Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Tappy Catapult

by Mordokay - Competition Entry

For this Ludum Dare I decided to use one of the most important Ancient Tech in the World ... The Catapult!!!!

In this Game you have 2 Stages: The Build Stage and the Play Stage.
The objective is simple ...you try to get the Bomb to the Red Circle (And stay there for a couple of seconds)

Build Stage: You flip the platforms to change the Map as you like and use W,A,S,D to move arouund the map.

Play Stage: You use the left mouse button to drop the boulder into the right side of the Catapult to throw the Bomb.

Software used:
Paint.NET
Unity
Visual Studio

Downloads and Links


Comments

Piotrek says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Graphics look nice.
Little to hard for me, but it is fun to play.

conrad123 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:30pm

Woohoo! Another catapult game! :P
This game is pretty fun. It's difficult, but it looks nice and it's rewarding when the cats congratulate you when you finish a level. What confuses me is that the clouds go over the map instead of staying in the background. Was that intentional?

tonynogo says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:44pm

So difficult ! ^^ I try a thirty time to pass the first level :)
The phisics is cool! I can spend a lot of time on this kind of game ^^

bushmango says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Fun catapult game!

jscottmiller says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Fun and tough! It would be nice if there was a quick reset button (I miss a lot). I tried tilting my laptop during a few tense moments. :P

Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Tough game! The start button isn't really required and would improve the experience a lot more. Keep up the good work!

acotis says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:35am

Pretty neat, but the game keeps registering my "start button" click as the "drop object" click, so it's very hard to drop the object where I want it. Also, the first level seems unreasonably hard...am I supposed to get the boulder to come to a stop inside the red circle? Very difficult :P

Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:25am

It was a very hard game! I only made it past the first level, and skipped straight to the last one :P Definitely needs a restart level button.

mooncalf says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:42am

great use of the theme. too hard for me to play much.

Bobsleigh says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:30am

Game was too hard for me. Not very intuitive. I only made it through the first level. Missing some sound effect also. Interesting idea though.

n42k says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:52am

Does not display correctly in the embedded player, see scrollbars on bottom and right. Fine in the Web link, which I've used to write my comment.

It's quite hard, I like it! I was unable to restart the level when I dropped the boulder to the left of the catapult to see what would happen. Gave up due to that.

TomBuston says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:58am

Wow it's hard x) But quite addictive too ! I found it a bit frustrating to have to wait the bomb stop moving each time I fail, maybe you could add a button to reset the bomb ? Nice entry anyway ;)

quentinus60 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:59pm

It's hard but i like it. good job ! :)

TheLaw says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Like other people said - hard game.
For me - easy to learn, hard to master =D

Good job

thegunmaster says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Man, insanly hard game, I only finished 2 levels.
Was quite fun though. I would say the graphics could use some work though.

Neonian says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Didn't get far, but I like it. Nicely done

repstyle says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:39pm

It's a nice physics game.
But it is not well explained and accessibility needs improvement.
For exemple, because i had no clue of what to do to launch the ball after the build stage i clicked once anywhere but nothing happened. I retried holding the clicking and i started to see the boulder. I recommend that you sho the boulder at a small size to let the player understand eh had a boulder.
Also, i find it annoying i couldn't restart quickly the level instead of waiting the ball stopped to move. Like in the second level when ball keeps bouncing on that damn trampoline.

At a moment, screen was keeping move in build stage and i couldn't stop it moving.

In the build stage, it can be more convenient to use right click to make the platforms rotating counter-clockwise.

Last thing to balance is the weight/power of the boulder, it is frustrating to be forced to use only tiny boulder everytime.
Qside thqtm i reqlly liked the gq;e.

repstyle says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:41pm

Sorry for the sentence :
Qside thqtm i reqlly liked the gq;e.
It was because i changed language of my keyboard.
And i wanted to write :
Aside that, i really liked the game and i played a long time.

If you had good polish, it can make a very good flash game (even if it is not trending anymore).

GFM says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 12:30am

The game loop takes too much time upon failure. There really should be a reset button, if I know I've missed and I want to retry.

Also, I find it quite weird that no platform has any friction at all. The bomb just keeps rolling...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]