Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

The Crush

by joemag - Jam Entry

The Crush is a game where you are suddenly stuck in a crushing room in an ancient temple. You must think quickly and arrange the objects in the room in such a way that the walls will be braced and you won't get crushed.

Instructions

WASD to move, Left-click to pick up objects, Right-click to drop them, Hold Shift to run.

Assets from Unity Asset Store: Mayan Temple:

https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/39399

twitter: @joemagiv

Downloads and Links


Comments

ferfer957 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:55pm

The concept is pretty cool ! My only regret is that there is no level selection, if you lose you have to do it all over again. And maybe the texture proportion feel a bit weird, specially on the floor (I don't know if I'm tiny or if the floor tiles are huuuuge x) ) Nice work !

pressxtoskip says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:05pm

I agree with ferfer about feeling small on the ground - adds to the general terror though! Hard to play on a mac - would be good to be able to pick up and release with the same button. I really like the concept.

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:08pm

At first I thought it was necessary to build stairs to exit through the ceiling... crushed. After several attempts, I moved the blocks and the walls have been braced but from the 3rd or 4th level I no longer able to take objects (I did something wrong?). Luckily, without moving anything, the walls were stopped... but the miracle didn't arrive twice. I enjoyed this original gameplay experience as much as the atmosphere (graphics and music) is excellent.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:30pm

The object seem a bit light and fiddly but the concept is neat and for a ludum game it is easy to jump into and play.

Ghen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:37pm

the game very good looking, but i win so far by only...luck i guess
i randomly stack/put the object everywhere, the wall magically stop somehow with only touching couple object

tonynogo says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:56pm

It's an interesting idea. Gj

AlexLamarche says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:58pm

I like how you have to get more creative with how you pile the objects as the levels go on and the walls get stronger.

Fidrik says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:13pm

really good idea, the physics can be a bit wacky sometimes though. nice art and music.

leuus says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:15pm

For a 48h game, the 3D is fantastically good looking! (I love the totems) The first time I got crushed really scared me ^^ (I think it's due to the crushing noise). I don't understand how to arrange the objects in the room. I think I won the first three levels only with luck (my goal was to smash every objects in the room).

Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:38pm

This in uniquely challenging and I failed so bad lol but I enjoyed doing it. I had some trouble with the web app (It didn't seem to register my clicking on the buttons at first?) But I think that might be my browser's fault? Anyway nice job!!!

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:21am

I liked the concept, but how to succeed is pretty unclear. I was never sure if anything I did would ACTUALLY brace the walls.

loadsofmana says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:34am

made perfect line of totems. walls came. totems flew into the sky and abandoned me. 10/10 would physics again.

edgeofcode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:35am

Good idea. It was fun to play.

adaFish says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:37am

It was a little confusing at first, I was just throwing stuff at the walls then standing there and winning. But as the levels got harder it got more fun. Well done!

nanimono says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:37am

That wall mechanism is pretty weak if you can stop it with few stones. After the first level I can't pickup items.

johnbjuice says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:43am

Couldn't get the web version to work and the downloaded .exe said it was missing files! Oh no! I've copied the error and pasted it below -

------------------------------------
Data folder missing

There should be 'TheCrush01_Data'
folder next to the executable
------------------------------------

Maybe you uploaded just the exe, but it needs another folder? I'm not sure.

I'm on a Windows 7 laptop using Google Chrome. It's a piddly little machine so I should probably try the web version on my desktop tomorrow. Regardless, hope you figure out the problem with the desktop version! I wanna play this, it looks super cool!

Also, I think using premade assets is against the rules for the compo - you should have submitted for the jam!

fixedgerald says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:58am

Cool idea, wasn't sure how the mechanics of the game work or if there is a strategy to stacking things against the walls.

joemag says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:32am

@johnbjuice fixed the download should be working now. And it is a Jam entry not a compo entry.

AODQ says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:08pm

The wall crushing mechanic just doesn't work properly. It's too prone to just stop. Not to mention just touching the wall crushes you, and the physics are just wonky. I think a lot more work could have been put into this, esp w/ using premade assets

cushycode says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:28pm

I like the concept, but my game experience was frustrating. All items look like they are weightless. All my attempts to block the walls failed and I haven't any idea how to win (even after reading the instruction).
I believe, that this prototype will be much more playable if you make physics more natural.

TomBuston says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:21pm

The mechanic is original, and there's a lot of tension on some level with the music !
Sometimes the walls seems to stop for no reason and I win, but I won't complain about not getting crushed ;)
Well done :)

Casevse says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:46am

Interesting idea, but the gameplay could be improved. The objects are weightless. Good work!

Sean says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 5:15pm

It's a decent concept, but because simply touching the walls crushed you, it ended up being pretty frustrating. It would've made more sense to only kill the player if they're touching both walls at once. Like the other comments mention, the physics were also kind of unpredictable and floaty, so the only way I managed to progress was by carefully arranging a couple blocks in the center, then jumping on them and hoping for the best.

Nice effect on the menu screen btw.

There are also 3 different fullscreen buttons (one on Ludum Dare's site, one on the itch.io embed, and one in the Unity webgl export). You should probably try to set it up so that you only need one.

tedajax says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Wish the objects would sit still a bit better and I feel super short. The concept is pretty cool though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]