Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

1 biT Strike

by SamuelSousa - Jam Entry

1 Bit Strike is a retro black & white endless score-attack shoot’em up.

Suddenly humanity is doomed by an outer space approaching menace. It's your job to fly up there and Strike them down!
...and while you're at it, make a nice score.

CONTROLS:
Mouse Left Button: Click and Hold.

ABOUT:
The whole game happens in a One Room in GameMaker: Studio project.
I didn't make the Music during the jam but let me know if it sounds good...
Estimated Development Time: 30 Hours

CHALLENGE:
I manage to score 1670 points, I dare you to beat :)
Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#449Fun(Jam)3.13
#581Graphics(Jam)3.17
#625Mood(Jam)2.99
#633Humor(Jam)1.87
#676Overall(Jam)3.00
#824Innovation(Jam)2.03
#894Theme(Jam)1.69

Comments

Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:07am

Stylish, and I love the visceral feel with the SFX and screen shake. Crunchy!

MestR says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:57am

I don't get how this has anything to do with the theme "one room". But it's the jam, so w/e. Like the screen shake.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:57am

Nice music, good style. A bit hard to see enemy bullets.

Cosmic-Hawke says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Nice music and graphics, they work well together. I only got to 970. It was fun though, the ship controlled nicely

ccglp says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 12:34pm

Don't really in the theme but is a nice little game. The screenshake feedback is well done, but needs more explosions and content.

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:03pm

Great fun!

Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:14pm

The use of the theme is a little bit sneaky :/
Using the name of an abstract concept in a game engine as your implementation of the theme is a little bit underwhelming.

The music and sound is great, though, and I *love the visual style*

I felt like the controls were really lacking, though. The dead zone and large amount of acceleration hurt the feel, in my opinion.

Other than that, really fun game :)

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:26pm

@MestR @ccglp @TerraCottaFrog

Thanks! I know it doesn't fit very well in the theme, I got that sense too late in development. Guess I pursuit too much on technical side.

Asturk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Hey man, about my game not working on web version, i fixed now, i just accidentaly left on "draft mode" instead of "public mode" so only i could play the game, so really sorry about it!

I will test your game later when i got more time and vote / comment here again, if you can test my web link again, i will be appreciated! ;]

wrexialmt says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Cool, its fun, looks great, as others said, i dont get the theme in there at all, but overall its a nice game. I got around 1000 score max than a sneaky one shot me while he was dying and i didn't see their projectile -_-' ohh well.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Good wholesome 1-bit fun! Smooooooth...

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:50pm

I like the arcade feel and the effects when you shoot someone. It was a little boring after a while but it's still a nice little game!

Khud0 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Cool! I love the fact that you only need a mouse to move)

Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Very fun, looks heavily polished and I love the graphics/music. Doesn't really fit in with the theme though.

Asturk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Oks i am back now to test it!

Well really enjoyed the retro style in graphic and music in this space shooter, and its really fun to play. I just think you should let the airship follow the mouse cursor without needing to fire with it, but this don't compromete this game at all too.

And well, i couldn't see the ludum dare theme "one room" in this entry, but i think its ok. Very good game, really liked it!

piwicode says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Very nice.
I like the gameplay, it's nice to play!
Coherent graphics except for particles.
Why not the keyboard also as a control?
The sound is nice and you feel very well the shock of the shots.

dodormeur says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Very nice graphics :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Cool game. Nice basical aesthetic such older arcade games. However it could be more nervous. Well done ++

Mieeh says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Love the retro style!
Altough I can't really find the theme visible in-game, i get that the game is in one window inside GameMaker but perhaps connecting that into the gameplay could be cool.

PaidGEEK says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Good music, cool art. You shouldn't have to hold down mouse button I think.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:54am

Hey, we would love to review this game!

We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback.

All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter!

So what are you waiting for?

Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming

If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2

We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

columhiggins says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:21am

Great soundtrack and slick game play. Reminds me of one of the very earliest handheld games I played.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:30am

Quite solid entry, even if the connection to the theme is a bit loose. Music fits very well, by the way.

As far as controls go I'm not a huge fan of having to keep the mouse button down at all times even to move, as it feels a bit sluggish (do you have a mobile port in mind by chance?), perhaps using the mouse motion to move and then mouse down to shoot would work better, but that's me.

Nice job!

psychonull says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:42am

solid game, pretty simple awesome effects, audio and nice arcade style, well done my friend!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:57am

Ok music, missed the Theme (One Room), but it's going for the early 80's game style

elucent says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:57am

Very simple and satisfying! I also don't see much of the theme in this one, but it's certainly a fun little project!

Logicon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:12am

This game has great feel, even if the theme is a bit of a stretch. I love the screen shake on impact!

juegoman says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:23am

I like the music. The game is simple but satisfying.

lonewookie says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:52am

How does this fit the game? Gameplay is basic, but graphics and music are nice! Also like all the touches on the menu screen.

pioneergirl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:07am

I enjoyed the music, and the game was fun, too!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:15am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Kris with a K says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:36am

Appreciate the touch of hiding the score when you're in the top right and the music was really chunky. Controls need to be more responsive, tho.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:43am

The game was fun and the effects were good! I quite enjoyed it

c4m says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:46am

It feels great! but the relation with the theme is a little lossy...

except that, great work!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:13am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:44am

its stylish and i like the mood but i wish keyboard controls were an option and it needs more feedback for enemy destruction. Good job man!

ninjascript says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:59am

I'll admit that I had some trouble with the movement. I think I expected the ship to center itself on my mouse pointer, but instead it anchors its top side to my pointer when my pointer is above it, and its bottom side to my pointer when my pointer is below it. That threw me way off to begin with, but once I figured out what was going on it was all good. The simple graphics are stylish, and the music is nice and zen. Good stuff!

Cerberus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:17am

It was a really good entry. loved the music and sound effects. the controls where odd but good, thought it was a bit slow. i loved the graphics and the special effects. great work.

Tyranosaw says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:34am

Love the game, great and simple. Though it wasn't really that related to the theme, i enjoyed it. It was a bit hard to see the bullets.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:02am

Love the music, I didn't want to die because I wanted to hear the rest of the music! Simple graphics but nice and clean. Well done! :D

fafastudio says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:06am

I like it ! nice polish and controls but i can't find the link with one room, gamemaker is not an excuse ;p

jramell says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:23am

It's a nice game. I think it might benefit from a different control scheme on PC.

matthewpalaje says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:35am

I got 1020 for my score :)

The music was nice and the visual design was create. It missed the theme but it's very stylish and enjoyable.

BathPirate says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:20am

Nice music, good style. But not "one room"

CartridgeBlow says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:26am

I could not beat your high score, but boy was this what I needed first thing after this jam! So much stress! It as nice to wind down with something that had that "classic" feel. Good job!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:33am

A fine little game, though I wish there was more variety. Also, as others said, the music is really good.

guoboism says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:06am

... but not related to the theme

Lord_404 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:43am

Simple fun game, could have been much better if the enemy bullets had been red or some color that does not mesh with the background

caranha says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:10am

Yeah, the game is quite fun, I got a 900 score. I felt like the ship could be a bit faster, but that is part of the challenge, I guess?

I loved the song, and the general "look" of the game.

That said "one game maker room" is stretching the definition of the theme a bit too much, no? ;-)

calcitherin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:16am

COOL !! Love the monochromatic graphics .

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:31am

Haha, this was so fun. I like the music :3

hlavik211 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:08am

Nice game , Maybe The movement can be better .

FinGamer says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:13am

Fun little time waster. Nice music and graphics. The game doesn't have anything to do with the theme though.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:17am

Amazing! Glad to see I'm not the only shmup entry although yours is much more polished! Loved the music and general aesthetic!

LDP says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:30am

I like destroying things ! nice one

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:47am

Love the sound and aesthetics. Not sold on the controls, though :'(. Still had fun ! Good job !

Fixxel says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:55am

Good old shoot em up game with strong gameplay core :) Nice music, stylish pixel graphics.

Not following the theme of LD37, but oh well, it's 'Jam' category. It's fine :) .

HawkSandwich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:16pm

I feel you definitely captured the feel that I assume you were going for, nicely done

SoKette says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Very super nice, and fun ! Balance and control both great, just dive into the action !

kamranwali says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:33pm

Very nice game! Love the simplicity of the game. It works so smoothly. Keep it up!

zzapp says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Nice solid game, the graphics and sounds are really awesome.
Was of tonne of fun to play. Questionable connection to theme though.

sudojess says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Looks, good, good controls! Pretty difficult, and I like the music

kakarotsan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:14pm

I like the shake on a hit. Nice theme consistency.

However, it's hard to see the enemy bullets, it's not very fun due to the monotony, and the controls are very sluggish.

HappySaila says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:20pm

very bug free. Well done

velvetlobster says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:21pm

the music is thrilling and fun ... I would like to see more enemy types though

Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Fun game, would be great on a phone. The music is all right.

hugofock says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:33pm

Nice game, I like the music!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Controls well. Screen shake upon explosion is nice-- would have liked some really light impact sounds when your bullets collide with the enemies. Nice work!

Jungle says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Nice game, i really like the mood, graphs and screen shake, but i think it not fit the theme.

SleepyStudios says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Nice little game, liked all the little details like the particle effects.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Nicely done. A little laggy in my browser unless it was intentional to give it sort of a heavy feel? (Either way I'm not gonna rate it lower just because it's laggy on this old laptop.) The aesthetics are pretty good, but the gameplay is not super compelling. All together though, nicely done!

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Simple but good

hamtaren says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Game's ok, nice music :)

freyby says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Holy cow, this game is amazing! The music is beautiful, easy controls and cool art style, I really like it!

martincohen says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Love the feel when the enemy blows up, very smoothly done.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Wasn't to keen on the controls for the ship, I found it sluggish, but over all i quite liked it, was fun. i could barely break 900 haha.

Great graphics and audio also

Onarru says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Really like the game feel here. The SFX and screen-shake when killing enemies is super rewarding.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Not the original game. But my mood lifted. Good job!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:21pm

I don't know. I thought the LD37 theme was dumb enough that people should have felt free to ignore it. Has a nice polish to it.

ahmedmohi says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Nice work and good little polish things , but i would like the ship to follow my mouse faster or maybe always be at my mouse position but overall goodwork (Y)

Coauctor says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Nice little game! I like how music, game play and visuals mix together.

Casevse says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Simple but good game. Keyboard controls for the web version would be nice. Good work!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:33pm

There is not much to it, I played hundreds of similar games so I cannot really say it's innovative. I think you should try to challenge yourself more next time and come up with a more original idea. No offense, keep working :)

Moonlace says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Would be nice to be able to control the ship with the keyboard.
I like the music and and SFX, it also has a nice retro style look.

VeryBadBunny says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:12pm

I really liked the music. I felt the ship heavy, which makes the game a bit difficult. Congratulations for the game!

Michalidis says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Very nice game! I like the idea, simple graphics and the music combined with the sound :) it goes together just right :)
My only suggestion would be to make the ship fire and move without holding down the left mouse button, since the ship itself is not even following the cursor when the left-mouse button is not held down
Anyway, Good job !

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Great fun, but it doesn't really fit the theme.

Albert Viader says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:51pm

The theme one room does not correspond...but great job!
Anyway it was fun and addictive.
I don't know why but I am not able to play the music :(.

Datamosh says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:02pm

590 was my maximum score!

Love the music, but it has no relation at all with the "one room" theme LOL!

I can really see this game in a mobile device. Altough it felt slow, I enjoyed the feedback. I liked it!

(Why can't I vote for the Audio?? :( )

Kyrv19 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:30pm

I like the feel of shaking screen when you hit something, overall simple game.Also maybe you move to slow.

pcmxms says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Really loved the atari art style and music! Very stylish indeed!

Novodantis says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:06am

Great mood and aesthetics. Despite being pretty simplistic, it's tight and very well made.

Notester says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 1:59am

Cool game! I liked what you were able to accomplish with just a 1-bit style. c:

CoderDozer says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:37am

Simple and well presented, the music does sound good and complements the game play.

phoenix1987 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:42pm

While it doesn't fit the theme as much. It's still a great game, excellent sound, controls have a great feel and the shaky effect is well placed. Great job

Junber says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:48pm

That was quite fun and the music was great but enemy bullets were hard to see. While I see how you intend this to fit the theme, I don't really think it is really applicable here. (After a few tries I reached about 800 points.)

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:02am

When I heard the beat and shot ships I felt absorbed! If you continue to develop this, I died so soon that I didn't know if there would a boss or an evolution of the level beyond the first asteroids and ships.

Funske says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 1:19am

I really enjoy the visual effects! The game feels great to play.

Remicy says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:16am

Very fun game! Art and music are also great! Nice game overall.

Dec 16, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Simple, well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/jkCKtsfy-DM

Split82 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Nice and stylish. Smooth gameplay.

Sean says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Not particularly original or relevant to the theme, but a solid execution of a simple concept!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:58pm

Nice entry! The little things really make it. the screen shake and the music bring it home. Good work!

wowods says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 10:48am

Pretty simple game, but very stylish

skorpyo says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Pretty simple game but it's addictive. Music is good. And i love the visual style. GJ

MrTroy says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 11:21pm

850 with a really really crappy mouse. I wish there were a way to play with keyboard. I'm not sure if the movement speed would've worked out better for me that way.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Doesn't exactly fit the theme per se but other than that it's a very well polished entry.

ScreamRawr says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Simple game, but felt very polished! SFX and effects like screen shake really pull it together. Didn't really fit the theme at all, but I enjoyed it!

Obvious_San says ...
Dec 29, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Nice and juicy, I like it! The music is really good, it's a shame you can't be rated on that. The controls seem a bit unusual, but since there's not really any reason to stop firing, they work fine. Good game!

- randomhuman

Dec 30, 2016 @ 8:53am

Simple but very effective idea and well executed, even if I can't see the relation with the theme. Your music is super cool too!

automatonvx says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Stylish I like it, the control with the mouse felt really awkward for me personally compared to keyboard or controller, but I am guessing you wanted to try something that might also work on touch screen. Music was cool, but might get tiring after a little while.
Solid entry

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]