls unintuitive and hard to understand for a couple deaths. Automatically equipping and indicating what I had equipped would have helped significantly. I found it to be quite hard and was not able to kill a zombie no matter what I did (15 rounds). Cool game overall!

Mr.Chippy says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:00pm

I liked the art style. The enemies had to much health. I like the idea for aiming but the enemies were to fast for it to work.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:02am

Really like the art style. The game seems like it has a lot of potential, but needs some kind of tutorial. Also, the starting difficulty felt much to high. Why did you opt out of the "Fun" category?

XenosNS says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Looks cool, nice music too. Much too hard to pay with a laptop track pad.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:58am

Nice looking game, well-presented. Controls are a tad frustrating (having to right-click to pull the weapon out seemed unnecessary) and the pistol felt way underpowered (5 shots to kill a zombie).

It would have been nice to get to the next weapon, but it would have taken ages at only $300 a wave. Needed a bullet counter too, as I ran out without knowing it.

All that said, great first attempt at LD, hope you come back for more!

bigoss73 says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 3:42pm

It's pretty fun to play, I enjoyed it. My sugesstion would be to make the controls more clear. I know you posted them in the description, but an in-game tutorial or something like this would be nice to have. Also, it would be good if you were somehow able to keep track of your ammo.

Dec 29, 2016 @ 5:49pm

You have cool ideas there but I think the controls are ruining it. You're mixing too much keys, and locking (not moving) to attack is a bit frustrating (but maybe intentional). Melee attacks didn't seem to have any effect too.
The music is quite cool also, nice kob on that!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]