Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Bad Dreams

by Dogeveloper - Jam Entry

Simple FPS platformer in which you play as a kid trapped in a nightmare trying to escape it. Tutorial ingame.

PS: press shift to sprint.

EDIT:
uploaded hotfix build with changes:
1. added sprint key to tutorial
2. updated boss tutorial for more clarity
2. fixed freezing on spawn issue (acciedentally forgot 1 line of code, sigh)
3. fixed healthbar (sprite got removed on earlier unity crash and i didnt notice)

EDIT 2 :
uploaded new build with changes:
1. assigned death particle to enemy (it was already there, but got somehow removed)
2. added info about that there is lava on the floor on the 1st tutorial tab
3. fixed tutorial not opening properly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#362Mood(Jam)3.42
#496Innovation(Jam)3.00
#514Graphics(Jam)3.34
#595Overall(Jam)3.13
#614Theme(Jam)3.25
#666Fun(Jam)2.78

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:42am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:13am

Not bad, but it looks like I need to restart the entire application in order to restart the game. When I clicked on Main Menu and Play again, it would start again, but I could not move.

It was a bit unclear to me how to actually hurt the tentacles? I shot at them a bunch, but nothing seemed to really happen. I also felt like your movement was overall WAY too slow. Q didn't seem to slow down time as much as completely stop me from moving.

It has potential, but it's hard to tell what's going on. I did really like the graphics though. The style was really nice, and the colors and particle effects were well done.

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:17am

Nice selection of power-ups. The controls took a bit to get used to, and I occasionally got stuck at spawn, but I like that the floor is lava :) Good work!

Hjalte500 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:08am

You got a really good mood going with your graphics which really made you feel like you were in a dream.
I think I encountered some sort of bug though because when starting the game there was a minion stuck in a cloud and white particles just flew all over the place. I also seemed to die for no reason every now and again even though the healthbar never moved but those kinda bugs are to be expected so.. Overall I really liked the game, it was just a bit unfortunate that I didn't really feel like I could play it right.

Also a bit of design advice: Dont start your game with a bunch of text :). Thankfully you made it easily skippable though. Good job!

kn2322 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:13am

I really like the nightmarish/surreal mood that's been set, you did a good job with the strange colours and scenery. Criticism wise, I felt the tutorial was a little long winded and I couldn't get into the gameplay properly. Adding a time counter for time stood in lava and making the death screen shorter can improve it.

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:31am

Bad dreams = bad game, not a fan sorry.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:37am

Good job!Nice game!

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:34am

I don't think Johnny was destined to survive the night. I tried though :)

BathPirate says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:27am

Good job!

wscones says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:35am

probably should make the lava disclaimer a bit more prominent or have some indication that you are in the lava

platforming was fun, especially with the multiple-jump and jump boost powerups

minions didn't seem to be too threatening

boss tentacles were a bit difficult to hit; I just saved up a bunch of ammo and then spammed a bunch of bolts at the weak spot

Sun-Wukong says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:10am

Ah, didn't expect to find entry with similar name, lol.
Your game unexpectedly hard to me, I'm constantly hit by something I can't see and die in a few seconds :(
But it looks pretty polished.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Main idea of the game is very good...good luck to developers!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Wow this was almost as fun as how bad my dreams were last night A+

bigpan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Your game idea was similar to mine! And I think you did great with the scenario, good job. I was having problems with my surroundings in your game, I never knew when I was stepping in lava or not.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:27pm

I enjoyed the idea behind this game. The semi surreal art style is quite fitting for a nightmare. Controls work great, but I personally fins the difficulty to be a bit unforgiving, but maybe that was the author's intentions (after all, we're in a nightmare here!). Good job!

c4m says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:12pm

I like the theme and the story behind.... it touch me the floor is lava thing! But the game is very hard! I couldn't even kill a minion before be burn by lava.

JarJarlHalla says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:26pm

sorry but i don't understand the game. The tutorial is a bull of shit and gameplay needs to be test

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:48pm

JarJarlHalla im sorry but i didnt have a 5 man team and playtesters, i was all alone and very tired. Also try to write a more constructive review next time. I understand that you didnt like the game but how about telling me something like "The movement is buggy, the powerups are boring, the tutorial is missing x" instad of "its bull of shit, gameplay needs to be test", that way i can improve next time. Thanks.

Logicon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:53am

Pretty hard, the pickup range for some of the powerups seemed really small and hard to grab

mmason says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:35am

I feel like this game is on the cusp of being great but has a few things holding it back. I felt like I spent my entire time trying to find a place to stand as everything except beds sinks super fast. It didn't seem like I could hurt anything either, I shot things a bunch of times.

Good work overall, would love to see more if you keep developing it.

jramell says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 5:37am

Nice graphics. I'd suggest adding more feedback to the game, sound effects when you get hurt, the slow bubbling of lava, that kind of stuff. Also, background music.

Finally, it's nice from you to ask the player to carefully read the tutorial... but the tutorial is quite long and most players aren't that interested in the game yet. There are tricks to teach the player how to play and how to combat different types of enemies through design; this is an extensive topic, but you can get started by watching this video about the way Super Mario teaches the player its core mechanics: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZH2wGpEZVgE

Keep it up :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]