Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Kiln

by ohsqueezy - Jam Entry

Puzzle game inside an oven.

In each level, the player pushes the blocks using the pellets on the border. Blocks slide to fill up empty spaces in the row. The player clears a path to the warp spot and pushes a pellet into it to move to the next level. This game is based on the sliding block puzzles in the Zelda series, sliding picture games and the Picross-like game Guru Logic Champ.

ARROWS: move character
Z: push pellet
X: retry level

(I suggest playing fullscreen or on the original web page because the up and down keys scroll the browser window)

All feedback is appreciated!

(update: whooops, fixed a bug that was preventing the game from loading in Firefox)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#99Fun(Jam)3.80
#231Innovation(Jam)3.52
#234Overall(Jam)3.64
#401Mood(Jam)3.33
#409Audio(Jam)3.00
#465Humor(Jam)2.53
#668Graphics(Jam)2.92
#711Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

Dec 14, 2016 @ 4:51pm

I love Sokoban style puzzle games, and I'll admit I was thrown at stage 2 because my brain is conditioned to think blocks can only move until they hit another block, but this game moves all blocks if there is a space to move them to.

parias001 says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:12am

The puzzles you did where beautiful!! You are really great in them.

akirassasin says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 7:25am

Sweet minimalistic graphics! Character controls are a bit confusing.

Giardi says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 3:02am

I really liked this one. He is simple and fun.

wrexialmt says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:07am

Another gem of a strategy game, good job if you thought of all the puzzles ;)

MrTroy says ...
Dec 18, 2016 @ 1:17am

I refused to stop playing until I cleared all of the puzzles

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:03am

I actually did design the puzzles. I considered looking at levels from Sokoban games or Zelda, but the mechanic is just different enough that I wanted to do something unique to it.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:57am

Simple, yet so engaging. I love puzzle games, and you did a good job on some ofthose, with a very simple mechanic. Good job on the puzzle design.

I think the time delay between each command could have been shorter, especially right after moving a pellet. I couldn't move right away and it was frustrating to me. Also, the control to go from the top or botton to the side were not always working as I thought they would.

I may be a bit too difficult, but I think fast and I love puzzle that I can rush through: if not, I get annoyed easily...

But still, it was a great puzzle game: some nice brain teaser there.

cushycode says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Simple and Lovely gameplay. I really like your minimalist art style and funny sounds.
Well done!

matiz982 says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Nice Sokoban style. Logical game and challenging. Solid entry!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 6:58pm

That's a very interesting idea! Graphics are nice (even if the web background is a bit too strong for my eyes), and puzzle design and pacing are great.

Awesome job!

mmason says ...
Dec 22, 2016 @ 3:36am

good game and fun, but the audio is kind of hard to listen to

ijzm says ...
Dec 25, 2016 @ 6:26am

A pretty engaging puzzle game. Interesting how multiple blocks can be pushed down at once. I like the sound effects for the most part, but the introduction sound effect is quite grating. Also the wrap around ability by pressing the opposite key to flip to the other side threw me off, but I can see why it would be a convenience.

Finally, I'm not really sure how this fits the theme, to be honest. All levels take place in one room, I suppose?

~Random-storykeeper

Coauctor says ...
Dec 26, 2016 @ 10:00pm

At first I concluded that victory is a fail because of the win state sound but then read the rules again. :D

Nice little game! This mechanics can be used in variety of settings which is cool.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 27, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Your games have a very nice 90's feel to them :) This is no exception. Simple but enjoyable.

urfbound says ...
Jan 3, 2017 @ 2:54am

Really enjoyed this one! Loved the GB/game-and-watch vibe and neat twist on sokoban. Took me a minute to figure out that blocks could push one another, and another minute to figure out that that was sometimes a problem! :P. Puzzles were well thought out, and I thought the sound and graphics were really polished. As with any puzzle games future iterations could include new mechanics, but I would definitely play a hundred or so of the puzzles like yours without getting tired of them. Great job, hope you enjoyed your ld!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]