Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Drunk Guy!

by bramvanelderen - Jam Entry

Drunk Guy is the most accurate drunk walking simulator ever created! Be warned you may get so immersed that you get drunk in real life as well!

Everyone knows the problem when drinking to much, you gotta go to the bathroom which can be a real pain. The goal of the game is reaching this one holy room without slipping from the platforms or getting pushed off by other party dudes.

The controls are simple
WASD - Movement
Shift - Slow run
Space - Jump
R - restart
Esc - Quit


Credits:
Gregg Finden - 3D models
Kirk Markarian - Sound design
Bram van Elderen - Developer

Follow us on twitter:
@bram_vanelderen
@valrockstudios

Other Credits:
https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/61018
https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/69129
https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/48479
https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/25117

http://freesound.org/people/dasebr/sounds/212698/
http://freesound.org/people/mlsulli/sounds/234855/

Side note
I have not tested the linux and osx builds, please tell me if they are not working correctly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#121Humor(Jam)3.60
#203Mood(Jam)3.69
#272Innovation(Jam)3.43
#279Graphics(Jam)3.89
#284Overall(Jam)3.57
#315Audio(Jam)3.27
#515Fun(Jam)3.04
#847Theme(Jam)2.39

Comments

TeamEagle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:12am

Best game. Best graphics. I see a lot of potential in the level generation technique.

PaidGEEK says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:28am

Looks really good. Good job on the level design, I'm assuming it's procedural. The mouse is not locked when playing in windowed mode.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:31am

Hey thanks man. ye it is procedural not perfect but hey it works.

Logicon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:36am

Pretty crazy game. I'm impressed with the procedural levels. The drunk mechanic was pretty frustrating though.

klams says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:37am

i just speedrun the game by falling and continuing straignt forward!! \o/
Very good game i don't know if is't the post jam feeling or your game but my head is spinning rignt now! :)
10/10 IGN

laylow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:41am

Cool graphics. The random movement seems a little too strong though so it's hard to recover when it takes over.

I think adding a shadow at the bottom of the player would help with the jumps. Given the drunking, sluggish feeling, it's already difficult to line them up.

The procedural maps are nice.

pLaw says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:45am

Wow, this guy i really drunk :D

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:58am

Updated the game, decreased the drunk effect on movement.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:08am

Wow that was so fantastic! I really loved the procedural levels! A+

nwestninja says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:11am

Interesting concept, the drunkeness kind of takes it away from me.

kleinzach says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:15am

The procedural levels are really cool, they really add to the mood of the whole thing. The platforming was more infuriating then fun though.

batmagus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:38am

Great work! Interesting mix of unusual graphics and gameplay, and the random levels do a lot to keep it feeling fresh.

conradte3 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:53am

Really nice game, I love all the graphical effects and the music, and it all comes together well. The drunk movement can be pretty frustrating but the procedural level helps make it less repetitive after dying.

Ygogo says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Nice game! Good graphics and sound.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:58pm

Impresive drunken work!

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Really good entry, simple(but definitely not easy) and fun to play.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Basically unplayable, but I think that's the point, right? XD The procedural generation is nifty but sometimes doesn't quite work into a playable level. Would be nice to have some context of the "you're drunk" bit other than the title in-game. Otherwise, graphics are neat. :)

Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Really neat concept! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/YiLAPTz00w0

Japes says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 9:13am

Great graphics and feel, i actually feel dizzy irl now, cant play this game for too long! Good effort.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]