Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Andi's Moving Company

by babyjeans - Jam Entry

In Andi's Moving Company, you've gotta get all of the stuff outta the ONE ROOM house and into the Moving Truck!

Control both movers using WASD and ARROW KEYS (sorry, no bindable keys), and press LEFT / RIGHT shift to pick up furniture. Most items require both movers to carry!!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#144Innovation(Jam)3.72
#160Theme(Jam)4.04
#266Graphics(Jam)3.92
#370Overall(Jam)3.44
#475Humor(Jam)2.50
#690Mood(Jam)2.83
#721Fun(Jam)2.68
#826Coolness48%

Comments

haxxero says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:56am

Honestly this was a really cool idea and i love the way it looks : ) and i understand that the gameplay is supposed to be clunky but i think that it's a little bit too frustrating to be enjoyable. I would have liked it if the movers moved to the right if i pressed D (or right arrowkey) instead of moving the way they are facing, just makes it not fun IMO. Great game otherwise!

babyjeans says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:10am

hey thanks for the comments and compliments! the criticism certainly is fair, the thing i prioritized last, besides audio obviously, was game balance. the time limit is a little ridiculous, and really, i just got used to the controls after awhile and didn't try others. definitely something to pay attention to in LD38!

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:39am

Man, these controls are haaaard. I liked the idea, especially when items needed 2 people to be move but it also made it even harder to move... Also the graphics are pretty neat, I liked your color use :)

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:37am

Wonderful use of theme, and I adore this concept. It was really hard to learn the controls, but I kind of dig that about this type of game. Nice graphics too; overall a fantastic job!

Quaternius says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:47am

I really like the idea but the controls are really hard to get used to! Great graphics.

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:48am

Really fun game. I wasn't sure what was going on at first, but by the second time around I understood. It seems like it would be really fun to play with 2 people.

Maybe, since it looks like you move in the direction of the "cursor" in fron of you, it would be easier if one character was just controlled by the mouse?

Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:06pm

Wow, I really loved the concept of moving the items with two people - seems like an obvious concept, but I don't think it have every done it before. The game was a little more difficult than I expected (not a bad thing!)

markten says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Great concept and good consistent art style. I wasn't coordinated enough to make much money. It almost felt like it was supposed to be a multiplayer game with two people on one keyboard.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:14am

Fantastic graphics and good idea for the theme. The game itself is very frustrating at the start and then slow as you tip toe your way between two guys to the truck. Would be fun as a multiplayer, but as a single player the controls hinder the game, I think.

indrkl says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:24pm

The idea seems interesting, but I just didn't get to moving anything big though I tried... just didn't get how you got to position the guys so that they could be moving something together. And the movement is super frustrating, lowering the turn rate just a little bit maybe?

nilead says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:25pm

It's a nice idea, but its too difficult to play alone and the controls are kind of messy.

babyjeans says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 8:16pm

I'll be posting a POST-JAM version soon with some controls improvements! Thanks for all the great feedback though guys, while I do totally understand how frustrating they are, I'm still ridiculously pleased with my first finished jam outcome and am glad it seems to be 'mostly' enjoyable;)

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Frustratingly good.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:04pm

It was hard, but still pretty fun! The graphics are pretty cute too :)

Splendidus says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 5:08pm

The idea is cool, you need to develop. Management can be corrected, that this current is not a problem.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Man, the controls are hard. Once I got furniture picked up, it wasn't bad, but getting it picked up in the first place proved to be rough. Awesome concept though. I'm the best chair mover around. Anything heavier and you'd better hire a different company.

impbox says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:40am

This is almost exactly the idea I started with for my game, but ended up dropping the player characters and rotations to simplify it. I really like the concept, I think the controls are really difficult to use though, especially doing both at once. Maybe would be fun multiplayer, but currently I think the controls break it. Great graphics and style!

coborax says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Didnt really understand the controls, but nice graphics

mortus says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Is it okay that I hate this game because I have no one to play it with? :D In all seriousness though, great concept and a solid implementation, the only problems I've got with controls are from me controlling both characters at the same time. I want to make 1st person 3D clone of this now!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]