Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

RailStand

by salyon - Jam Entry

In an apocaliptic world dominated by mad robots, you carry one of the only remaining options of energy - The Core.

Use your base weapons and technology to protect it at all costs while you repair a Train to escape!

--- Instructions:
> Use the arrows keys to play.
> Interact with your base to upgrade and repair it.
> The enemy robots will drop resources when they are defeated.
> You can control the missiles after you launch them!
> Survive 5 days to win!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#32Graphics(Jam)4.58
#111Overall(Jam)3.88
#145Fun(Jam)3.69
#296Mood(Jam)3.54
#336Innovation(Jam)3.31
#703Theme(Jam)3.04
#1252Coolness33%

Comments

DireGoose says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:30am

Fun. Pretty. Did not seem to me that this was within theme. :(

CFallonArt says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:32am

Fun, interesting game. I like the dynamic but the controls are frustrating! Good job, considering the time limit.

infinitycore says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:42am

I had no idea what to do

hugofock says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:46am

Like the graphic, but the missile was too difficult to control :(

Dene says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:01pm

I love this game :) Really cool.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:12pm

Perfect graphics! Nice game!! I Love it.

HadikCZ says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Very addictive game, but short.

Graphics looks greate

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:57am

Really liked it. Could have gone a bit crazier with the final level, at that point both guns were good enough that I could just salvage & repair faster than they could do damage.

Really like this one.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:01pm

This is an interesting game, very addicting. I really enjoyed the gameplay and could not put it down.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:40pm

nice game))) I'm pilot rocket cool

Sun-Wukong says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Good polish and excellent execution. I like your art style.
And very good balancing, it gets pretty addictive, I finished it twice :)

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:12am

Wow I really liked this! One of my favs so far, lost at the last second CRAP! 5 Stars! -Tweedle

elmoGames says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Wow this game has some depth and neat graphics. Awesome. The only problem that you cant control the train where are you in thats a bit wierd

KinGabe says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Amazing art.

c4m says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:56pm

your game is so good!
i love those graphics and the idea is very well executed.

i followed you on itch :p congrats!

Pajama-Llama says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:25pm

That was really cool! Love the non-direct combat and cool pixel art.
At one point I did get a bit overpowered, when upgrading both sides a 4-5 times :p

Also I think the sun going out at the end of each day is a bit annoying. You could maybe add some lights to the enemies and your bullet so you can still know where they are?

Anyway, great job!

harusame says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Oh nice entry :)
I love the pixel art and the epic music.

Fun to play, great job !

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Interesting game. I liked the art and idea, but it's too hardcore for me.

Potato Dog says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Awesome game man, impressive that you made this in the time, it looks great! It took me a while to figure out what I was doing but after a while I was a rocket wizard

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Nice job! At first I somehow only saw the left side upgrade panel and subsequently got totally overrun on the right side, heh =P These kinds of upgrade/progression games actually tend to do pretty well for LD; I need to try making one myself! Also, props to your pixeling skills!

Some notable suggestions for improvements:
- Your audio seems to be playing on only the right speaker? Might want to check that out.
- I think one very easy and awesome improvement you could do for the missiles would be to change the controls so that you control the missile's trajectory only while the up / space button is being held. This would solve the issue of "i don't know exactly when the missile is going to explode and control transfers to my character, causing me to get offset a bit". In addition it allows you to guide missiles for a little bit and then leave them to do their thing in a straight line while you go and do other things.
- Could have used some additional sound effects or graphics for the upgrading.
- I believe there's an issue where if there are still robots left after the screen fades to night, they continue to shoot at you and you can lose that way. =P

Your theme tie-in could have been a little bit tighter if you provided a little more backstory. Even writing a short paragraph in your game description goes a long way! I loved the day/night idea with the solar-paneled robots -- very cool. :)

Jan 23, 2017 @ 11:37pm

Lovely graphics, great game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/jorB_de2Urk

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]