Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Dizzy Mayan

by aschab - Competition Entry

You can play any lvl, but playing in order its easier for the learning curve.

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Dizzy Mayan is a puzzlish game where you have to put the last piece of a calendar maya in its place. Click to swap between inner and outer rings.

Please try the game ! I'm always looking for suggestions and advice.

-7 LEVELS

This is my first ludum, used haxeflixel, photoshop, audacity and panic induced adrenaline. I'm really eager to any suggestions.

If I recieve a good feedback on this Ill make a fun level pack after the compo.

My website; www.aschab.com

::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Downloads and Links


Comments

psilon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Fun game, i liked the puzzles, only the arrows(darts) was too hard too fast to avoid. Graphics ar great, music too.

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Hi it's a really good game. Well done.
Still want to point out that the use of art is totally violating the rules of Ludum Dare Compo as the wall, the mayan calender and the row of carvings are classic images easily googled. Read about derived works at: http://ludumdare.com/compo/rules/ ... still, there is no ranking so it kinda doesn't matter but You might want to know that for future participation.

amras0000 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Well, this is bloody good. The game mechanics are intuitive and fun, the level design takes advantage of them without being too grating/repetitive, and the art is absolutely stunning. I had to double check the page a couple times to check that I wasn't playing a jam game with premade assets. The music's very nice to listen to as well though it did get just a tad grating at the end because it's a short loop. I liked the changing ambient backdrop depending on which loop was spinning.

If there's any complaints I could level at the game: the arrows' hitbox was a bit unpredictable. I'd have liked to have, say, a section of the wall painted with a faint red color to indicate the danger zone. And at the last level, you just change up the colors of the lines without warning and scold the player for it! That's hardly fair. If you're gonna make a puzzle game you shouldn't arbitrarily punish the player for following the mechanics you've been explaining to them all this time.

aschab says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:43pm

@amras0000 Thanks! the lvl design was a lil rushed, but I might with more calm do a lvl pack, and fix the arrow hitbox and put them in higher lvls because I think they're really hard :p. Thanks for playing!

seurimas says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:56pm

I really like the polish of the balls clinking together. Level progression was pretty solid, though I feel like the arrows could have used a single-mechanic level, rather than arrows+switch.

Some other way to avoid arrows would have been nice too, perhaps they'd only hit you if coming from a direction based on your wheel's current turning direction, but that's just a random thought. As it stands, I couldn't really get past the arrow level...

kingpirux says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:09pm

an error prompts when i start but the game goes anyway. It was hard to get that i can jump from one circle to the other if i do it in the right time, maybe a tip in the lvl1 could help :D but great lvls!

Cawrtz says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Interesting game and good use of the theme.
Definitely 5 star on game mechanics!
Two minor issues: it's really hard to switch gears (pixel-perfect?) and there is a "next level" button on the death menu haha.
Overall great work!

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Very innovative gameplay! I would have liked to see more puzzley variations on the mechanics. Was occasionally a bit tedious to move the cogs around (and especially with arrows involved).

Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:53am

Really cool mechanics!

Deive_Ex says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:43am

The graphics and music aren't the strongest point, but I guess I shouldn't judge too hard on that. Aside from having a Mayan calendar, I don't see much of the theme in the game.
Aside from that, though, I really liked the mechaninc! It's pretty interesting and quite challenging! I kinda wish there was more levels, haha. The one with arrows was kinda hard.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]