Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Video Games Are My Life

by Martin Vilcans - Compo Entry

If you're locked up in a room with no console, how do you play your favorite genre - a platform game?

Controls: A and D or arrow keys. Space to jump. Alt+F4 (or ⌘Q on Mac) to quit.

Play with sound and at high resolution!

Warning! Contains the F word!!!!!111!!!oneone

Updates:

Dec 13th: Now with a Mac version!

Dec 18th: Fixed a problem which could potentially make the jump button intermittently nonresponsive. Thanks pkenney for telling me about it.
Added Linux version. Added web version (Unity WebGL build).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.63
Coolness54%
#14Audio4.22
#21Innovation4.19
#33Theme4.37
#37Overall4.00
#51Humor3.70
#61Graphics4.04
#114Fun3.65

Comments

KobiHawk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 5:34am

Ooh, nice mood. Platforming was good once you get used to it, though the hitbox on the character didn't feel accurate for the spikes. No checkpoints was a bit annoying too. I found I wanted to finish the game just to get more of the story, so that's got to be good, right?

sn0uk says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:31pm

This is the only game so far to keep me hooked for 30 minutes. It really is worth failing over and over just to get the final story. I love the mood in this, great job. Also the fact that when the character flips, you can see it's on a stick because the stick is only on one side is a good feature.

mikesean45 says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:19am

The visuals really work in the mood's favor. Very nice sound and solid voice work. Nicely designed platforming level as well. For the controls, the acceleration/deceleration felt a bit off. Overall, definitely a standout game.

xlambein says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 9:16pm

The mood is amazing, but I find platformers very frustrating, so I didn't finish it. Still, it's one of the best games of this LD!

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Wow! Really cool idea!

Swordbrella says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 8:54pm

AWE-SOME. OMG. Great narration, great controls, great game. It looks fantastic, I kept going after every death, I wanted to hear the rest. Fantastic job!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Good mood

parias001 says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:39pm

Wow!
Just Wow!!! AMAZING!!!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Creepy, haunting, frightening. Controls are a bit stiff but this is going to give me nightmares. >_>

seano says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:04pm

Very nice, great idea and execution. the actual jumping was hard to judge but great in the time frame.

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Pros and cons at play here.

On the pro side, I really wanted to play this game more. I liked the setup, and the art style. The main character being paper on a stick and the background being scrawled onto a wall, it really worked impressively well. The moody ambient audio was a great additional touch, and I didn't even mind hearing the same vocal clips repeatedly. I had a preconceived idea of where the story would go but I was unsure and I wanted to find out.

However, there was something very wrong with the controls which dominated the experience for me. I was pushing the jump button and not getting a jump. I tested a bunch to identify specifically why, but I could not. I do see that you don't enqueue a jump command if I hit the jump while not quite landed from the prior jump, which I'd recommend. But it was more than that. Something about processing horizontal movement keys seemed to interfere with the jump registering, but I could not ID it through testing, sorry.

But effectively, the space bar only jumped about 60% of the time that I wanted it to in critical moments. Trying to jump-then-move didn't really work either because of the intense inertia applied to air control. So unfortunately, fighting the controls was the primary challenge, and that type of challenge gets me into a state of frustration. Combined with the total restart from beginning, I eventually lost my will.

Still, this game is a good entry. I think this is a great idea for a game with some solid execution on the art style and and a unique vision. You got me hooked and retrying to get to the rest of the story. If you could clear the way for me by streamlining the platformer controls, I would have played to completion.

pagi says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Wow really great!

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:21pm

OK! I was worried with the whole "jumps not registering" thing - what if it's on my end?

So I did go to another computer, and I tested. It does seem that the problem was with my wireless keyboard not registering, as opposed to your game. So apologies for the false alarm. I got much, much further this time.

Obviously I have adjusted my vote appropriately!

MementoGames says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 8:28pm

Amazing entry, dude. Killer (no punk intended) voice acting. Great use of the theme, with the art and everything. Incredible. The lack of checkpoint was kinda annoying though. Splendid work overall!

Dec 17, 2016 @ 11:06pm

@pkenney: It may actually have been because of the game's refresh rate. I found and fixed a potential bug in the code and built a new version of the game. Thanks for letting me know about the problem!

Sarge3v says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 12:00am

One of the best I played so far! The mood the narration and everything else just so good. Ending chopped the realistic feeling a bit but overall this is a great game.

Dec 18, 2016 @ 2:32pm

I really liked the aesthetic - sort of a Little Big Planet demake XD

Dec 19, 2016 @ 7:12pm

I like it! The floatiness of the camera adds some nice challenge to it too.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Restarting from beginning was a bit hash but the dialogue really helped to give purpose to a retry. One of the most innovative entries I've played so far. Nice work!

Louspirit says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:02pm

Exeptionnel mention for voice actor ! And the platformer was touchy ! Got to retry so many times, but I wanted to know the end :) Youre very talented!

nekoballs says ...
Dec 20, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Really great! The platforming was a bit frustrating sometimes. Failed so many times but I had to finish it.

Wan says ...
Dec 21, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Nice entry and nice idea for the Graphics. It's hard to innovate with a plateformer but you manage to do it.

However, a check point would have been appreciated.

Dec 25, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Really cool game! It kept me playing cause I wanted to know the whole story ;) Really well done! Congrats :D

automatonvx says ...
Jan 2, 2017 @ 1:34pm

Great entry, good job on thinking of a new twist for the platformer, kept me interested till the end. Ending was nicely done, suitably bleak. A checkpoint would have been nice, but fortunately due to a lifetime well spent I didn't really need it. The voice acting and atmospheric background audio were also really good.
Excellent

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]