Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

BullyBully Classroom

by My Sweet Whomp - Jam Entry

In BullyBullyClassroom, you play as Harissa and her gang of bullies : you spend most of your time terrorizing your classmates.
Will you keep on your evil ways or turn against your former gangmembers?

Even in the heat of battle, you can try to convince students or enemies to join your team and fight with you!

The team is called My Sweet Whomp (https://www.twitter.com/mysweetwhomp):
* Kokonaught (https://www.twitter.com/Kokonaught)
* Paulloz (https://www.twitter.com/pauljoannon)

The music is a free of use track from Aaron Krogh (https://soundcloud.com/aaron-anderson-11).

EDIT: We just pushed a fix for a game breaking bug (wasn't able to load the last level sometimes).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#18Overall(Jam)4.26
#18Graphics(Jam)4.68
#101Humor(Jam)3.67
#102Fun(Jam)3.79
#116Mood(Jam)3.88
#188Innovation(Jam)3.62
#257Theme(Jam)3.88

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:29pm

Amazing story! Was played till day 5 and really didn't want to stop, but there are more games to review... Will return back later and see what is in the end!

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Really awesome game, love the art and everything else! Nice work!!

bart says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Awesome! The best I've played so far. One small issue:
after boss hit my two red hoods they've become immortal and resistant to any further punches:
http://imgur.com/a/kTaVz

Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:49pm

I played this all the way to the end and it took me pretty long time. I was lost for the first few days, but it started making sense once I was nice to people. Love the graphics! Wish it was easier to see you was on your side at all times, like a "score keeper". The music worked very well for game. I had fun, but I really wish the was an end screen or something at the end when (I think) I won. It was just a black screen with music. I would love play a full length game version of this. Really Awesome work!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:59pm

bart : Thank you for the feedback, we fixed the problem :)
ShuddaHaddaLottaFun : thank you for the feedback! we have just put a little "thank you for playing" after you beat the game so the player knows he did it. We don't plan to make a full length version of the game but we do plan to polish this levels and the overall game feel.
We might use this setting and the recruit system as a starting point for a future complete game though. :)

JayProg says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Really enjoyed this played all 7 days!


Pixal art and animations were top notch, nice music and good use of theme.

Convincing enemies to join your team is a really interesting decision to have to make sometimes it's easier to just knock them out. Other times it can turn the tide in the fight. Very cool amount of depth for a jam game!

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:42pm

Oh maaan we can be a good guy and flirt with the nerdy girl <3

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Brilliant entry, I really like what you did here with the story :)
Gameplay feels quite solid (even if sometimes the AI-controlled units seemed to behave oddly), and the art style is stunning. Nice choice for the music theme, too.

Great job!! :D

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Nive work!
Completed it and really liked it.
I loved the undertale-like mechanic

Diplodino says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:08pm

Salut les gars, bravo pour votre jeu, c'est assez impressionnant ! La musique rend ouf à un moment mais tout ça m'a donné envie de me relancer un Fire Emblem.
Good job ! (Même si l'histoire est un peu faible...)

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:37pm

Really smart game-- I was nice and the story made sense... It froze on the level with the big bros though, if that helps.

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:20am

The production values are very good. but to my taste it drags a little bit. still i acknowledge balancing this type of game ain't easy. Great job.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:38pm

That was a really good game! I enjoy tactical rpgs so this was a real treat to play! The art was well done as were the animations. I did have to play it on Chrome instead of firefox as I never got the menu to do anything and I also noticed the enemies never hit back. Again this was a pleasure to play. Job well done!

pouls says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:06pm

savage

alfadur says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:15pm

This was very enjoyable playthrough, the story is good, although it gets kinda confusing when the green character still persists in beating you after he's already converted :)
The art suits the game pretty much perfectly, good job on that!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:46am

alfadur : the green character is a healer. We plan to put more visual and sonor feedback on his healing ability in the postjam version of the game. Thank your for your comment! :)

Greek85 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:23am

oh! Nice! And it's also online! Can I find it on indiexpo? I'm making videos about the games of this Jam, but only about the games hosted also on indiexpo! Tell me if you will add it, so I can include it in my next video ;)

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Thanks for the game, but it'a kinda slow in my browser. Do you have plans to build Windows executable?

Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Vadim Ivshin : yes, we plan on exporting Windows builds (it'll be an Electron app).

Vadim Ivshin says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Great, thanks for your asnwer!

harusame says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:48pm

I love your game !

Great entry ;)

Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:58pm

I would have love to try your game, but it freezes just after the first dialogue. Is there anything needed to run it ? (I tried on Chrome and IE)

Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Yami no tenshi : maybe try Firefox. What OS are you running on?

Dec 17, 2016 @ 10:27am

Tried on firefox too, it freezes when the square appears on the yellow girl, music continues though. I'm running on Windows 7.

(I love the music of your game) :)

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Cool entry, love the graphics.

Unfortunately it crashed on my towards the end of day 4 or 5 when I got all the nerds on my side and was about to kick the last bully's butt.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 7:02am

Pixel art was really nice. I'm not sure why you could choose to continue to be a bully - it didn't feel like a fun option.

Mayhem Makers says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Loved your game!
The talk mechanic is pretty fun.
Just found a few issues that is if you have to pick on your allies if there are no actions left, and that if you click in the middle of actions you sometimes get an extra turn.

runvs says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 8:11pm

I really liked the graphics and the choice of the music.

Valandre says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Very good Entry, and nice work. I love the graphics!

Pierrec says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Woah A tactical in 72h? That's impressive! I love the whole idea and the realisation is pretty good! There still to be some bugs left though (I had to restart twice from the beginning bc of game freezes. Maybe it's when someone stands on a "corpse") Also, a Skip turn option would have been nice for when you have a dozen of people in your gang and you actually just want to talk with the 2 main ones. Will play again tomorrow

Dec 29, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Really great entry, super polished.
Not my type of game but I can see all the ard work.
My only complaint is that I found the dialogue system a bit confusing and didn't get who was who or against who.

Jan 8, 2017 @ 7:12pm

Lovely graphics, nice entry! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/7ZuTwiufN-U

Jan 26, 2017 @ 5:03pm

Pssst! You have been featured on today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQuGv2kBvnw

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]