Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Test Chamber

by ema1ih - Jam Entry

This is our first game we ever made, I hope you all like it!

Test Chamber is a game about trying to escape from a virtual room.
It's a virtual room, so the blocks are generating again and again.
The elevator teleports you in the same room, but with different objects.


Unfortunately we didn't have time to implement the music.

Controls:
A&D - left and right
W - jump
Space - interact
For movement you can use the arrows as well.


Tools:
Engine: Unity3d 5.5
Art: Photoshop CS6

Made by ema1ih (Game Developper) and culin (Game Art).

If you play it on web, enable fullscreen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#442Humor(Jam)2.60
#608Mood(Jam)3.00
#666Fun(Jam)2.78
#706Graphics(Jam)2.80
#729Overall(Jam)2.93
#759Innovation(Jam)2.41
#829Theme(Jam)2.54

Comments

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:45am

Web says
The developer has not uploaded a game yet...

Logicon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:52am

Not bad, interesting art style. Theme is a bit shaky because it's really multiple rooms. I do like the platforming mechanics. Devilishly tricky at some points. I did notice a bug where you're able to fly into the ceiling with the jump button when you are in front of interactable objects. Overall I liked it!

Extra props for a lot to do!

Mack101dog says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:05am

A nice little platformer with multiple levels. Nice and simple, but tricky at times. Pretty good.

fdr says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:07am

Wow, very challenging game! I can tell some serious thought went in to level design here. You did a very good job of planning where I was going to jump and run, and did your very best to punish me for it :)
I really like the font you used between cut-scenes. Is that custom made?
All you need to add to make this perfect is a time-trial mode.

ZQMony says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:34am

Nice game but very challenging. Some of the jumps were a bit too hard.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:39am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:52am

A nice and simple platformer. Some of the jumps were too difficult but I can tell that a lot of time was put into the level design.

Great job :)

skorpyo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:06am

nice work, but some moments was too hard

Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:21am

Good game, i don't like so much the graphics, but the game is well. Works fine.

Aster0id2000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:02pm

The controls are a bit confusing, i always forget that space is not for jumps.. Good job anyway!

FinGamer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Cool and fun little game. There are multiple rooms though so the theme is kinda...?

erikiene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:14pm

Nice! Although I didn't really get the end, why did he come out of his little office? If so, why did I not get to crush him by jumping on him? :D

Good work guys!

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:52pm

@erikiene We wanted to do that but we didn't have time to make the animation :(

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:54pm

@FinGamer Well, the story is that you are blocked in some kind of virtual room, which can generate puzzles to test the subject's intelligence and ability, so it's only one room. :)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:41pm

requires a deceptively amount of skill at times, Had a few mechanics i wasn't keen on, Like how objects behaved on moving platforms, found they fact you had to move with the platform like a cheap shot at making the level harder, Which it did haha, I died multiple times but i actually enjoyed playing. Key mapping didn't favour my place style though.

Great entry,

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Cool idea and challenging, got a bit frustrating at one point as it required really fine grained movements at risk of death in order to maneuver the box over a ledge.

LoadedGames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:48pm

It's okay, I find the controls to be very frustrating to use and platformers really do require satisfying inputs from the player.

The idea is cool, but I found some of the levels a little long considering how easy it was to die. The level design was interesting and I wish the mechanics supported it a bit better.

bigpan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:23pm

I'm guessing you were inspired by the Portal games, right?
Great platformer and level design, but you could've changed some things in order to keep it within the theme's restrictions. Good job overall!

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Liked the game overall ! Simple but effective concept.

The biggest problems to me are:
1°)Level Design : The puzzles are far from revolutionary, but that's okay. However, there's sometimes Buttons in the same place as levers, for no reason.

2°)Jump : It's a puzzle Plateformer, we can debate on the quality of the puzzl part but the plateformer part is clearly lack ! (That's, okay, I tough to make a double-core game, especially in 48h)

Liked the pacing howerver !
The twist was funny but i'm not sure I understood the very end.

But it's okay. I had fun :)

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Well made platformer, but too many rooms for Theme: One Room. :)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:57am

Cool! Nice integration of the theme, and a fun platformer! A little too hard for me, but I do like how you instantaneously just restart the level so you can try again.

nikitapash says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:18pm

Its like a small version of Portal

Gamechoy says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Interesting idea!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 3:02pm

Interesting idea which could be improved with a better controls. As a starter kit for a platformer game, it is good. I had fun playing it, trying to solve each test. Well done ++

Arowx says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Nice work, controls too slidey, e.g. jump too high

mirta000 says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 5:32am

interesting concept. The jump goes WAY too high though. It legit goes to the ceiling.

Dec 29, 2016 @ 7:08pm

The controls are a bit wonky but otherwise good game!

Jelinib says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 3:42am

The little cutscenes and dialog definitely made this more interesting. I felt like the challenge of this game came more from nailing jumps with touchy controls rather than having to think about where to push the blocks. In the future, I would perhaps like to see more rooms that make me think a bit about their solutions!

This game had a pleasantly surprising amount of levels and story content for a game jam. I enjoyed it. Overall nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]