Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Flip to Unite

by Zawdit - Compo Entry

Flip the room to solve simple puzzle to reunite our little friends!

Use your characters and objects to activate switches and solve puzzles

Controls

Use "A" and "D" to move left and right.

"W" to jump.

"Q" and "E" to rotate room.

Game made in GameMaker Studio 1.4

Not gonna lie rushed like crazy to finish pretty sure end is buggy :D also no music :(

V02

Added new version, fixes some super small sprite issues.

Fix last trigger, you can now beat the game!


Known Bugs:

Game freezes when moving the box sometimes.


Slick/conveyor blocks well get you stuck sometimes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#75Innovation3.84
#118Overall3.68
#126Theme4.03
#251Fun3.29

Comments

slimabob says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 3:12am

I got the true ending: http://puu.sh/sMtYU/b83f0a2cbb.png

BonozoApps says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:23am

made it to the end (except for final trigger, see PNG above if you make it to the end)! nice job!

DillonEA says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:00am

I like the idea behind this, and it definitely fits the theme really well. However, there were a few little quirks that I didn't quite understand when playing it.

Namely, stuff like the box you spawn at the very beginning will trigger one of the switches, but not the other, or why the character retains their speed when you switch while holding down a movement key.

The more intuitive responses to those actions is that if a box can trigger one switch, it should be able to trigger all switches, whether it's part of the solution or not. And that usually when you switch characters, the player you lose control of will stop moving.

Maybe there is later puzzles I just didn't see where the continued movement of the other character was important, but it threw me through a loop the first time.

Part of what prevented me from playing more of this was the situation I ran into where I would keep mistakenly pushing the box by rotating during movement, and having the box get stuck, resulting in me needing to spawn it in again.

Things like that where by a small mistake you have to take a fair bit of action to correct it did hamper the fun a little bit.

Admittedly, it could also just me being a bit too quick about things, or not being particularly patient with the game. Still, a full puzzle game based around this concept would certainly be neat!

Megalink says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:26am

This is cool! I've never really liked puzzle games that much but this is still pretty awesome! Rated 5 stars for innovation.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:21am

Really well thought out puzzles! I absolutely loved the voice sound effects. The sliding tiles were a bit jarring, maybe a little acceleration would be nice.

dietzribi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Awesome!!! Love the sounds lol!!! BTW I'm a loyal follower on your twitch but my name there is different, let's see if you can guess who I am Kappa

Zawdit says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Thanks to everyone who has played my game so far! Love the constructive criticism. I am now redoing the whole game properly now, and tweaking most physics. Most of the complants I got were about things I just didnt have time to make right, so I feel there is lots of room for improvement.

If you have any ideas for mechnics or just how siomething could eb changes leave a comment here or you can com give me more ideas at Twitch.com/zawdit or https://twitter.com/Zawdit

jack-lance says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:25pm

Such a cool idea and a really good execution too! You really stuck to the theme but also managed to pull it off so well. I loved this. (The jumping sound was annoying though, had to mute that.)

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:13am

It was a fun challenge until my character got stuck in one of the corners of the box.

oyoh says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:13am

Incredibly well done level design, a music would have been so nice though ! This game is a gem, i like it very much, good job

griseouslight says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:27am

Really cute. I managed to get the game freezing bugs, though.

Zgragselus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 12:28am

Interesting idea. Although few notes...

When switching room the gravity logically changes, but it can be super frustrating to position the cube that is affected by gravity.

bigpan says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:51am

Simple but effective puzzle game, I really enjoyed! My only tip would be to work more on the main character's design.

jramell says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:57am

Nice one! a really good game although a little bit confusing when it comes to0 those slippery tiles, it took me a while to discover how to jump on them.

Giardi says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:01am

The game is cool. There are some physical bugs, but the result was very good.

MAT4DOR says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:51am

Awesome idea! Was near the end but one of the characters got stuck in one of those "infinite run" tiles, and then i managed to freeze the game somehow.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Hey Guy,
I liked your art style and the mood.
Please go ahead and check my game (LocusLudi) nad check my Youtube (Acuadoy Studios) cause ill redo
my whole game and then you'll get all the links to updated versions of my game!

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:22am

Found it very original and fitting with the theme. At first I thought I could rotate the room 90° and walk with both characters at the same time, a little like The Swapper. Also, charming graphics and snappy controls.

gdcvdqpl says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 4:28pm

That was fun lol
Great idea

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]