Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Rent for 30 seconds

by Volcanic Giraffe - Jam Entry

Tourist season is coming! Our city is overrun with tourists, so, naturally, it's time to bring forward a new business model:
Rent for 30 seconds! Who needs more anyway...

Controls:
Mouse - buy and place new furniture;
R - rotate item while dragging;

Respect the needs of your guests and they will be glad to pay (and you charge, literally, for everything).
And don't forget to keep an eye on your RentAdvisor rank.

Team Volcanic Giraffe, ladies and gentlemen:
Alexey Grishin - code, music, sounds
Ruslan Kibets - code, PR
Anatoly Sazanov - idea, art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#41Theme(Jam)4.34
#55Fun(Jam)3.97
#65Humor(Jam)3.84
#93Overall(Jam)3.92
#131Innovation(Jam)3.75
#173Mood(Jam)3.75
#243Audio(Jam)3.46
#396Graphics(Jam)3.59

Comments

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:34am

Very well polished!

wujood says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:37am

I got a 4 ! :) NICE GAME!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:43am

Cool =) share your room screens, friends

Arugin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:09pm

As always, good job.

davisan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:26pm

Cool game! I Lol'd hard when saw the fights for the first time.
My room (well.. what's left of it): https://s28.postimg.org/g6pnltg7h/room.png

limmmmm says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:41pm

really hard! played several times and could not get above a 3!

lots of fun!

Pusty says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 9:02pm

Got a 4. Was fun to play

Naca says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 12:02am

Nice one! Very funny interpretation of the theme, and great replay value :D When I got only 1 star the first time, I felt like I needed another chance to do better.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Got 4 ! It was really nice and well executed, I liked it :D Loved the comments on the rent advisor screen, really smart !!!

bes_kurales says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Nice! Got 4 :)

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Very polished and smooth, loved the take on the theme!

griseouslight says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Got a 1. Wasn't expecting everyone to start kicking everything LOL

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Nice art and work in general. I was impressed with the high amount of client review you have there

Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:23pm

I liked this game a lot, it has a lot of feature, i like the difersity of animations and actions. The idea with the chat is great but i didn't manage tor read everything. All stars from me, the best game by now!

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Really well done. People seem real. It went so bad at the end, like everybody was fighting.. but I kinda enjoyed it :D
Great entry :)

kamranwali says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Fun game to play. I really like these kind of games. Also not sure why but at the end all most all of the tourist become angry mobs. I had good thing going with lots of beds, food and entertainment for everyone but still they got mad. I guess some tourist just trying to find fights. Overall good game. Keep it up!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Really great work! This is one off the best games I've played so far. It's cool to see the picture of the flat at the end. Awesome job.

Dec 15, 2016 @ 4:57am

Nice game! The screenshot at the end was a nice touch. And quite a bit of polish for being a jam game. :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 2:15pm

A great entry for a fun little game. Generally I don't like this genre, but I had fun playing it. The realisation was well done. One of my favorites for the 37th LD. I like when tourists fight for food. So real :)

ARuculaDoMal says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:04am

woah, really nice entry

Josho says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:07am

Cool game! great art! i liked the audio

Dec 16, 2016 @ 12:08am

Really cool game. Started out alright, but once everyone started breaking things and fighting my rating dropped to a 3. Womp womp. Good job!

erikiene says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Awesome! Great game, catchy music

freyby says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Nice game, concept is easy and well realized, confusing at first, but when you get what you have to do, it became more funnier to play, btw why are there are woman with a santa claus face in my hotel? :D

Dia6lo says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Great management game, it would be great to see more mechanics, like hygiene stuff. But the effect of "FFS, STOP FIGHTING AND CRUSHING MY STUFF, GEEZ D:" was pretty good.

arhpositive says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:59pm

This was awesome and I'm not saying that just because I'm drunk. Nope. It truly was awesome. Yep.

handoharken says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Really well polished, great use of the theme!

Ant0nin says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 5:59pm

nice concept.

guckstift says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 10:36am

This idea is hilarious :D
Also cool gfx, peoples look when they are angry or fighting xD
But somehow a bit hard to manage the satisfaction of my visitors, I can't read the messages so fast while also keeping the business running.

jotson says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 4:06pm

Very nicely done. I was pleasantly surprised. It kept me playing through the entire season.

raaaahman says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:08pm

Fun game to play! Renting a lone room feels weird, but as long as people pay...

yuigoto says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 11:59pm

Really nice and fun! Graphics and audio fit so well, and made me feel so satisfied! Watching the guests brawling was pretty fun too! Managed to get a 4.0 rating. :P

The game mechanic is really well written, easy to play and quite fun to watch! :)

Great work! :D

Jan 14, 2017 @ 1:44pm

Neat game! I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/-i4m-nVpQ4M

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]