Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Curious Dinos

by RafaSKB - Jam Entry

Your spaceship crashed on Earth during the Jurassic Era. You need the dinosaurs help to get your ship fixed. Use basic ship functions such as alert lights to interact with their emotions and return home.

--- Credits ---
Pixeler: Brian Shepard - @starlightzone_
Sound Engineer: Stephen D. Gibson - @r9cast
Coffee Coder: Rafa Skoberg - @rafaskoberg

--- Instructions ---
Download the appropriate file according to your operating system, decompress the zip and execute the main file (e.g. Curious Dinos.exe and Curious Dinos.app).

Use the mouse to play.

--- Updates ---
Version 1.1 - August 30th, 2016:
- Fixed a couple of game breaking bugs.
- Fixed some serious performance issues.

Version 1.2 - September 15th, 2016:
- Added new dinosaur types.
- Added a new ship action.
- Rebalanced the effect of ship actions.
- Added an intro cutscene explaining the story.
- Added an ending cutscene.
- Added more music and sound effects.
- Added beautiful visual effects.
- Implemented day and night cycle.
- Fixed many glitches with sounds and particles.
- Greatly reduced the application size.
- Other minor changes and fixes.

Downloads and Links


Comments

Steven Miller says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:15pm

I really liked the sound and the art and overall presentation was incredible, though I was a bit confused on what to do. I understood that I could influence the dinosaurs with my abilities, and I did make it to end, but I found myself using the first ability almost exclusively, as it seemed like the ship parts activated when a certain amount of dinosaurs were happy. Good game, though I'd like to see a little more explanation about the mechanics.

jeremyfa says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:05pm

I love the illustrations. Game mechanics could be improved to be less confusing. It seems like I'm just doing the same thing continuously, hoping something happens with the dinosaurs. Interesting still!

MrErdalUral says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:53am

Good graphics! Well done.
Wasn't that much fun though.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:06pm

So, I had no idea what was going on, I gathered eventually that the idea was to bring the dinos in, but I also found that the first ability was the most useful. Other parts just seemed to scare the critters :(

Great art and sound though, and the mystery is quite nice. You see it as the dinos do perhaps? The art style is almost hyper light drifter esque. I enjoyed my time playing.

skreeb says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:08pm

I didn't know what I was doing but I played it through anyway because it was gorgeous and the dinosaurs were cute.

monkeybit29 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:26pm

awwwwwww i left my dino buddies, i miss them already :^C
Nice short experience!

xesenix says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 12:30am

No idea what im doing but it pretty.

9.ar7k says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 12:37am

no idea what was happening but it was a very beautiful game. i tried to play it to the end but i still had no idea what was happeneing, but i feel like this could be a cool mobile game kinda neko atsume ^^

ikroth says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 2:05am

The art and graphics for this are really great. I didn't understand what I was doing until about the fourth item. Overall, it was a nice experience, but didn't have a lot of depth.

mooncalf says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 2:09am

Beautiful art and soundscape.

I beat it but I just randomly clicked the buttons a lot =D.

I would have liked it more if I had some feedback loop helping me understand what to do as well as a potential failure condition. I never felt like my choices were affecting the outcome.

Sep 2, 2016 @ 3:42am

Not a game, an experience :)

The atmosphere created through the music and sound design, coupled with the beautifully stylized visuals made the game almost mesmerizing.

The black box of the mechanics simply added to this. It truly created a sense of mystery, progress, and almost instilled a sense of awe.

The one major missing piece is fullscreen. That would have just made the immersion of it much better, especially with the small window size.

Other than that, fantastic work.

HellBlazer says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 3:46am

Cool idea, and nice visuals... but like everyone has said, it's rather confusing. :) It seems like you can mess around to attract some dinos, then just spam the first ability. Though I made it to the end, I was never quite clear what each ability did exactly.

In any case though, a spaceship powered by dino-love is pretty amazing technology.

standardcombo says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Excellent game that fits the theme. The objective, while not explicit, is clearly communicated through the design of the characters. The gameplay is intuitive and scoped correctly for a game jam of this kind.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Nice, short, aesthetically pleasing experience. Could complete the thing by just spamming random buttons and not knowing how each affected the dinosaurs or the world - so it probably needs some degree of explanation (preferably visually) and challenge. Good work nevertheless!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 5:28am

Innovation: Definitely a novel concept! It's too bad it was a little short and barebones, I was curious to see what this would be like if pushed further.
Fun: It was kind of cool and interesting to try and woo over the cute dinosaurs, but in the end I think mechanics needed to be a little more straightforward/obvious for me to have more fun.
Theme: Haha, this one is a stretch but I can kind of see it!
Graphics: Very well done! Nothing mindblowing, but all of the art was very clean and fit the style of the game very well. Great job!
Audio: The audio all fit just fine, but I'm curious as to what it might be like if you added additional layers of instrumentation to the background music for each ship part that you collect, as a sort of build-up.
Humor: N/A
Mood: Altogether this was a very quiet and pleasing experience, which I liked.
Overall: Pretty awesome, but I feel like the gameplay itself had some issues which I would have liked to see addressed. Nevertheless I think the presentation and concept are pretty excellent, so this was still enjoyable. :)

Congratulations on another successful LD! I'd really appreciate it if you could leave me some feedback for my game as well. You can find it at: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-36/?action=preview&uid=7285.

Sep 6, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Lovely graphics, interesting game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/lT_5Gj1NQIo

dreamlogician says ...
Sep 14, 2016 @ 1:50am

Fun concept, and gorgeous art! ^_^

Sep 14, 2016 @ 1:55am

I liked it. The visuals were fantastic. The art was very reminiscent of Samurai Jack, and well executed. The sound effects were great too. The music was a little repetitive. Overall, I enjoyed the game so much, I played it twice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]