Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Little Lab of Horrors

by TeamMonumental - Jam Entry

"Little Lab of Horrors" is a time management game where you keep track of your plants and harvest them before the season passes. Winning the game requires you to unlock, plant and harvest the "Monster" crop.

The seeds are color coded by season. Once the season runs out, the plants will die. When you harvest plants, you will earn research points. With those, you can unlock more seeds at the shop. At the end of the game, you are scored by stars. The faster you finish, the more stars you are rated with when you win.

The game is played with just a mouse (the game's mechanics would simply not work with a controller). Open the store and click on a seed to select it, then left click on a pot to purchase and plant it. Wait awhile, then click when you see the indicator to harvest and sell.

Development by Kryto
Art by Calemi
Music by Flakey

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Graphics(Jam)4.33
#105Fun(Jam)3.78
#106Overall(Jam)3.89
#249Humor(Jam)3.13
#261Mood(Jam)3.59
#336Audio(Jam)3.22
#433Theme(Jam)3.61
#540Innovation(Jam)2.94
#1462Coolness24%

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:43am

That was great :)

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:05am

That was really fun. Such adorable monstrous plants!

MentaL13 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:17am

Nice game. Wish there was more interaction with plants.

Tkachov says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:37am

This game got very nice looks and simple mechanics, which is fun to play at first. The music is fine, but a little bit too repetative.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Great graphics. The musical choice, not so great.

As with many other entries I've tried so far, here too we have a chronic lack of challenge. Choosing what to do is already decided for you by the rules. Only certain plants can be used in each season (no choice there), each successive plant is outright better than the last (still no choices to be had) and there isn't even any major consequences for planting too late (the one, silly, choice you can take). All you lose is a little bit of real-life time.

Interactive media thrives when interactivity is utilized in interesting ways. For games decision making (overcoming challenges) is the way to go, for puzzles deductive problem solving is the key and for interactive fiction exploring a non-linear story is the meat of the experience.

Without interesting interactivity you are left with something boring and that is the biggest crime of them all (apart from real crime, of course).

Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Hey Guy,
I liked your art style and the mood.
Please go ahead and check my game (LocusLudi) nad check my Youtube (Acuadoy Studios) cause ill redo
my whole game and then you'll get all the links to updated versions of my game!

Mouch says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:14pm

I like the graphics and ui and it feels polished and finished but I would replace the song you have used (luckily there is a mute option).
The game needs much more complexity, more choices to make, therefore it is not challenging.
I have one more question, what about autumn? :)

bigoss73 says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Oh god it took me years to complete... (Quite literally!)

Dec 29, 2016 @ 8:16pm

I really liked this game.

I love growing things, but the easiest way to not lose money is to just grow daisies!

tylerraz says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 2:46pm

Good game, love the advanced bomb plants.

Jan 1, 2017 @ 2:51pm

Awesome. I like this kind of game, and I think you have the scale just right (much longer and it might get tedious).

Great graphics. I got a little tired of the music loop in the background. If you were looking to revise/expand, I might consider changing the music for the different seasons.

peredm says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 3:04pm

Very fun and addicting game. The web version doesn't seem to work and that might make some players make bad ratings or just leave.

Gamepopper says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 4:00pm

Really good plant selling system. Was able to progress nice and smoothly. Found the later plants (like the grenade corns and cherry bombs) quite amusing.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]