Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Help Wanted!

by TeamBALD - Jam Entry

Your mean coworkers have locked you in the office during Christmas as part of their annual prank on the new guy. They've hidden puzzles around the room for you to solve before they'll open the door. Can you escape while there's still time for turkey?

Controls​

Mouse and Keyboard:
Move and look: WASD, Arrow keys, and mouse
Select: Left-click or Space
Answer: Numbers 1-4

Gamepad:
Move and look: Analogue sticks
Select: A button
Answer: A, B, X, Y

​Credits:

Been - Coding
Mandaaar - Arty person
RagingWhisky - Easter Egg song

Audio
Cool Vibes Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License
This game uses a number of sounds from freesound, for the full list see the included soundcredits.txt.

Additional Graphics
This games uses a number of models from TurboSquid, for the full list see the included file 3dmodelcredits.txt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#176Theme(Jam)4.00
#189Overall(Jam)3.73
#228Mood(Jam)3.64
#266Humor(Jam)3.09
#459Fun(Jam)3.12
#577Innovation(Jam)2.88

Comments

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:06am

Creepy! I liked it!

NotExplosive says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:42am

I like the art style, everything visually fits really nicely together. I also like your concept of "lots of detail in one room and let the player walk around and explore it"

I came across a few typos: "I don't know how (you) can sit there with that thing starting (staring?) at you"

I'm happy to say this is the first LD Game (so far) that I have played through to completion! To help future players, the clue indicates an object that you have to click on to proceed.

nwestninja says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:44am

It's like hunting for a pixel, but otherwise really fun! Great job!!!!!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:07am

Art and mechanics are cool
Good job

ursagames says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:00am

That Easter egg song was hilarious! Nice entry and I enjoyed the clue based puzzles and quizzes.

kamranwali says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:05pm

A very nice game! The theme is so nice in the game. The audio goes so well with the gameplay too. Like the puzzle solving aspect of the game. I felt so accomplished after finishing it! I got that song stuck in my head now "Stuck in room, Stuck in room..." :D . The atmosphere of the game was nice it really went with it. Overall a nice game. Keep it up!

Sota says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:28am

I enjoy the concept of solving real-world trivia. Not many games do that anymore.

KJB of IBwWG says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Sys reqs would be nice. Even with all other programs closed, on my machine with 4 GB RAM I'm told I don't have enough memory, so I can't play. Maybe make the resolution adjustable?

Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Hey, I liked your game it was actually fun.
You can improve the audio and the graphics at some point but overall not bad!
And please go and try out my game!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:32pm

@TeamBALD and @Turkey I look the error up and reupload the file. Go ahead and try it out again tomorrow. Mabey there was a problem with uploading the game.did you try it on mac or windows Mabey the os/x one is Broken?

JK5000 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 9:27am

I especially liked the games mysteries/scary atmosphere. Well done.

Ednei says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:04pm

good game, congrats!

Ednei says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:40pm

good game, congrats! nice challenge

JonathanG says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Had a nice atmosphere to it. Would like to have seen puzzles that used, and were based on, the objects in the room rather than just general knowledge questions, which don't feel well integrated with the rest of the experience.

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:08pm

A very nice game! Sadly an "escape the room" usage of the One Room theme is nothing new, so 3 stars for innovation and theme. But it was VERY fun! 5 stars for that!

Jan 20, 2017 @ 7:33pm

Very interesting, well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/1nLjn2-nhmQ

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]