Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

nO mooRe

by frittatenbank - Compo Entry

A short game about a girl who is not allowed to follow her dreams. Her name is Moore and her passion is drawing. She is in a room that does not change - but time does..

Made with:
- Java / libGDX
- Paint.NET
- Audacity
- My Piano
- Android Studio
- Eclipse Neon

Changelog
=========

Version 1.2 - February 3, 2017

* Improved time traveling
* Fixed inventory flickering
* Made handles more subtle

Version 1.1 - January 26, 2017

* Made handles swipeable
* Added subtle hints to find interactable items more easily
* Fixed text errors
* Fixed bugs with non-ending cutscenes

Version 1.0.1 - December 17, 2016

* Larger handles for navigation
* Larger selection areas of items in the inventory
* Better synchronization between Animation and Music
* Better memory management
* Added keyboard support (A, D, Cursor Left, Cursor Right) for navigation
* Fixed a bug in the inventory when receiving the bloody goblet
* Fixed the unexpected playback stop of the creepy drums music
* Fixed wrong music playback if screen is touched in Medieval cutscene

Version 1.0.0 - December 12, 2016

* First release

Android Version
===============
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=net.bplaced.therefactory.nomoore

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Mood4.32
#11Audio4.29
#53Innovation3.94
#59Overall3.89
#215Theme3.81
#226Humor2.79
#230Fun3.33
#262Graphics3.28
#1375Coolness28%

Comments

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Mood was great! Along with the humor!

TheMightyTeam says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Great mood (I cannot see the humor anyway...). Great work with the game and cut scenes. Sometimes it is difficult to find any object (maybe you can highlight it?).

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:40am

Good mood, crazy start, i admit I didn't finish after I cut myself.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:55am

I win! I liked that a lot, although the plot was pretty dark. I liked the artwork and the audio.

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:47am

Awesome entry, congratulations! The music sets the mood very nicely. I love the idea of the changing rooms to solve the puzzles. It took me a while to figure out what the fan was for because I thought it was a seashell. I liked it a lot overall.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:19am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

c4m says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:23am

THAT END!!

i really loved your game, at this moment is my favourite entry so far.
Nice music, nice execution of the theme, good gameplay, and i love that kind of music, (search for olafur arnalds if you want to hear something related).

congrats!

ceosol says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:02am

This is just fantastic. My only criticism is that the moving edges are too sensitive. A lot of times when I was clicking on something, it would be moving the edge instead of collecting.

On a personal note, I had a dream about living in three time periods (Present, Victorian and some type of future warzone). I've been wanting to make it into a game, but could not conceive of the exact gameplay. Your game has given me great inspiration to try that one again.

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:23am

Could use a spell check, but overall pretty good! Beat my expectatives. I liked it a lot. Keep it up!

guoboism says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:48am

A dark story is told in one room but with through the change of time.

francismoy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:51pm

I loved the mood and artistic style of the game. It really made me feel something inside, which is difficult to describe, but I guess it's kind of nostalgia and sorrow. Good work!

sollinxp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:41pm

This game was perfect, very cool art style and very smart puzzle 5/5

pcmxms says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:43pm

That was awesome!

pressxtoskip says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:14pm

This made me sad, in a good way. Loved the swiping to move through time.

fauche_j says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:29pm

that was really funny. The switching room is ok.

Prospero says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Wow, they really didn't like people who painted back then huh? ;-) Loved the game and the mood/music!

Alex says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:54pm

I liked this one a lot. Didn't stick too much to the theme, and played more like a visual novel than a game, but it was a very well-put-together experience, and was highly enjoyable. The music and audio were amazing, and the graphics, although a tad MS-paint-ey, fit well with the overall mood.


I didn't really like the story that much though. I liked the simple, straight-to-the-point writing style, but the story itself just seemed too cheesy/overdone. "Child likes art->People don't like child->Child kills self->Parents regret."

The caveman rape was an interesting twist though, I'll give you that. Didn't see that one coming!



Good effort for 48 hours though. This is definitely one of my favorite entries with a story so far.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Really atmospheric, the music fitted really well, engaging story. The ending genuinely made my hairs stand on end. There wasn't always logic behind when something became allowed to be picked up, but I got through the puzzles no problem and enjoyed the journey.

Jungle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:53pm

Intense story, good ending. Great entry.

KadaDev says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:17am

Was a little hard to figure out what to do and why.

Excellent atmosphere though, rough

Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Uhm... are you ok??
What did I just play there..

I really like the music.

Smiley says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:09pm

excellent game :) nice work on the music and the timings. and also nice to see another libGDX-user here :)

keckles says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 1:11am

interesting concept but kinda dark for my taste

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:05am

Ok I just kept clicking randomly, but I gotta say this got me hooked until the end.

dobnarr says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:23am

That was disturbing. For me, not in a satisfying way. Interesting puzzle concept, though. Right-click to use things kept creating pop-up menu - maybe I was doing the controls wrong. Audio track was neat.

Somnium says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:36am

The atmosphere/mood of this game is close to perfect - the art is simple, lending it a very nice unnerving quality, which combined with the excellent music, underscores the dark theme in a great way. This is definitely one of the most atmospheric games I have played this LD!

As the game is very dark, you should probably have used the "warning"-feature when uploading :)

Despite some difficulty in clicking some of the objects, the gameplay and storytelling worked well together. I especially liked the "time travel" concept, and the transition between times felt very smooth as well.

Great game!


On an unrelated note, it is nice to see another game made using LibGDX :)

Skosnowich says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:32am

Wow, very atmospheric. Liked the art and the audio very well. The story was nice and dark.

axoona says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:38am

nice entry. I really liked the audio and the mood

scorched says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Liked the game! T_T
I think the items in the inventory should be highlighted when selected, so one knows if he is going to pick up something now or use an item.

Almax27 says ...
Jan 1, 2017 @ 9:41pm

The transition mechanic between times of the room is fantastic. Simple but very effective.

The music really sets the atmosphere and the writing is very provocative.

I'm not a big fan of point and click adventures, as I get bored easily hehe, but this held my attention. Great work :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]