Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Freeze & Crush

by levubivenatus - Jam Entry

In this game you can stop time and crush objects. That's it. Have fun ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#242Humor(Jam)3.16
#353Graphics(Jam)3.68
#353Fun(Jam)3.29
#403Innovation(Jam)3.19
#513Mood(Jam)3.17
#623Overall(Jam)3.09
#644Theme(Jam)3.19

Comments

Moonlight1337 says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:27pm

LEVUBIVENATUS

Artsicle says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Oh god that game
(Overall: 4/5 stars)

neiroval says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 8:58pm

it looks great :0

Cosmic-Hawke says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 1:31am

You don't want ratings for graphics? I think they look sick. The trippy colours make the smashing way more fun. The music is cool too

mpe3us says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Looks great - would have loved a full-blown game with this artstyle and the ability to stop time :D

raconteurnick says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:26pm

I really like the graphics here - the outline is an awesome effect! It's simple and straightforward but the time freezing is done just fine. Fun little experience.

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:28pm

This game is hilariously fun at first. I think if you made it a bit smoother it could be something

onixowl says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:33pm

cool music

Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Dude wow. Great job A+

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 6:00pm

Fun little game to break things.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 7:00pm

I had a nice moment :) Thx

#gmdsgn says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:08pm

I'm so impressed with mechanics and style, so ... different from other games. Amazed by!

Uliana Galich says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:10pm

I like the psycho colors :)

ElysRealm says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:12pm

The graphics look pretty good but I don't really see the point of the game.

patrickgh3 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Satisfying! Well executed concept, I bet you could do more with this somehow.

KappaIX says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:19pm

I had a lot of fun with this! Very cathartic. Looks good, the time stopping mechanic is well implemented.

My recommendation: Play while listening to metal. Great for relieving stress after work.

Would have loved to be able to work towards some sort of goal, but what you have implemented is great.

Well done! Thanks for sharing.

misaghDroid says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 7:45pm

I love the idea. i am sure if you work on it and add good features this game wil be really sucsessful

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Great shader on materials. I had fun playing it. Well done ++

Sean says ...
Dec 14, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Haha, well this certainly isn't a particularly deep game, but it's fairly well executed! I had fun with it.

Some criticism:
-I got the impression that all of the objects were shattering in pre-defined ways. Obviously it would have been more work to make the shattering dynamic, but it would have been interesting if you were able to smash things multiple times to break them into successively tinier pieces.
-There weren't any colliders on the pillars
-There was nothing preventing the player from jumping outside the level and falling into the negative space
-Enabling the time freeze cancels out any trajectories (i.e. if you shatter a pot then freeze and unfreeze, all the pieces fall straight down instead of continuing to fly outwards)

levubivenatus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:45am

Finally some criticism!
Thank you, @Sean

1)About smashing things: when you hit object, it destroys itself and spawns other objects, and new objects just have bigger colliders than they should, so they just collide and kind of push each other. So yes, since colliders are the same every time, shattering is not random. I'll try to fix it.
2) My bad, man, my bad
3) Ok, I'll fix it.
4) Man, that's nit cool. I do actually have a script that should save and apply velocity every time state changes. And let me tell you: it was actually working right (kind of). I even have a video of this script working! But, for some reason, it's broken now, and I haven't noticed it before it was too late.

Thank you for your criticism, that's what I've been waiting for ;)

levubivenatus says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 3:52am

An yea, about breaking pieces into pieces
I want to make this feature, and it is actually done on chairs and table, but the thing is, it gets REEEALLY laggy when you have thousands of pieces flying around. I'll try to do something about it.

thomz12 says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 10:28pm

Very satisfying game! Too bad the pieces don't keep their velocity when broken. Nice entry anyways!
Well done!

miaw says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Make a VR of this bruh.

And add a slow-mo too. Basically all the particles break in slow motion.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]