Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

AFK

by efno - Jam Entry

Monday morning, 9:00, it's time to do some work.

Mini-games instructions:
- Bulb: Click on the bulb and drag right to unscrew, left to screw back in
- Door knob: Click knob and drag in clockwise circle 180 degrees, then down
- Radiator knob: Click knob and drag left to turn up, right to turn down

**If you have trouble logging on to the computer, make sure you aren't accidentally adding spaces, tabs etc. it works, we promise! If the text isn't appearing, make sure the 'password' or 'username' text disappears from the boxes, then you know you the box is active. (there are a few small bugs which occasionally come up, if you get stuck hit escape to get to the menu and restart, we'll fix them asap!).

DOWNLOADS for windows, mac and linux all now available

BUG FIXES:
- Fixed tooltips sometimes obscuring dialogue
- Fixed radiator events sometimes interrupting other events, or not working at all
- Fixed bug allowing player to click on computer whilst doing something else, breaking the game
- Made all mini games a bit easier (more sensitive)
- Made it easier to log in to computer (better text input, text lines up properly etc.
- Fixed 'moonwalking' (sorry for people who enjoyed it!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#111Humor(Jam)3.63
#119Theme(Jam)4.13
#137Audio(Jam)3.73
#270Graphics(Jam)3.91
#300Innovation(Jam)3.37
#365Mood(Jam)3.41
#376Overall(Jam)3.43
#678Fun(Jam)2.76

Comments

Lucas Knutson says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:25am

I get a 403 forbidden page

haxxero says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:41am

The graphics are nice but the gameplay is a little lackluster, i don't feel like i'm having fun. Would like to see what you could accomplish next time!

xclementx says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:15pm

I couldn't login to the computer :/ "Acess Denied."

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:46pm

I liked it! I had a similar idea for a game, though I wanted mine to be a bit bigger in scope. Nicely done.

P.S.: Sometimes the guy would moonwalk instead of walking like a regular person :D

Miko says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:47pm

I really liked this game! The concept seems simple but I like how it slowly changes over time. I'm very glad I kept playing!

coborax says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Couldnt log into the computer?!

TheAmante says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Good idea! This is a great job :)

Gord10 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:23pm

I got stucked at where we turn the heater. The controls of mini games had to be more explanatory, I had no idea how to control them.

Skruffye says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Pretty brilliant entry in my opinion! Shame the PC login was so temperamental, but other than that (and a choice few other bugs--randomly deciding to moonwalk was my favourite) it was a great game.

It would also be nice to have the text only advance when you click. The speed was too high to truly appreciate what was being said. The humour and mood were excellent.

Reminds me of my job actually... X(

Great game, keep it up! :D

ploy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:16pm

I've logged in, there is "r" in the password.
Unscrewing the lamp with a mouse isn't obvious,
Interesting and original game, but too buggy(

Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Could not login (web version). I clicked on login/pass fields, then pressed buttons on my keyboard but nothing appeared in fields :(

VeryBadBunny says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:15pm

Could not login on the pc... =(

oyoh says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:15pm

Naaah i wanted to play but couldn't log in, password didn't work (jsmith l33tSn1p3r). Sad because your game seems really great, excellent audio and graphics

sapoi says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Great game, but as others said, you should polish your mechanics a lot. It doesnt have to be explained like to 5yo, but it should be done more easily than random clicking on knob bulb etc.

Pajama-Llama says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:06am

Your existence is meaningless :). Some more humor and a faster lightbulb replacement would probably make for a better experience though. The random moonwalks to the radiator and the story throughout the day were a cool touch :D

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:04am

oh! Nice! I love how you used the light effects in a pixel art stage! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

Dejvo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:00pm

this is one of the better games. nice job! i could relate to that guy because those things always happen to me. everyone is interupting me and i can't get any work done :D

terryg says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:16pm

it's very fun couldn't hear any audio though

SbstnC says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:21pm

It was really great until the game broke (at least I think it broke). For some reason I couldn't open the door anymore (in one of the past sequence).

But it was really nice, I liked the "mini games", it might me the first time I changed a bulb in a video game.

I think you should have write a simpler password though, without ambiguous letters like I and l, S and 5 ...

Still , I really liked the writing, the procrastinating part, and the twists with the time.

pcmxms says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:00am

Man, that was awesome! A game about procrastination. Great music, great graphic style. Seriously, I'm with the strangest grin in my face. Genius work, congratulation!

torcado says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:30am

really interesting premise! i thought it was pretty funny. not much 'game' there but i think that's mainly the point.
nice job!

Coauctor says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:50am

I finished my job here!

tommarx69 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:37am

Gaphics are awesome, but I find we are a bit limited in our choices. I really like the animations !

Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:42am

The saving grace of this entry was the music and graphics, i didn't find the mini game particularly fun they were quite tedious but wondering what was going to happen drove me forward. I think with a bit of tweaking new procrastination's could be added, with simpler to conduct mini-games to up the fun factor. Maybe even a work mini-game and some consequence for ignoring the visitors and telephone calls etc. It has great potential. Great work

Mouch says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:57am

Great game, the only thing I missed are decisions that influence the story in a way, played it twice to see if I can get another ending, but I failed.
Nice graphics and the music and sound is very fitting.

Alexbrainbox says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:55am

The little background music was very quint quaint, it did a fantastic job at mirror me when I attempt todo work

Nonakesh says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:25pm

This game is highly infuriating. Great work.

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:24pm

What a great game ! I'm in love. 5 stars everywhere!

Congratulation on making this game !

calcitherin says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Cool game . I like the room change part and the quirky dialogs . The phone ring was a little annoying though .

Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Nice graphics

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:57pm

I broke the game at the interdimensional being. The only choice left was ".1"
Then I chose restart in the escape menu and I couldnt do anything anymore, had to reload the game. (browser)
I finally got some work done after that.
Awesome experience, besides getting stuck I loved it!

TheTeaGuns says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:32pm

After saying "AHHH" there were no dialog options so I assumed it broke. Played it again and still got stuck at the inter-dimensional being's door. I assume this is the ending? Anyways, the game had nice graphics and the glitches were cool.

mar3k says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Nice game, I like how you have to use different controls every time, but I kinda missed the point of the game...I suppose it is just a nice little relaxing game, so in that case the music fits perfectly.

Holofire says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Stylistically, this game is great. I wasn't sure what to expect to happen so I kept going for a while until everything started changing. It got me intrigued, I loved the style of the locations.
The Mechanics of the gameplay are a little clunky, but I don't mind the concepts behind them.
The text however, doesn't seem to fit in with the style, which is a shame, it detracts from the immersion.

I appreciate all the unique interactions with the visitors, though couldn't tell if my decisions had an impact at all. I assume with the different indicators the game was suppose to be a survival/race. Definitely had fun exploring and anticipating what might come next, just no way to tell if I saw everything or not.

-Comment on behalf of MrDinosaur. (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/mrdinosaur/)

akai_0okami says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Awesome game! Graphics and audio were great, really liked the humour as well.

topatisen says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Frustrating in a delightful way.

MementoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Beautiful art and very moody too.
I must say I got a little bored after so many interruptions. Nice job overall.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]