Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

The Coffee Room

by Rakart - Jam Entry

The coffee room is a beat them all where you must survive wave of ennemies to kill the Demon Lord who spawned in your bar.

Controls :
arrows : move
left control : attack

Notes :
Boss is at wave 10.
After that the waves are endless.
I turned the difficulty down a bit, sorry for the lack of tuning.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#270Graphics(Jam)3.91
#274Theme(Jam)3.86
#333Humor(Jam)2.90
#564Mood(Jam)3.10
#649Fun(Jam)2.80
#676Overall(Jam)3.00
#756Innovation(Jam)2.42
#790Coolness49%

Comments

haxxero says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:47am

The graphics and music were amazing, really gave a nice atmosphere and mood. The screenshake was a little bit too much for me i kind of felt sick but i do think a little bit screenshake is still a good idea, just don't overdo it! Also imo CTRL is a dumb button to use it just hurts my pinky : ( Z or X would be better in my opinion.

Holofire says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:37am

Pretty fun, getting to the boss took a couple of tries and it seems that being aggressive is the way to go. Letting the enemies pile up is a bad thing. Nice work dude :D

BathPirate says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 8:45am

Good game! Good graphics! My congrats!

Megalink says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:14am

Graphics are sick! Great job!

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Really nice graphics and music. Some more enemy variety before you get to the boss would have been nice.

Dagorlad says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Nice graphics and animations, it feels good to go around and smack some things.

But there's a problem with the attack mechanic, the range is very short and you can't really strategize around the movement of the enemies. And maybe with some other mechanics could be a lot better.

Good job!

Mordokay says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Liked the graphics and specially the Soundtrack. Really hard to get to the boss though .... would have been nice to attack while moving .. but I guess that's what makes this game harder and more fun. Congratz!

gontzalve says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Good Graphics maybe giving more feedback when getting attacked and creating a more powerful push (visually) could be better

nikitapash says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Art and sound are amazing!

wischutz says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:25pm

The animations are pretty good! Nice entry!

Jerodak says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:27pm

My strategy was to just hide behind the bar then carefully pick them off one at a time, I felt like having more options for either moving around and dealing with enemies would've been pretty good as well as some more variety of enemy types. I'm not sure what to make of the mood, the music is good but lighthearted and your fighting one-eyed jelly demons and then a big tentacled guy at the end; The art direction didn't seem to sync up exactly with the choice of music either, the art gave it a more dark and serious direction in my opinion. That being said, the artwork is great, and I didn't hate the mood or anything either, I'm just not sure what to make of it. Overall, what I feel is missing here is variety, since it's a beat-up up, some mechanics that interact with the room in some way might be cool, like picking up stools or tables as weapons or one of those classic "slide-badguy-down-the-bar" sorta things or maybe knocking enemies into walls or other objects for extra damage and/or hitstun. Just some ideas there. Nice work, and hope that helps.

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:37am

I haven't been able to reach the boss yet because the screen shake makes me a bit dizzy, but the knockback when hitting enemies feels pretty satisfying. I'd recommend adjusting the sprite origin for your attack pose. At the moment, it kind of looks like your feet move backwards when you punch. Adjusting the sprite origin would also probably give your punch just a little bit more range which I really think could help take away a bit of the frustration of getting hit by an enemy just as you punch. Still though, this is a fun, simple brawler. I like the setting and aesthetics, so I'd really like to see what you could do with a little more time and polish.

Maple says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 6:37am

What a strange setting, haha. Good entry.

Would've liked more variety in the enemies, though understandably time restraints are a factor. I also felt that the screen jumped around a bit too much, and also, a spawn and death animation for the blobs would have really benefited the game, as it currently sorta feels like they just appear and dissapear.

Above all, though, you did well. Also "The Coffee Room" sign looks like it could actually be in a cafe/bar!

edve98 says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Art and music is just great. I feel like the game is a bit too hard (yes, I know that you have made it easier already :P)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]