Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

levelone

by dietzribi - Compo Entry

The player really wants to get to the second level but the developer didn't make it yet.
Really short, around 5 minutes!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.70
Humor4.52
#8Overall4.23
#11Fun4.17
#14Innovation4.29
#19Mood4.15
#142Audio3.34
#205Graphics3.46
#893Coolness46%

Comments

Alarmed Dino says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:28am

Amazing!

drludos says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Woaw, this is the most creative entry I've played so far!

I really love your idea, both fun to play and it does break the 4th wall! I love the art style and the general mood too (for some reason, the programmer makes me think about Attack on Titans's Colossal Titan), and it's filled with humor too!
5/5, this game deserve to be in the top25 entries of the compo IMHO!

t4u says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 2:46pm

The more I played it the more I enjoyed it. The jokes didn't really worked for me.

Works fine on FF, no lags.

Ps. Fun of Attack of titan?

Zee says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Great concept, worked really well with the theme! I loved how the eyes followed you around! Was a neat touch. It lagged a little bit for me (on Fire Fox), but nothing unbearable. Game play simple but enjoyable, but the story is what made me stick around.

Overall a solid entry.

bes_kurales says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Cool! Platformer is difficult :))))

Datamosh says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:22pm

This is really good!
I thought I could release the little character so now I'm super depressed :P
Great entry.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Haha! Really loved the the dialogue and innovation behind this. Although I can't vote due to my entry taking wayyy too long to make, I can really see how much effort you put into this

WarmLemon says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Man this is awesome. Attack of the titan reference and interaction with the player. Love it!

Kimen says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Hahaha! I felt like being observed while playing. This kind of situations really make me forget all around me and place my focus to the game only.

Really really enjoyed it!

Tauka says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Man, ingenious game, good work! Loved the narrative

hellfridge says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Very well done, I like this!
Difficulty is too high when the platform sequence begins.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:12pm

A well done entry! I loved the feel of the character's jump.

ema1ih says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:35pm

It was so fun, I liked the jokes and the idea so much and I love the way he jumps. I remember seeing your first gif with the game a few days ago and I was wondering what you can do with that big person. Great job ^_^

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:12pm

What a great, unique idea. Some of the best design I've seen in LD

V0odo0 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Really like it. Good job!

Platformer part has brought me out xD

dvdking says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:26pm

This was really funny!

vcyborg says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Great idea and design! Really fits with the theme and LD. One of my favorites. Well done!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:52pm

This is pretty amazing. The looming face is a great mood setter.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 8:45pm

I really liked the humor and use of space in this game. Graphics, collisions and sounds could use a bit of work. It flows very well so good job :)

tylerraz says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:05pm

This captures the essence of LD so well. If I could give this 6 stars in theme and humor, I would.

Sawtan says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Really creative take on the theme! So full score in that category! Great job!

Zawdit says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Super awesome game, love the humor of this one, and progression was sweet.

tylerdoggone says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 2:59am

GR8!!!

Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:09am

Wanted nothing more than to get in that door!

vg_iba says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Really good game, fun and humorous. If the character had some animations it would be almost a fullscore from me.

Patacorow says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:07am

I liked the idea of the narrator in the single room. But the "breaking the fourth wall" thing doesn't work for me when I don't options to choose from.
Felt like a linear story, a nice and funny one tho.

Overall I had fun playing so good job!
best of luck ya totah

Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Fantastic. I left a longer review on newgrounds

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 11:42pm

very fun! we enjoyed playing it on the Moosen stream! liked the 4th wall humor.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:39am

I love your take on the theme! :D

This is one of the most original games I've played this compo so far. It's genuinely funny AND fun. Amazing job!

Green Soda says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:05am

WOW! THIS IS A SOLID ENTRY! I GIVE IT 5/5
Good job, man! It took me a while to get past that platform level but I had fun all throughout!

badabooom63 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:06am

Oh my, it is super lovely and fun!
Enjoy it a lot.
Reminds me about Stanley Parable and Portal.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 10:56am

Very humorous and meta take on the theme, the LD, and game development in general! And no better an audience for it. Loved the interactions. Reminded somewhat of the Stanley Parable! Nice one.

skorpyo says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Just wow. This game is awesome. To think it's a compo it's just crazy. I just love everything about this game. 60 bucks procedural generation reference 10/10. Keep up the good work. One of the top games at this LD.

menip says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Loved it!

Ibispi says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:46pm

The best game. It crashes at the end though. (:D)

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:09am

I like such meta-stories about author and his/her creations. A lot of stuff done here in 48 hours, really great work!

Fidrik says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:27am

Really cool idea, had a creepy feel to it which worked well, fitting music too.

Good game

GFM says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Really funny! =D

This final boss could have used some slight anticipation for last boss attack (the hands, actually). Even though it's quite easy to dodge by simply moving sideways, it felt somewhat cheap not being able to intentionally dodge (instead of running away until I escaped it).

Also, the fire hitbox seemed too large. Perhaps it wasn't adjusted to the rotated sprite. A simple way to fix that is to, whenever a collision is triggered against the hitbox, run a second pass against a circular hitbox. That way, as long as the center is properly set, there will be no issues with rotating the sprite.

axoona says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:21pm

very innovative! And was really fun!
I loved the monster graphics too

Dia6lo says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Great idea, really liked the "whoops" feeling when he returns with that creepy hand smashing sound

rogual says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Fantastic entry. I laughed out loud several times. I'm really impressed how much you managed to pack in in 48 hours.

(I didn't like jumping on W but I suppose that's a personal preference, and a very minor nitpick)

You get my first 5 for humor ^^

Actually, a lot of 5s...

bentglasstube says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Wonderful game, loved pretty much everything about it. Apparently my playthrough was at a slow speed because of chrome but I still found it very enjoyable.

Dec 17, 2016 @ 9:03pm

This has a really great mood and surprisingly an eerie quality to it. Very simple and meta, but I had a fun time trying to get to that second level, because it felt unique. I really like that you broke it down into so many activities. Made it feel much bigger and worthwhile, making the ending very funny and not what I think I would have found disappointing otherwise.

tellus says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:15am

This is an amazing game. It was a lot of fun both in actual play, but also the mood. The switch in the controls in the beginning was especially funny. The platforming section was definitely very hard.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Totally cool.
I like the BSOD at the end. Very ambiental.

Good job!

tinyworlds says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Haha that was fucking great! Laughed out loud multiple times when playing the game :D
Love the whole meta-layer of it, of developer and creation. Reminds me at that old viral stickman videos.
Great game!

smbe19 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Really creative take on the theme.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Slow clap. That was a brilliant experience. This is better than most Jam entries. Funny, to the point and doesn't outstay its welcome. Bravo.

Cerno_b says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 9:59pm

This is one of the games Ludum Dare is made for. It is brilliantly made, introduces a fresh concept and is generally a joy to play.

The graphics are simple but effective, the humor is spot-on, the game is full of surprises and the ending satisfying.

I love the creepy sound the hands make when they hit the wall. Great job! Certainly one of my favorites this time.

keckles says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 10:11pm

great game i really enjoyed it

Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:07pm

This game sure was a lot of fun !!!! I loved the humor in it !!! With a good tutorial part when you get a new ability (the jumping failure was awesome XD).

The only thing that would have been nice is more challenge, because dying in the game is not punishing the player at all, just appearing again and continuing the fights :)

But I really enjoyed this short experience ! :D

Rixud says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 11:57pm

wow, the platformer part is really difficult, overall i really enjoy it

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:18am

This was a really cool game. I like it!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:31am

Fun ! It's a shame I didn't manage to finish something for this LD in time, I would have give you some shiny stars for that good moment I got playing this one. ;)

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:20am

So good! Loved every minute of it! Great balance of creepy noises and funny-because-its-true humor.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:40pm

I really like the fourth wall humour. Great job.

Dec 20, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Really nice game. Love the programer watching. I included it in my compilation video series of the Ludum Dare 37 games, if you’d like to take a look. :) https://youtu.be/Wd_0kXhgUR8

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Amazing game! One of the most creative games I have played in a while. Congratulations on this entry!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 1:13am

I enjoyed that! A nice idea, the story telling was simple but clear. I wish there was a bit more, or that the guy would get impatient during the first bits of the game.

The aesthetic you had going on was also very nice, reminded me of … zefrank's games (like http://www.zefrank.com/buddhist/index.html) for some reason! I really hoped the platforms for the platforming bit would come out the back of the room, just like the walls did in the beginning. But oh well :)

Well done!

g12345 says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 8:15pm

I've played it a while ago and it's a nice game. well done in 48 hours!

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 12:28am

Awesome game, had a blast! Loved the humor in this one! Solid entry. :)

kakarotsan says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:22am

The platforming part was really hard and I almost left the game at that point. I'm glad I didn't!

Great job!

kakarotsan says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:23am

The platforming part was really hard and I almost left the game at that point. I'm glad I didn't!

I found myself smiling a lot of the time. Great job!

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:24am

Good idea, fun to play! The platforming was kinda odd, maybe jumping is too jumpy haha
Great humor especially. Well done!

Dec 22, 2016 @ 1:25am

Played web version. Interesting concept and execution. Couldn't get past the platforming segments unfortunately.

Dec 22, 2016 @ 3:58am

Wow, great game! I'm amazed by the small details that went into it like the parallax on the enemies faces and the fact that the game creators eyes follow you, and it's all wrapped in a really unique game idea. Great job!

makiki99 says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 6:37am

Simply amazing.

Maple says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 8:07am

Hahah, I laughed at "I will single-handedly destroy you!". This was really cool. Good job!

dv49 says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 10:06am

The ending is just — Wow!

Knowledge says ...
Dec 23, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Quite innovative game. Death counter would be nice. Great potential for entire game. Would like to play full game.

Dec 23, 2016 @ 11:45pm

This is great. One of the most creative (and relatable!) entries I've played. :)

Music fits perfectly, I think, and graphics work well.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 1:11am

Clever, and actually got a laugh out of it. Platforming was rough though.

Minato4th says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 8:22am

Very nice and funny!

Dec 24, 2016 @ 9:17am

Love the writing and the approach to the Stanley formula. Really impressive how many different gameplay went into this. I couldn't manage the platforming though - made it almost to the top but not quite - felt to me like a too brutal difficulty spike all of a sudden.
It still feels incredibly complete and moody and all. Great entry! Would lpve to play a more refined version some time.

SUNFURY says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 9:40am

lol, great! had fun!
perfect for the theme

Stending says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 3:01pm

In my top 3 compo entry this LD!
Really great on every category.
Congratulations!

resty says ...
Dec 24, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Haha, this meta element is really interesting to see.
Nice work.

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 8:51pm

That was fun! Firstly, I played it online in Chrome, it worked great.
This was really creative. You managed to really make me feel as if I was a character of a game, controlled by the developer "god".
You might argue that it was more a story than a game, but I disagree. You did a perfect job! I'd love to see you extending it, but it is definitely worth playing just how it is right now!

BoltKey says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Wow, great compo entry. Loved the graphics, the face actually looked like a face and the bull actually looked like a bull. Good job with that :)

The audio was good too.

The length was ok. It all worked really smoothly and I didn't notice any actual bugs. Really polished.

One of the best I played so far.

ijzm says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 12:01am

Overall, this is a great entry. The best parts were the humour and mood. I love the dystopian edge, where the developer getting appalled that the character has a mind of its own and wants to escape. Though the graphics are simplistic, I think it suits the style quite well and really contributes to the humour, so I commend you for that. Audio, while dark and atmospheric, is a little on the darker side. I would have loved to hear a shift in the audio, maybe from a bright and hopeful developer tending towards his more frustrated and angrier side, and the music could get more dissonant as that happens.

But generally, I love the progression of the story. I was not expecting the end part. Super well done!

~Random-storykeeper

radmars says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 1:37am

This is awesome! I love the creepy soundtrack, the following eyes, the "story"... perfect use of the theme too. Only issue is that the controls aren't great (which makes the platforming more difficult than it should be) but that's not a huge deal. One of the best entries I've seen so far. Excellent work!

JK5000 says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 8:47am

Very well done.

HotByteDog says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 12:17pm

You should make a Netflix series out of this.
Very nice uncomfortable mood you put the player in.

Ping78 says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Nice idea, great mood and graphics. Fun game (and newgrounds reviews).

joe40001 says ...
Dec 28, 2016 @ 10:30am

Innovative and fun, it stinks how it runs on chrome, for some reason I played it all the way through anyway. I guess that just shows that it's still a decent game even when it's running slower than molasses.

Dec 30, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Oh I already play this game on NG, didn't know it was a LD game ! What an impressive and creative entry, especially for compo. Aesthetics creates a great mood, especially the sound design which is spot on and the artstyle is unique and really eye-candy. I love how the game is both moody and humerous, it's full of surprises, and how the theme inspired you at each step of the game progression. In fact this is great in each aspect, wonderfully polished jam game.

SamuelSousa says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 4:51pm

That was neat! Really intense and kinda comic :)

"I can still write code with my feet" & "ERROR:LevelTwo doesn't exist"
Great adaption of the theme, easy to play. Nice art and sound.

dobnarr says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Really funny. I appreciated all the jokes, and I loved that the bell came back. Very well-conceived and well-made, with a perfect ending. The platforming level was way hard.

stuffedgravy says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Best narrative in a game so far. The controls were a little raw, but that fits the story perfectly. The only thing that felt out of place was the bg music, especially when compared to the narrative/story/sfx. But if all I can find to complain about is the bg music, you're in a great spot! Congratulations.

panurge says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Awesome! Can't fault anything about this. Very creative indeed. 'Single-handedly' got the biggest chuckle from me. :)

Cosine says ...
Dec 30, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Nice entry! Liked how it was completed and had an end, it felt fully contained. Nice deconstruction.

rojo says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 2:28am

Haha, this was great! Loved the humor and the concept behind it.

Soundless_dev says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 9:11am

This is the funniest one I've played yet for sure. Sweet concept too, it's almost more of an interactive comic. good game.

yotam180 says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Cool! Very creative entry with a humorous mood, and, well, pretty fun too! Good job!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 31, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Had a lot fun playing this on my stream. The storytelling was excellent and for "one level" there was so much to do. Also the dialogue was humorous and top notch.

Somnium says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 7:21pm

Very good game!

The concept was an interesting take on the theme, and was very entertaining. The desperation of the creator was very funny, and the humor had a nice satirical bite to it.

M2tias says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 9:37pm

Great implementation of a very good idea! Suits the theme perfectly too. Graphic assets are pretty great but the animation is amazing! It was fun to play :)

FiloGC says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 3:41pm

Really nice

Jan 5, 2017 @ 2:40pm

Wow, that was fun! Thanks for not limiting the number of lives.

Jan 24, 2017 @ 5:46pm

Pssst - you have been featured in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdFFkPi40pQ

May 4, 2017 @ 11:29pm

I also included this game in an article of my favorites! http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-37-gwqmcmek

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]