Ludum Dare 37 — December 9th-11th, 2016 — Theme: One Room

Well, Mike ran in to problems getting ldjam.com working properly with about 12 hours left in the Compo, so this is the backup plan.

Back to Browse Entries

Nuclear Arms 3: Atomic Reckoning

by Logicon - Jam Entry

Craig Killbane is back! We last left our hero attempting to destroy the trash star. In the process he was sucked into a trash singularity and stranded in deep space. The ships engine's have been disabled and an army of alien skeletons are invading to take his nuclear technology. You play as Killbane as he attempts to fix the engine while fighting back the alien menace

This game follows the adventures of Craig Killbane. You can check out the first 2 parts of the adventure from our past Ludum Dare submissions:

Nuclear Arms:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=10322

Nuclear Arms 2, Garbage Day:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=10322

This was our 3rd Ludum Dare game jam submission. It was also our first foray into making a 3D game. Our past experience allowed us to focus on trying some new things and this was the end result. We hope you like it!


Try and fix the ship to escape the alien menace!

Controls:
WASD - movement
Spacebar - jump
E - Interact/Pickup/Drop object
Left Click - Attack
Right Click - Throw held object

Credits:
Chad Gerein - Combat scripts
Logan Marks - Level Creation, Builds/Optimization, Asset Implementation
Brodie Beaman - Main Character scripts, Tasks Scripts, VO editing
Mitchell Maclean - Tasks Scripts, Assets, Voiced Killbane.
James Burnes - Music
Taylor Seely - Story Board, Sound finder man
Brenden Roach - Story Slides

Source code repository here: https://github.com/Logicon211/LudumDare37

Models/Animations were found entirely as free assets on Unity store.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#71Humor(Jam)3.82
#143Audio(Jam)3.72
#225Overall(Jam)3.66
#291Fun(Jam)3.41
#348Graphics(Jam)3.70
#386Theme(Jam)3.68
#394Mood(Jam)3.35
#566Innovation(Jam)2.90

Comments

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Wow you made quite a good one in such short time, great work

Zambini says ...
Dec 12, 2016 @ 11:27pm

A bit of character in this first person hidden object game. Well done folks :)

Megalink says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:05am

The story and voice acting is hilarious! Good job guys!

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:08am

Loved the bomb disposal sound. Pshhhh

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:20am

Not bad, I like the unique mood and story going on, good work!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:34am

Wow that was a lot of communists in one room. I had like 30 chasing me or something. Wish I was there though, my kind of people. Playing the bad guy is a good idea though! Clever! I'd pick skeleton communists over liberal freedom fighters any day!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:36am

great game

Dec 13, 2016 @ 2:54am

I love the skeleton creature looking guy! :D
A+

nwestninja says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:03am

Great Game! Love the voice acting. Could use one of those nuclear arms myself ;)

Dec 13, 2016 @ 3:39am

Hey, we would love to review this game! We will do a run through of your game and we will also give you feedback. All games will be video reviewed, written reviewed, or game played and the content will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter! So what are you waiting for? Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: http://gamegrapestudios.com/gamegrapegaming . If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): https://goo.gl/forms/1JArGP4uiCJa71DP2 . We can’t wait to play your game! See you there!

shnitzhell says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:05am

Very nice!!!

zriL says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 4:14am

Feels a lot like good old Doom :)

ThatGuyMiniB says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:05am

Very nice game for the amount of time! Loved the story and art as well as the audio!

Levin says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 5:13am

awesome game! This room is packed. congrats!

BoneDaddy says ...
Dec 13, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Killbane has some sick arms Commander President. Good to see more first person games without the shooting kind of guns. Hands for life.

Found the interacting of objects (E to pickup) to be jenky, could be smoother. Eventually I was overrun by aliens.

Dec 14, 2016 @ 3:40am

Hahaha. I got silver-surfered. Well done, sir.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 15, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Nice job.

Your assets are nice and detailed. Music and Sounds are great, but a way to decrease the volume would be nice.^^ The voice acting is fun.

The game is not buggy, you can easily interact with everything, the goal and the way to achieve it is pretty clear.

Skulls are a kinda hard to kill, making the game a bit hard towards the end when there is a big swarm of them.

Ednei says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:41am

very sofisticaded!!
Great work with a short time like this!

Ednei says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 2:42am

Very cool, gratz!

Dec 16, 2016 @ 3:10am

pretty cool game!! i like concept

Vertigon says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:28pm

Nice 80's Duke Nukem presentation. I liked all the parts and the exuberance y'all tackled this with. I wished the fighting was better, although it improved slightly when I realized that I could throw so many things. The graphics were good and even the weird 2D art was charming.

Splendidus says ...
Dec 16, 2016 @ 9:37pm

The game is excellent. Very interesting mini story.I'm beginning to not really understand what to do, but then I saw that on the wall are all described in detail.Great. It was very difficult to move all the bombs, skeletons become very much. The Game Is A+

Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:17am

Fun game. Really liked the skeleton animations. Dialog was good too.

Protrance says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 5:35am

Really impressive. Nice work!

erik says ...
Dec 17, 2016 @ 7:23am

Cool, there is a lot here for a jam game! I would have liked it if it were easier to attack the aliens. Really nice visuals!

SpaceRelated says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 12:57am

The phone call was great. I loved the anti-commie theme, very funny.

Dec 19, 2016 @ 1:16am

Great job! The skeletons get out of hand real fast. I couldn't get all of the bombs in the disposal before dying. But I did have fun. I really like the diagetic UI you used to display the objectives to the player. Great stuff!

Mr.Chippy says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 2:54am

I really like the humor and the game looked really nice. It was a lot of fun. It was well explained. My only complaint is that It took a long time to load so dying was kind of annoying. I really enjoyed it though.

velvetlobster says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:20am

The story introduction is quite funny. Also the skeletons are really well made.

onixowl says ...
Dec 19, 2016 @ 4:21am

One of the best game submitted. Really loved it!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]