Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Mail Room

by StarshipTrooper0589 - Compo Entry

Space Mail Room is a web game where you play as a employee with the dreams of gaining tenure.

The game is like Mavis Beacon with typing and numpad usage so the game will not be for everyone.



Despite being plagued with crashing and streaming issues; overall I am happy with the result and it was a great learning experience. This is my most polished and tested Ludum Dare submission so far!

Tech used:
cannon.js
three.js
teal dice
zektonrg (font)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#261Humor2.64
#301Innovation3.18
#445Audio1.38
#496Mood2.52
#526Theme2.94
#544Graphics2.34
#578Overall2.63
#608Fun2.03

Comments

Zarkonnen says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:52am

I wouldn't really call it "fun", but it feels realistically horrific in simulating office tedium. :)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:43pm

I love games like Papers, Please and this is in a similar vein to that. An interesting concept, and I liked the humorous names and all of the Star Wars/Star Trek references.

FinGamer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Nice game, well done.

morrilet says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Brutal. It's like a typing game mixed with an online form. I didn't have much time to look at anything but the planet names, but a couple of the recipients I saw were funny.

PS. I found a Dune reference in there that caused my metaphorical erection to grow three sizes this day, so thanks for that.

BlackQuiltro says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:49pm

Interesting idea. More simulation than game :P. Loved the names. I disliked that when new letters arrive you just loose whathever input you already have.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:54pm

Nice. Well, this probably simulates what it's like to work in a post office in outer space.

It's the most I've ever typed the word "Uranus."

Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:23pm

There are some typos here, but a fine concept nonetheless. Feels very oppressing :)

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:16pm

The concept is interesting, nice entry!

dobnarr says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Interesting, and executed well. Not that fun, but it's simulating something not that fun. The names were very cute and clever. A pleasing look to it, also. Nice work.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:52pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-79mMCkNbQ

Yvanor says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:17pm

Really interesting and intense, could have been even more complex by adding another parameter to manage. Good entry anyway !

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:05pm

No. You are a loser! ;)
nice concept and cool sci fi references.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:18pm

"You are a loser!" screen is a bug (lose.html not Lose.html) that the web-host cached. It should be cleared up in a few minutes.

(Screen was used for testing and was not meant to be visible to users)

Omniorcus says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:01am

I like it. It's hard but I like it. Graphically it's boring, dull and prefect for the setting. The lack of sound bugs me, but too much would have been a bad thing here. A nice bit of humor too, with the various sci-fi references. Not everyone's cup of tea, but a nice entry none the less.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:04am

Lovely. Got me worse anxiety than Papers, Please or my real job, and that's something ;) I also enjoyed the physically correct die throw. So yeah, I had way too much fun xD

TheFudster says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:26am

Pretty innovative? I think it could be more fun if it was presented differently than typing in numbers haha. But I think the dice rolling animation is a nice touch!

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:26am

Interesting concept. Once you get behind, I felt it was almost impossible to come back: I got around 9 letter on each roll even though I haven't made any mistake yet. I felt really overwhelmed. I tried the hard mode, and it felt more like a typing/memory exam.

Once I ran out of ''checkout time'', the game just stoped and I got an error message.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:44am

Bobsleigh's issue was fixed. Once again it was looking for "Lose.html" when it should be "lose.html"

MementoGames says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Well.. it seems that I can't handle mail. haha
Cool concept!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]