Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

A Blind Man's Text

by TheSlovenianDevil - Jam Entry

It is the year 1513.
One day, in front of your house you find a 50 year old printing press. Since you don't have a job, you decide to start a business.

This game isn't finished and a lot of big components aren't implemented in this build. For updates follow the itch.io page

CONTROLS: Click on the letters to type ( to use the printing press they had to stack each letter on individually ); Hold SHIFT for uppercase letters.

DOWNLOAD: To download please scroll down the page and click download.

Downloads and Links


Comments

MrBrenan says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:48pm

huh... hard ?
A bit hard and useless game but could be fun.
I copy exactly the text on paper but doesn't work ?

Also, great job :)

aschab says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:48pm

I dont really get the concept. I get that you have to type something, but what? if its a riddle you totally baffled me.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:24pm

aschab like I said in the description A LOT of components that will be in the finished game we cut out. This build is only the core function of the game.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:26pm

MrBrenan Thank you!

Josho says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:27pm

I tried it on Windows Chrome and it was all zoomed and i couldn't click anything

Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Josho please click the fullscreen button. Itch.io doesn't support the resloution.

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:18am

Yeah, I'm not really sure what the idea is? Mostly just hunting and pecking so far. The paper being in the way of the keys initially also threw me off for longer than I would care to admit.

acotis says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:30am

Like KevKevOnFire, I had trouble figuring out that I could move the paper, and I also tried quite a few times to simply type the texts on my laptop's real-life keyboard, since I noticed that my real-life shift key shifted the letters in the game, so I thought that the game would also detect my other keypresses.

To be honest the game is a bit boring/frustrating at this stage, but as you say it's not finished. I'd be interested in seeing what this develops into, as I like the idea.

adaFish says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:02am

Pretty confusing. Took me a minute to realize I could drag the paper out of the way. Also, maybe more clues. Maybe I am dumb, but I couldn't figure any of them out. Also, I would like to know the answer if I get it wrong.

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:51am

Would like to see a post-comp version of this! I didn't know how to play what was there, though it did look intriguing.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:18am

I will wait for the latest version I don't quite understand what to do

Findor says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:04pm

It can be a good game :) With good tutorial it would be better. But I know how it is when you have a big dreams about your game and 72 hours are too much :D My game isn't finished too.

Pikkufighter says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:21pm

a lot of mechanics are not working like the preview.
But the game has potential just need a little more speed to it

Sep 11, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Not finished yet I think ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]