Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

ROOM ZERO

by dv49 - Compo Entry

Intense arena shooter in a toilet sized room with a twist (actually).

How to play:
WASD + Mouse
Your ammo is limited to 5, refill it with white portals and survive as long as you can.

Perfectly played with your favorite electronic music in background.

Fell free to comment and share your highscores.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#25Theme4.43
#68Overall3.86
#77Innovation3.83
#90Graphics3.92
#113Fun3.66
#314Mood3.10
#362Humor2.23

Comments

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:40am

Awesome dynamic game!

kiv says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Stylish and laconic game, really like it. You should make a mobile build!

paradxil says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Pretty fun game!! I found it really hard... But neat nonetheless.

Feips says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:14pm

I like it!(Even though I am really bad at it)

slam_nine says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:13pm

I like the spinning and resizing room mechanic. Makes the game interesting, and a bit disorienting. The graphics look really nice too.

BathPirate says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:42am

Wow!!! Really cool game! The best one!

jusw85 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:48am

I loved the tight controls!

slovakyan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:49am

Looking good! And I really liked all the juice you've added there :))

Dege says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Really good entry! Ii liked the use of the theme and the dynamic! I could see it very good on phones too! Good job!

ragnta says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:11pm

I missed a description from How to play this game and a good background music. But I like your idea. This is a nice game, and it has an unique gameplay mechanism. Nice work.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:19pm

So far, this is my top pick for LD 37. Absolute perfection.

sollinxp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:21pm

this game is very cool, but need urgently sfx for feedbacks

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Really nice gameplay. I thought it was a shame that the red door? could spawn at the same place as a white door making it difficult to proceed.

But the simple graphics are nice, and the gameplay is really fun.

akirassasin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:10pm

A bit more epicness (something like screenshake or tilt?) and it'll be perfect!

Mr_Field says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:28pm

This game, while being paunfilly hard, looks, feels and plays incredible! It's a shame it has no music or sfx.

buckle2000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:45pm

The physics is really wield. keep stuck in walls

Schrunkin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Really hard and entertaining game! When you run out of ammo you and the ammo portal is right next to the enemy portal all while the room is scaling and rotating you just know you are screwed! Love it :) Played the web version. Missed music and sound effects, maybe they arent available in the web version?

Fuad says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Very nice. I'm big fan of the action games like this and I want to buy it already :)

Schrunkin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Really hard and entertaining game! When you run out of ammo you and the ammo portal is right next to the enemy portal all while the room is scaling and rotating you just know you are screwed! Love it :) Played the web version. Missed music and sound effects, maybe they arent available in the web version?

Dene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Nice idea and mechanics but too hardcore. You need to fix balance.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Very nice addicting game!

dx0ne says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Love the shooters. It's really hard. Maybe even too hard? Refill ports on wall are kind of annoying but I feel like I'm getting better at it over time.

dustyroom says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Nice and simple, yet very tasetful.

lupusinsanus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Great idea. Kinda hard but I love the design

LoadedGames says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Incredibly fun despite how ridiculously challenging it was. Reminded me on Super Hexagon.

Did notice a few bugs with the white walls overlapping the red walls.

wowa_u says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:29pm

great entry, with very cool use of the theme!!

hijomo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:31pm

looks good. There was a lot of stuff happening at the same time. Was fun to play

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Ты молодец, очень крутой геймплей :)

shillingburg says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:04am

good use of simplicity with engaging mechanics! really tough though

torcado says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:34am

I suuper love the visuals and overall design. the game itself is pretty hard though, maybe too hard. having ammo spawn on-top of enemy spawners is pretty annoying. and also having to hit spacebar and then click to restart is weird. why not make both spacebar? or just not a second command at all
either way i thought it was a cool game

gontzalve says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:04pm

simple but challenging game, looks very completed. Maybe adjusting the difficulty specially when out of ammo and the enemy pattern could be more defined

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:23pm

This is stylish, but also confusing.

Patacorow says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Cool entry, I like the mechanics(really reminds our game :)) and the minimalist graphics.
It is a bit confusing and unfortunately lack of audio.
Love how dynamic the levels are changing, and that plays the theme excellent.
Great entry !

Sundr0 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Fun but very hard! :D
Good job overall !

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:37am

Very very hard :) but fun and stylish. Great job.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:54am

Good shooter.

yuigoto says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 10:58am

An arena shooter with a shapeshifting arena looks and feels really nice and challenging! :) Visual style makes the game feel pretty cool!

Also, game mechanics like limiting the shots, need for recharging and not having the gun shooting while holding the mouse increases the challenge a lot, making it pretty hardcore! Having the shots bounce a bit really helped! :P

Controls are, well, the usual arena shooter ones, and they answer pretty fast, which is really important in the genre.

I miss a LOT of audio though! :/ It does feel good while playing with some electronic sounds, but audio feedback, specially for when ZERO appears, for portals and stuff, would give it a better mood! :)

Nice work nonetheless! It's a great entry! :D

smbe19 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:18pm

This game is insanely difficult. But very cool.

limmmmm says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:59pm

very very stylish and well done. was a little frustrating that the white areas would sometimes spawn on top of where enemies come out, but i kept playing anyway.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 3:59am

Cool looking game, very unique with the spinning and all, just seemed difficult for me haha
Add sfx for sure :)

Tkachov says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 6:31am

Simple. Stylish. Hard.

Didn't like how white/red walls spawn upon each other, making it difficult to refill without dying.

Liked the way that enemies try to block you when you move towards white walls (or may be I'm imagining things =).

Liked the slow-motion, but didn't understand when exactly it's triggered.

Out of these three tracks you've mentioned in the blog, I only liked the first one, others were not so matching the game in my opinion.

My best was 20, btw.

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 12:31pm

perfect little ball of difficulty! nicely done!

Dec 21, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Great concept, a lot of fun in this game ! The only thing is that, as our weapon is a kind of shotgun, shoots are not really accurate which make things a bit difficult, I would have like that at least one bullet goes on the cursor exact direction.

And missing a bit of sounds and music.

But all in all, it's a really good entry !!!

Reiv says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 4:18am

What a challenging, simple, addictive and fun game! Nice concept. The visuals are fantastic. What I complain about is that sometimes the white portals overlaps the red ones... Overall great entry.

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 2:56pm

It's brutal. I love it. The graphics and the control works, and the reload mechanic is really clever.

This game reminds me a lot of super-hexagon... and like super-hexagon, it needs SOUNDS! Please make a post-compo version with some sound effects, and if possible music, it would make this entry perfect.

Thanks for the game!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 3:03pm

I don't get much further than about 15 points. Solid visual feel, too bad there's no sound. Good.

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Very polished and hard :)
Love the aesthetic. Sound would be greatly appreciated.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 2:41am

One of my favorite entries. With some music it would've been even cooler. Love the innovation, nice clean crisp graphics too. Hope you continue development! :D

kato9 says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 12:53am

Really great minimalistic arcade game. Very challenging but I think in a good way. Also, great use of the theme!

PixlWalkr says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 6:53pm

The minimalist design is nice. Cool mechanics. I think this would be nice for mobile devices also!

kiv says ...
Jan 24, 2017 @ 5:02pm

Game is dead

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]