Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Stack Overflow

by DillonEA - Compo Entry

Stack Overflow is a game where you stack furniture up to the ceiling of a room, without it collapsing on itself. Items have varying stability, and if at any point the tower becomes too unstable, it will collapse part of itself.

Some items will cause you more problems than others. For instance, fridges will destroy everything beneath them that isn't also a fridge. The rest, you can figure out for yourself.

You can move your selection grid up and down with W and S, Up and Down arrow keys, or with your scroll wheel.

You can rotate your view of the game with A and D, or with Left and Right arrow keys.

You move objects by clicking on a square in the grid to pick up an object, and then click somewhere else to place it.

Additional Info: On the Windows release versions, you can change resolution and display flags by going into '\resources\app' and modifying the "display.txt" file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#25Audio4.00
#54Graphics4.07
#106Theme4.07
#156Innovation3.57
#340Humor2.32
#377Overall3.16
#470Mood2.65
#487Fun2.72
#1421Coolness26%

Comments

MestR says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 6:53am

A lot of stuff happened, and I couldn't figure out how to play it. Great soundtrack though!

kd7uiy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:18am

It's a bit confusing to play, but looks pretty cool. It's very chaotic and difficult to figure out what's going on.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:41am

Good graphics, but the transparency and speed killed it for me. Could do with a tutorial. CLOSE to greatness.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:22am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:46am

I liked the audio and the pace. I'm not sure I played it right, but I enjoyed it up til the buzzer!

Dogeveloper says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:52am

Nice models and interesting idea. Took a while to get used to the speed and controls.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:13am

Interesting concept with good elements. The game feels like it should be played with a combination of strategy and dexterity, but as it is dexterity is the only factor. I'd like to see more info on upcoming items to plan your moves.

ayame9joe says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:10am

Cool Game. I like the art and idea.

UltraRat says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:42am

Hehe... programmer puns as a name.

It'd be nice if the game had a bit more of an intro level. Feels confusing even after reading the instructions.

Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:00am

Its a little chaotic and confusing but good use of the theme man. Nice job!

JK5000 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:36am

The idea is super great, but it a bit chaotic and perhaps a bit too fast. The music and graphics is amazing. So overall well done.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Really nice looking game and Audio. Found it easier to play after reading the Help but still a little chaotic.

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Art and soundtrack are really cool
Good luck!

TubbyS says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Feel like it started to much to quickly, I think it could be a nice concept if you gradually increase the difficulty instead of just throwing everything at you at once.

Alex says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Wayy too confusing. I figured out how to play after a while, but there's just way too much happening way too fast. It's overwhelming, and makes it hard to concentrate on the gameplay. You should definitely try to slow things down, at least in the beginning so people understand how the game works.

Other than that, it's a solid concept. The audio and visuals were nice, and the rotation animation was pretty cool.

rubensoleao says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:37pm

A bit too clumped up, could have a simpler level.Sometimes I lost and couldn't understand why.
Since the game is very fast paced the up and down movements could be faster.

But if you did some tweaks i would def play it again

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Great music! Confusing and fast, and I didn't really like the mindless gameplay after I understood what i'm supposed to do. Froze for a few seconds every ~45 seconds, and after a few freezes my pc froze entirely and I had to hard reset it(Web version).

Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Once I figured out the controls, the game is pretty fun :)

imphenzia says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:21pm

I can imagine this is fun if you become good at it, or if you understand it better than I managed to. I read the instructions before I played. I tried twice and the speed and transparency and lack of tactile feel of selecting objects made it difficult for me to understand what to do. I re-read the instructions and tried another couple of times and then I managed to select and stack a few items and noticed how it started to collapse in places. Still, it was too steep of a curve for me to maintain interest. I really liked the visual feel and the rotation and isometric style was really nice. The music is great too! I think I would need a tutorial video =)

leondryaso says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:18pm

It's so fast that it's unplayable for me, I just can't think that fast! :D But I understand the concept and you've made quite a great job with the game itself. Nice graphics and sounds.

muzuka says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Pretty hectic and cool game! Had a lot of fun once I figured out how it worked.

mattparks5855 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Is a very fun game to play. Your graphics look very nice, and your sounds are great!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:42am

Wonderful take on the Tetris theme. Loved the music and the graphics. Initially, moving up and down floors was pretty tedious but I ended up getting the hang of it after a while. Wish there was some sort of ending after a certain score. Great job :)

Interface says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:58am

Nice music, good graphics. I like the idea someone said of gradually increasing speed, it would help to learn how to play the game.
Awesome entry!

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:04pm

It's a great concept, but it was too confusing for me. Maybe a slower version? Or having the ability to stop time? Or even a turn based version?

The implementation is really smooth, but I wish the controls were more precise, which is probably easier said than done for this idea.

Presentation was top notch though.

Overall it plays like a diamond in the rough.

M2tias says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Great art, I love the music! But I can't play the game :D
Everything just falls so fast and ends up in a huge mess. I think I'd like this game if it didn't have all the problems. Maybe it would work better if:
it was a lot slower, max height was lower, color of the column turned more red if it was going to fail, less furniture so it's more clear?

Dec 21, 2016 @ 4:44pm

Challenging game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/OCZRRN3xYEY

chipmonkey says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Need a bit more gameplay explanation,but the graphics are great and the filing room is a good concept!

Kalkatos says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 3:12pm

The game looks very well made. Graphics are neat, music is cool and gameplay is exciting! Congratulations.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]