Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Comfort Zone

by icefallgames - Compo Entry

Comfort Zone
------------

(Note: at the end of this description is a link to a version that fixes some of the bugs)

You are confined to your room - to your familiar surroundings. However, push against the boundaries and see what's beyond. Who knows what's behind that open door?

Less pretentious version:
This is a puzzle game where you push against the walls of room to gradually move the room over to the door (where you can proceed to the next level). However, the area of the room always remains the same, and you can never split the room (One Room!). If pushing against a wall doesn't work, it's because it would split the room (the split area will flicker red). If it does work, it drags the walls behind you with you.

Avoid the poison gas! In later levels, a key must be in the room with you in order to open the door.

There are 8 levels. And yes, they are all solvable!

Turn up the audio, there's lots of it (and clues too).

Note: The WebGL version does not work properly in Edge (the arrow keys end up being sticky, making it impossible to control). It works fine in Chrome.

Note: There are still some bugs where sometimes you can travel through the walls, and the walls go a bit wonky (in the later levels). Either reset the level (click on the refresh icon), or try to force your way back inside the room again :-). The controls are still a bit sticky too. If you're sticking, back off from the wall you're interacting with (it is highlighted in a lighter blue).

Another bug: you aren't supposed to be able to win if you reach the door and the poison gas at the same time - but indeed, you can. So trying to win by not doing that :-).

I've fixed some of these bugs in this version: http://icefallgames.com/Games/ComfortZone2 (the official links below are still the original, to be used for judging)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#4Theme4.67
#4Innovation4.70
#9Overall4.22
#22Humor4.00
#30Audio3.93
#40Fun3.93
#43Mood3.96

Comments

cjke.7777 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:06am

Wow! 5/5 across the board. Very clever art direction and cute audio. The gameplay is perfectly suited to the theme.

TechXSoftware says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:06am

It was fun, I look like a rock lol, funny sounds and voice acting, bit kept glitching out of the box's, and there are those moments when I get hit by the gas and get to the door at the same time and it says I won and it just resets, I was like aww haha.

onixowl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:30am

Cool game. Voice acting make it even more fun:D

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:39am

Nice

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:43am

Very nice work. A solid puzzle game with a good implementation and consistent art and tone. Nice audio touches too. Clever take on the theme, great job!

juxipolo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:27am

This puzzle design is awesome. The solutions really require some lateral thinking.

The momentum on the character made movement frustrating. I was often hitting walls I didn't intend, which then stopped movement in the direction I really wanted to go.

I wound up walking through the walls a lot in the first level with the poison gas and a key.

Mark Overmars says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:43am

Great great idea, and awesome puzzle design to boot. For innovation and theme this entry gets 5's from me. A bit buggy unfortunately but I still found it fun! Liked the sound effects also :)

Greemax says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:11pm

The theme is there. The audio is pretty funny. Very innovative. Congrats!!

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:18am

Excellent entry, you managed to innovate on basically every front. The subtle animations on the walls when they are pushed along with the sped up voice effect really sell the character. Great job on a great game!

mmason says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:40am

I glitched out of the room a few times but other than that very good game

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:03am

I think the way I solved the last level might have been a glitch, but a win is a win in my book!

Great use of the theme, great concept, great all across the board (except humor)! However, I must admit that the audio sounds a little naughty and I wouldn't feel comfortable playing it through my speakers... but good thing I use headphones!

cottontrek says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:32am

This really impressed me! The graphics and audio meshed together well, and the use of the theme was pretty creative.

What I really enjoyed was the level design and the way you were able to communicate game mechanics and objectives to the player without using explicit tutorials. It was really slick and definitely something I can learn a bit from!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Very happy to see people inspired by the ONE ROOM theme to create something like this! What a fun concept.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Great idea! However, I experienced a lot of bugs such as I was able to easily leave my space etc. The audio is so annoying I love it :D Great job. Would be a great mobile game.

TheMightyTeam says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Love it! Difficult to be innovative in this genre but this game is amazing. Well done.

DoubtfulGames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:47am

Neat puzzliness. The audio was a bit creepy, and I kept breaking out of the room.

nikitapash says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:06am

Interesting idea, nice music

nekoballs says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Brilliant idea for the theme!

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Very good use of the theme! The audio was excellent in the sense that it communicated the game state and gave hints very well, even though I got really sick of the voice quite quickly. I liked the chalk visuals, and pushing the walls felt good.

The biggest issue I had was inconsistency and snags in the physics. The player character was a little loose to control and got snagged on corners often. Additionally, I often found myself pushing a wall and finding my character outside it, which required me to find something on the outside to push against to pop back inside.

That said, this is a solid puzzle game and one of the best uses of the theme I've seen so far.

Dec 20, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Great, unique puzzler, which kept me involved until the end. I found the audio annoying after a few levels.

xclementx says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 10:43am

Really good game! Nice mechanics ! But the "pink" is not suposed to be a "positive color" ?

JD557 says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 1:13am

Awesome use of theme. The voices are also pretty cool.

It's a shame that original version is so buggy (also, the character feels a bit floaty). I really wanted to have some fun with this game, but it's really frustrating to have to restart a level due to a bug.

Jan 27, 2017 @ 4:51pm

Really interesting game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/dPGA6ze9lwQ

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]