Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Junk

by imphenzia - Compo Entry

This astronaut found himself in the space junk room (theme "one room").

HOW TO PLAY:
Keep the astronaut alive for as long as you can using ASDW/Arrows and SPACE.

MAKING OF:
I made this game for the LD37 compo although my goal was also to fit in what I normally do in a weekend, well, most of it anyway =)

A full postmortem will be coming. My blocks of hours for making this game was:

Session 1: 5 hours (3am to 8am)
...
Rode motocross, cleaned the bike, Christmas shopping with family, playing with kids, ate out, got a hair cut, night time story for kids)
...
Session 2: 3 hours (9pm to midnight)
...
sleep, breakfast, clean house, play with kids
...
Session 4: 12 hours (3pm to 3am)

Total Time: 20 hours

Tools used:
* Unity3D
* Blender
* Photoshop CC
* Cubase 7.5
* Sound Forge 11
* Ozone 7
* Fontstruct (I made the font using the fontstruct web site)

20161213: I added a Time Lapse video.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUAVqYFoueg

20161214: Video - finding bugs and my son's reactions =) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qk96bhzJQzA&feature=youtu.be

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Graphics4.22
#40Audio3.86
#112Overall3.70
#121Humor3.22
#152Fun3.55
#161Mood3.44
#201Theme3.84
#356Innovation3.01
#1071Coolness41%

Comments

MestR says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:19am

This was more fun than I though. And it looks great. And the music was awesome. Impressive!

Haddy22 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:53pm

Made it to 63.09
Ran a little heavy on my lappy - was a little glitchy
Great work with the game. I think its hard to believe this was accidental with the two onlooking astronauts ready to punch you with the wall if you get close to them! Bastards did this on purpose!

After a while nothing new comes, and you know you are going to die inevitably in the end. I tend to like games with a story or a purpose- the purpose of this is to die... just to survive as long as possible. I think I would enjoy this a little more if there was a goal to work towards- maybe the astronauts are trying to figure out how to get you out and if you last X amount of time they stop the belt and save you. Thats just me though!

Overall the art looked great. It created a good mood and the game jam theme is apparent. I like what you did here! Good on ya

imphenzia says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:28am

Thanks! Yes, it's a bit evil that there is no way for him to survive - life is cruel sometimes. Very valid points to make it more interesting though. Thanks to both of you for taking the time to play and comment.

psychonull says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:15am

looks amazing, good humor, kinda laggy but I'm pretty sure is my pc. music didn't work with the game imo. nice entry!

Lucas Knutson says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:38am

Really fun! I ran out of air a lot.

sepharoth213 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:15am

Very well done! The level of polish on the music and the graphics is very impressive. I was frustrated with the acceleration on the z-axis movement, since it's the hardest axis to perceive change in, having it done gradually makes it feel terribly unresponsive, especially when the main death condition (for me at least) was hitting either wall.

You did a fantastic job on the texture work for the conveyor belt, that is just the best little piece of polish to make the whole thing come together.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:17am

Such an amazing game!

Broxxar says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:22am

Fantastic job on the music, it's really well done. Also your post moretem of a busy family life and still finding time to jam is incredible. Amazing dedication to the craft haha :D

Cole Chittim says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:29am

Really great looking and sounding game! I could easily see this as a great mobile game with a little polish! I think the one thing to improve would be the speed at which the astronaut moves side to side. I missed a lot of air because he would not reach it in time. And on that note, I'd also suggest making air more easily obtainable as the lack of air was the only reason i died in all my play throughs. Great game! Just a little more polish!

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:29am

Yeah, fun! I LOVED that jumping depleted your air resource - I've never seen such an interesting twist on such a common game mechanic and it fits so well with the space theme. I would have loved a few more cues to help figure out spatial relationships - when the astronaut and his shadow are behind some boxes, I sometimes got lost spatially.

Tauka says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:59am

Wow, what a great game to make in only 20h, very impressive. Keep up, incredible work

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:08am

One of the best games I have seen in this LD so far! Nice graphics

adsilcott says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:28am

Very polished looking game! When I realized you can jump I thought It would make it too easy, then I realized jumping uses air. Nice touch there. I got a kick out of what happens when you run into walls. Good game!

JK5000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:24am

Super great graphics and fantastic music. Well done.

Flaterectomy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:18pm

I lasted 46.54 seconds. :D The game has a bit of a learning curve (I started hating the pistons at the top and bottom but grew to appreciate them), and simple mechanics that become apparent pretty quickly. The first few times I did not realize the glowing orbs were oxygen, though.

The music is good and sets the mood well, but I think I'd prefer it without percussion for a game set in space (personal preference). The sound effects are sufficient but there is room for improvement there.

I like the graphics - simple, cute and effective. Nice bouncy walking animation. I feel there was a missed opportunity to "brand" the crates with some science-fiction references though. ;)

ceosol says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Just a matter of opinion, the air supply should be at a set rate and not random chance. The first time I played, I did not even know there was air until after I had suffocated and saw a blue thing. Really cute graphics - I know most were just stock shapes/textures, but it worked with the feel of the game.

bigpan says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:31am

Excellent game! One of the funniest I've played today, this has potential to become a great challenging game, well done!

spacedoubt says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 5:50am

Good graphics, Great music! Solid game.

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Really good graphics. I especially like the way the astronaut died. It was fun finding all the different ways to die. The game itself seems pretty relaxed. Pretty good for a web game. I did find the restart took too long though (be nice to just be able to click through it).

imphenzia says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Thanks for all the comments and feedback, I really appreciate it. Some really good suggestions that I will take into account and update the game.

KadaDev says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Animations are really cute especially when the character is running fast. I like the concept. Fun game!

iamkraya says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:16pm

The art style is awesome, liked the music but some of that darn air was extremely difficult to catch! Good entry! - Joey

Dev Dennis says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Awesome game !

dobnarr says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Excellent entry - graphics are really amazing (I see from your time lapse that you even made the font) and the game looks great. The main character animation and look is very smooth and great looking. Music and sounds are fun and appropriate. Humor in the death messages. Some balance issues (not major) - some plays I could not get any oxygen in the time allotted, so it would just run out after 16 seconds. I think one play there just never was one (or maybe it was behind a box) - others, I just couldn't get it. It was also a surprise that every edge killed me, although I got used to that. So, set pretty hard - a little bit of a gentler learning curve might have helped, but no big deal. I'd like to talk to the workspace engineering team for the ship, and especially those two guys behind the glass who are no help at all. Very impressive work - nice job.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Very nice! This looks great! Probably the best graphics I've seen yet. And I love how jumping and moving makes air run out faster. Good work! :)

pyokoanarogue says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:04pm

those pistons are a-holes. the game is fun and very well put together! congratulations!

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:28am

Unbelievable you put this together with all the other weekend activities with your family.
And in the end everything fits together perfectly.
You even considered the little things which contribute to the atmosphere, like that the music gets more drive when the game starts. Model also looks amazing.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Fun little game and the run animation is so damn cute I could stare at it for hours :D

Only suggestion would be to have more upbeat music

Wan says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Pretty good entry. I survive 60.36s.
It's a complete entry, fun with good graphics and audio and fit right on the theme.
The death by piston is just too frustrating :(

smbe19 says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 1:33am

Very nice music and audio!

jimmynoshoes says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 2:05am

Nice! Graphics and sound are really good.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 6:59am

Really nice entry! The graphics looked great and the premise is hilarious. I feel like the controls could have used a little more work - I didn't get the tightness that I would have wanted, especially when trying to move backwards (left). Bug report: at one point I jumped and got stuck in the air. When another box came under me I got unstuck

Also, why are there astronauts in the background just staring at him instead of trying to help?! XD

imphenzia says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Thanks for the continued feedback everyone, I really appreciate it! I am working on a polished version for android + iOS release - I will see this as a game to attempt my first mobile release and how to publish etc. All your feedback is very valuable.

In my post-LD version (not published yet) I have tightened up the controls (no lag) and changed to combine lightmaps with the realtime shadow to improve performance. I will be adding a lot of content to the game to make it more interesting to play for longer periods of time.

And, about those guys behind the glass - I was meaning to animate them but didn't have time. They can't help because they are on the other side of the glass, at least that's my theory. I suppose they could have called for help come to think of it :) At least they are not operating the pistons, those are automatic junk anti-stuck mechanisms.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 1:52am

Great job! Impressive how you managed to produce a small yet fun entry while still going about your normal life as well.

The game design was simple but effective, I think the air meter was great in tying everything together, although I think you may want to make it slightly more obvious to players that moving forward and jumping deplete your air rather than having them figure it out for themselves (?).

Your modeling and animation actually look pretty sweet, so good job on that, as well as on the music, though the sfx could use a little more work in comparison.

In terms of things you could improve, there is a little bit of buggy behavior sometimes, particularly while jumping onto/over a box (you can sometimes get stuck floating in the air), among other things. I also wish there was some way to avoid having to wait for the conveyor belt to completely clear before restarting. I think being able to restart fairly quickly is key in these sorts of games and the waiting period can disrupt people from really getting into a flow state.

Last thing, your post-mortem and videos were very much appreciated!

Dec 27, 2016 @ 2:22am

good job. it is difficult though. a little tough to judge depth when collecting new air.

Bemmu says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 5:23am

Amazing work, the gameplay is fun despite the simple idea and the gfx and audio are just off the charts great. Blender can be pretty confusing when it comes to skeletal animation, so it's impressive you managed to get a character with a walk cycle working. The soundtrack is catchy. You didn't need to go as far as to make your own font :D

Gipzo says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 10:19am

Nice little game.
Got some issues with air - it is too random and sometimes i couldn't even get one at the start.
Sometimes I was stuck in jump animation, which is fine - I could fly forever )
Art, animations are awesome =)

Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:57pm

This is pretty fun. It is tense enough to keep you interested, and challenging enough to keep you retrying. Sometimes you can't see the air pickups so you run out of air without realizing you missed them. I think I made it 36.42 seconds, but had to get lucky to do so. I'm not very good at this game.

pmarincak says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 5:48am

Pretty fun little game. I quite enjoyed it. :D

I did have some lag, which caused me to miss air, or be pushed all the way to the back of the treadmill suddenly.

I would suggest having a few more air bubbles appear right before death so there's a chance for you to make up and keep going. I had a long stretch where none appeared and ended up dying.

Great job for <24 hours :D

UekiShurei says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Fun game. Nice graphics too. Hard to believe it's a compo entry.

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 11:35pm

This is really charming, great graphics and music.
I like how jumping drains your air, too.

The perspective makes it a little hard to catch the air pockets sometimes, but it didn't feel as much of an issue as it could've been.
Instantly dying by touching the walls feels unreasonably tough though, not sure how necessary that is.

Nice work!

imphenzia says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 1:03am

Thanks all again - yes, the pistons are a bit too evil, but there is an explanation to why they act like that in the bug video (see link above) :) In the post-LD version they will wind (drain air) you but not instakill. My personal best is 117 seconds, but it's much easier on the Win version compared to WebGL (less lag.) Cheers everyone once again!

raaaahman says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 8:12am

Nice game, not so easy, good idea to add the emptying oxygen bar.

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 10:52am

I discovered your game for youtube, I started to see time lapses to see what people do, I just played their game, I really liked it. Very successful, great entry.

PS: Poor astronaut, I do not understand why his comrades do not help him by turning off the garbage system, I think it can be a good way to reach the goal. XD

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]