Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries


by RttStudio - Jam Entry

Melthain is a 2D platformer where you control 4 characters to destroy big monsters. The goal being to destroy an ancient artifact in the lowest level of a temple.

requirement - a rectangular display (16:9 or something similar)

Royal Tea Time Studio is a solo dev studio. This is my 3rd time participating in a game jam. Everything in this project was made by me and I did not used any old assets. I did run out of time a bit. I planned to do way to many things. This is why I don't consider this game completely finished. Characters are not animated, sprite could be improved, I wanted to add more classes, and the level design is nothing like I was originally thinking. But the main point of this game was to learn new things. The last 2 game jam I took part in, I made turn based strategy game. So this time I tried to do a more action-ish game. I also tried to include as much my twitter follower in the process of making this game.

Thanks to my followers -
The warlock class was added.
The artillery class was added.
characters can't move while jumping.
characters pass through each other.
The snake idea.
And more.

Thanks to everyone who made suggestion and supported me.
Also thanks to Nine for this soundtrack.

Music made by Nine -
Twitter :
email :

Downloads and Links


Senor Salty says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:04am

A very interesting concept,but executed a little poorly. I would suggest assigning each team member 2 keys to use their abilities,to control a little easier.

PanicTheFirst says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Nice concept. The controls were a bit confusing but I really liked the enemy design. Good job. :)

RttStudio says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:56pm

@Senor Salty @PanicTheFirst Thanks for your replies, I know the controls are confusing, I had a lot of problem with that. I tought about the 2 keys for each character, but then I would have been to similar to mmorpgs in my opinion, having 1 to 8 being spells, you would only have to button mash. But I agree totally that the controls are complicated. At first I also had idea that would emphasize on the character selecting ( picking up items, actions...) But run out of time. Anyway thanks for your comments :)

Findor says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Nice, I like it :) I see you had the same idea about controlling more than one character :)

stenol says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Nice little game. I have some difficulty with the control at first but when I get it, I have fun. Great work.

bigpan says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:47am

Interesting concept! A little hard to control the 4 characters but nicely done! :)

Insality says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:58am

The game concept is perfect as it is. Great nice game prototype, but you should do it more playable and fun
The high attack cooldown and not so good controls make me less fun from the game as it can be!

But the done job is great and you are super cool! Make it! Do it! You can do nice games ;)

Zee says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:14am

I assume you were rooting for the "controlling many" theme :) The concept was interesting, and with some more work and polish, it could turn into a neat squad based action game. I liked having to form a team while thinking about how each class complements each other.

My main complaints are you don't really have to control the party, and can solo the game quite easily, partly due to the awkward party controls, and partially due to being able to rush to the object since it's directly below you. It can be hard to micromanage your team's position, and as a result, it's difficult to use them properly. I feel like you had a good idea for a strategy game, but converted it to an action one without having a real sense of how the controls and managing should work as one.

I feel your pain (and I assume every participant does) on running out of time. It's a good concept. Focusing on how to manage your team, making teamwork necessary to do well, and how the game should control, could turn the interesting concept into an interesting game.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:15am

Really liked the concept and the music - I think you should have picked a cover photo that does the game more justice! I am so bad at multitasking - I really sucked at this :p But I liked how you could cycle the camera focus between characters, really clever. Great basis for a game there.

- Vicky

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:20am

A bit too challenging to try and control all those characters at the same time. I got wiped out by the first blobs a couple times before giving up.

yotam180 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:58pm

I liked the concept, but not the implementation... Controlling the characters is quite difficult, and that makes the game not fully playable. Graphics are in the category of programmer art tho. Music is nice

qikcik says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Good Game :D

MrErdalUral says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:47pm

Managing a 4 man squad with these game controls is too hard. In my opinion, it would be a better design choice if this game was turn based or the squad size was smaller

RttStudio says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:18am

@MrErdalUral I know the controls are messy, but I didn't make this turn base because the main point was to make a platformer but I wanted it to be different. So making it turned base would be against my main objective. But I thought of making the party smaller, maybe 3 characters would be better. Thanks for playing :)

rodancheg says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:22am

Good mechanics, but have lil bugs, and controls are not pretty good.

dissonent says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:00am

The concept is really cool, but like many other said, the controls could use some work. With some fine tuning of the controls, I could see this being a game where it just keeps getting better the more you practice and the better you get at controlling each of your 4 chosen characters.

Keep working on it, the concept's got potential, but as many said, the execution could use some work.

Daniel says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Good idea, I feel that you could have added more animation towards the characters, and with the people your not controlling have a npc control it, and as mentioned before the controls could be worked on a bit.

gonutz says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:58pm

My window was not wide enough to display everything so the game just cropped it. Consider automatic letterboxing for this case, meaning that you make the game smaller and put black bars on the top and bottom or on the left and right edges to compensate for the extra space.

I played it a second time, choosing a wider window but with a smaller resolution. This time the camera was above the characters so I only saw the menu at the bottom and the sky above the characters.

You should really work these issues out right at the start of creating your game. If the player cannot play your game, why bother creating all the cool content?

The way you select your characters in the menu is cumbersome. Also I cannot see which box at the bottom is currently active. Then, why do I choose four out of five characters, why can't I just deselect one?

Why is Q for the character on the right while R is the one on the left? The keys lie in the opposite order on the keyboard.

The characters walk a bit too slowly for my taste.

The music is fine but a little generic. It fits the shooter theme, though.

After all this critique, let me say that your graphics look nice and the monster AI is good.

Alphish says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Interesting concept, but seems really tricky to execute properly, in a way that being an octopus isn't required to fully enjoy the game. >.<

Either way, I was totally confused, and the fact that I got that screen setting where the sides get cut off didn't help, either (I couldn't see the "CONTROLS" button, so I was completely lost). Even knowing the controls, it was pretty hard, until I finally decided to make a team of all marines, gather them around the same place and use their secondary abilities alternately (Q, 2, W, 2, E, 2, R, 2, repeat). With that, I eventually defeated all the slimes I faced and eventually reached and destroyed the artifact (the movement was kinda slow, though).

Aside from that, audiovisuals worked well enough, and there was some variety in the enemies and backgrounds, it seems (I didn't quite like the black and white floor). Overall, rather decent entry, though troublesome controls and slow movement take away from the experience to an extent. ^^'

GFM says ...
Sep 10, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Interesting idea! But given the control scheme, I selected only marines and only used its '1' ability alternately. :(

For a platformer, the layout of the level is quiet strange... There isn't any real "platforming", the player simply falls to its objective. There wasn't even a situation that required me to jump...

You really should learn to use Unity's UI system! If you had set the anchors correctly, the UI would be automatically resized, and no one would have trouble because of the screen resolution.

I had two issues with the controls: there's too much stuff to micromanage and the controls are indeed weird. I can see a few different schemes that could solve those two problems at once:
- Use RST commands: Instead of having to use the keyboard for everything, it could be used only to select the character that will act, its action and how to move (as a group or as an unit). Then, the mouse could be used to move the group and to select a target (on which the unit would use its selected action). Given the level layout, this kind of pathfinding would be really easy to implement.
- Have one button per player: Instead of assigning 8 buttons (one per player, per action), 4 buttons could be assigned for action, with a separated one used to trigger between the main and secondary action. This seems way more natural for me, specially if gamepad were supported (e.g., each face button on a gamepad for each character action and the shoulder buttons to switch between action and group/unit mode).

Still, I must say that I liked really your idea! But the implementation needs more polishing...

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]