Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Aqueductus

by wheerd - Competition Entry

A sokoban clone, where you need to move the aqueducts to get water into the towns' wells.

Downloads and Links


Comments

zhtroy says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:10am

The gameplay is solid and fun. Also the game is closely related to the theme: Ancient Technology. The colors make a nice combination.

conrad123 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:28am

This game is neat! I love the water animation, and the artwork in general is fantastic. Great job!

peterthehe says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:52am

Brilliant game. This would make an amazing mobile game - like 'Where's My Water' but infinitely cooler. Like all the above players, I feel graphics are brilliant. Great work!

spacewarp says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:01am

Good puzzle game fitting the theme nicely. Controls slightly finicky but overall nicely done.

QwaKlak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:05am

Very good logical game. Looks nice. Mb in the future Android or iOS.

maffydub says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:48am

Nice graphics - gameplay seems very similar to classic Pipemania!

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:58am

Looks nice, and I'm always up for a pipe game, but the 2nd level I tried to play the movement mechanics didn't work on a lot of the blocks for some reason. (:Spaghetti)

Ido_king says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:51pm

looks good but the secend level was very hard for me if you make evrey level a bit easier the game will be better and good idea

lonesurvivor says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Nicely done! Good graphics in a good old moving block puzzle game. The water takes a bit long though to proceed through the blocks in my opinion.

c4m says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:18pm

Very nice game! i love this kind of pipe games.
good work!

Sun-Wukong says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Pretty one.
But it's too easy in the current state, and you need more levels!

Vegevan says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Hey I just played your game ! A first sight, I thought it was really easy, but with the second level, I understood the role had the cities and woods :P
The graphics are really fine and works together, the water animation is awesome; but the time to detect connected-and-filling-cities water is a bit long, so getting quicker than 25s for the first level is hard for a few clicks. Anyway, just a remark :p
Finally, the only suggestion I could do is to highlight the movable blocks from the statics ones; in spagettis level, I needed a lot of time to find which blocks could be part of solution and which are actually obstacles :)

I had fun with your game, thanks for it ! :)

SamuelSousa says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:00pm

I clicked several buttons in the main menu nothing happened ...
i felt it was broken... But then i pressed some other buttons and it was working.

The gameplay is working solid. Had a hard time figuring how to move my first piece but after that i WAS OK. If you could drag and drop controls would be best in my opinion... but I understand does might be too complicated for a jam.

Good job!

DiegoCTorguet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:01pm

I love the design work it has. One of my favourite games so far!
I would have added a longer or different ambient track because when you are playing for a long time it gets a bit annoying.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:05pm

I really like the simplistic art style, and the pipe game thing is really fun too.

As suggestions of things you could include for a future version, a speed up button would go a long way to making the later part of each stage nicer, and I've also had some trouble selecting blocks one square away from the selected block, so maybe lifting the hitbox to be closer to the top would help there?

Overall, a solid little game!

RafaCP says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Nice game, good graphics and sounds.
Missed the music.
Also I saw no point in having the aqueducts and wells to fill up until I noticed that you can actually fill an aqueduct, move it to one well really fast and have it filled. Repeat it a few times and you never need to make a complete path between the sources and the wells.
Not sure if it was the intended mechanic but it sure was fun to fill a well with a leaky bucket. =D

CMLSC says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:31pm

This is probably my favorite puzzle game in this LD. :P
While I don't usually care for puzzle games(games like Portal are an exception), I actually enjoyed this one. I noticed a few glitches though. Also, the graphics were pretty good.

wheerd says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:41pm

@RafaCP that was definitely not intended, but I didn't manage to fix it in time :/ I would have to overhaul the whole water distribution system. I intended it to be flow based originally, i.e. that a well would need something like 5litres/s and if you connect it with a source that also has 5l/s, you win. But I don't mind if you cheese a level, you can select them all from the start anyway ;)

svyatozar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:23pm

Cute game, very finished look. The graphics is amazing, it reminds me Caesar IV game.

Ghen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:31pm

awesome, i love this kind of game, the puzzle difficuly quite nice, and that you can chose the level is a plus
the SFX and art style match quite well

but a bit problem tho, i find that clicking the aquaduct somewhat bit confusing, sometimes its register and not, and sometimes even tho it seems register, when i try to click to move it, its unregister the aquaduct again, but it probably only me

Bogden says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Well executed puzzle game. Would have liked to see more interactions with the water mechanics (maybe growing more stuff when water falls on it?), but overall a very nice job. The different water levels showing different graphics was a very nice touch.

Pretty good graphics as well, though a few of the textures don't quite seem to match up with some of the others in terms of resolution.

awerar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:48pm

I really enjoyed the game, but the description is very unclear and i didnt really understand what i was suppossed to do. Great game though. I liked the art and the idea!

PetterBergmar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Fun and nice looking game. I thought it was pretty clear what to do since the name is aqueductus.. Well done in such a short time.

leuus says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Good job! The game is really nice and the design too. The water's sound is quickly annoying, too bad there's no music. And the system of level is a bit unusual. I think I prefer when the player unlock progressively the levels and when the levels get more and more complicated.

AWOL says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Nice Work!

tonynogo says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Very cool! Congratulations!

amras0000 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Cute game. The art is pleasant to look at, the sound design works well for the theme, and the puzzles are well-designed and fun to complete. I got the impression in some of the later levels that people would be much more forgiving to sliding block puzzles as a whole if they had more than the one spot open. Having a couple spaces to work with just made things so much less of a headache and so much more enjoyable.

I don't know if it's a bug or intentional but the speed at which water flows seemed really inconsistent level to level and even block to block. I'm almost tempted to say that water flows /slower/ where there are a lot of paths converging? Feels like it should be the opposite.

Overall, nice work. Had quite a bit of fun working these out.

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Very Nice i love your Game Good Works )=

hawkinslance says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:58pm

The are is very good. I actually like the level design and the concept of the game the most. It fits the theme so well! This would make a great mobile game.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Very fun and related to the theme. Not sure if it's intentional but many of the graphics look blurred.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:21am

Neat little puzzle game. I definitely think that this is one of the better uses of theme I've seen this Ludum Dare. It was cathartic to watch the water flow after solving a puzzle, though the water would sometimes take a bit too long to reach its destination. I also like how I could pick any level I wanted to so I could skip levels I couldn't figure out. I would've gotten stuck and not able to progress otherwise. Overall, this is a solid entry.

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:21am

A nice little puzzle, with good level design. I have to echo the desire to speed up the water flow, didn't like waiting around for the water to fill up.

Xakkar says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:35am

Nice game)

AWOL says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:58am

Neet this actually played on my Android phone

BossHunters says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:09pm

Great idea and implementation of the ancient tech theme. I like the waterfall animation.

AWOL says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:22pm

I actually came back to tell you this is one of my favorit games so far.

Jadernak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Nice graphics. The water could flow just a little bit faster :)

bushmango says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:41pm

I like the game but I got Stuck on crowded.

Drury says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Holy crap this takes me back to Caesar 3 times, building aqueducts and having them torn down by barbarians.

Really cool and relaxing, really liking the water visuals and sound effect. The hitboxes are a little bit counter-intuitive, I tend to misclick a lot.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Simple, fun, on theme. Although the sound was very simplistic, it really fitted the game well. I agree that the water sound was very relaxing.

Suggestions for improvements:
- it wasn't immediately clear how to move the blocks, make it super obvious
- i didn't understand the filling mechanic? i.e. when you complete the puzzle you have to wait for the well to fill? i would prefer if it just ended immediately

thanks for making a game!
culturebosh

Steven Miller says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:22pm

Really good puzzles and art. I think the movement could be improved and I think it would've been better if the water had flowed faster, as on the final level I had to wait for over a minute for the solution to complete. I did find the puzzles to be on the easy side, and I never got stumped, but I really enjoyed the mechanics and would love to see more levels.

jonask says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Simple and well use of theme.

Sep 6, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Fun, well made game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/lT_5Gj1NQIo

mat1er says ...
Sep 23, 2016 @ 4:29pm

Great, and gameplay is good. The only "problem" is that the water end take way to much time to be fullfilled...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]