Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Pyramid Dissemble

by luquio - Competition Entry

Pyramid Dissemble

ABOUT: here's my entry for LD36, You play with an egipcian faraon trying to discover how to get inside Mayan Pyramid! Hope you like it!


HOW TO PLAY?

press LEFT / RIGHT arrows to move
press R to restart

Downloads and Links


Comments

BurntFeelings says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:36am

Looks awsome and plays great a really neat short game 10/10 :)

Graham Weldon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:59am

The graphics on this are great. You've done an awesome job!

bufferstudios says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:39am

Really like the art and music! Well done!

JK5000 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:29am

It is a fun little game I especially liked the music and the graphical part of the game. The end of the game is really fun. Well done.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:16am

Lack of information about the goal but the music is great.

Terrabalt says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:06am

Although the graphics and music are amazing, the gameplay feels a little bit annoying. The gems sometimes spawn literally next to each other, or even right on the player, making an already-finnicky controls feels more frustating.

Also, i have played this several times and i'm *pretty* sure i've got the right gem in the right order (It's Red-Green-Blue, right?) yet the pyramid did not open. Is there something else i should've done?

Sakaki says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:27am

Really liked the concept: make the player seeks order in chaotic stuff to unlock a secret. But I couldn't think of a mean to reach the gems on time. They always disappear, kinda frustrating. Maybe work a bit more on mechanics? But keep the concept

Sakaki says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:30am

I mean, of course the gems will disappear (duh) but the goal isn't reachable by the player the overall strategy is wait trying to stay on the same place (by making circles holding one key) until the gem you want appears next to you.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:18pm

I like visual style very much and controls and physics of movement feels so smooth and rewarding. But the goal and gem collecting part is not clear for me =( Just a little bit of polish on this part of the game and it will be fine!

Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:27pm

This is a lot of fun (but makes me a little dizzy, as I just circled the pyramid).

I really like all the original 3d art.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:46pm

The game's low poly aesthetic is on point and, coupled with the music, create a cool vibe. The game is more difficult than it seems - you could let players mess with control sensitivity!

zacks says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Great graphics and bgm. Actually, I quite like the control. It is just like the combination of Journey and Flower. Nice job!
Maybe there are still some bugs that even if I have the right sequence, the pyramid cannot open.
I really like this game.

pogo575 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Visually it is very nice but I couldn't get the pyramid to open. It also took me a few tries to get the hang of moving.

Moeilijk says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Nice Graphics, gameplay feels incomplete right now.

neural says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:53pm

I couldn't open the pyramid, but enjoyed the atmosphere :)

Jonpul says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Never did get it open, even when I was hitting the correct sequence. I like the aesthetic and I can squint and see the beginnings of a game here, which is a good thing.
There didn't seem to be any indication of progress for the player. Like a visual or audible distinction between getting gems in the right order and not.
I'm not 100% sure about this, but I think it might be better to have the rotation more in sync with the player position. I can't really tell what I'm hitting or not hitting when I go around back.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:32pm

This is a fun little game I love the art.

WERT Studio says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:30pm

neat style (cant see that its made in unity +) Its a bit too easy

Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Nice visual style, I couldn't open the pyramid either but good job:

xesenix says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Lack of feedback and if you are doing anything right and big randomness player cant make informed decisions. This game needs some indication about progress in collecting of right code.

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:33pm

The movement of the character is a bit slow and it's frustrating to see a stone that disappear under his foot. I expected that the Egyptian is shown in profile :) Anyway, the low poly art is nice...

potrik98 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:55pm

The game idea is great, but I feel the crystals despawn too quickly, and spawn in wierd locations like on top of you or other crystals, making them impossible to get. Furthermore, the pyramid didn't open for me when I got red, green, blue, and some times it just randomly reset. A status meter like where you can see the ones you've got would be nice, and if you get one wrong, all progress will be lost, but you don't have to reset. Great looking game and nice aesthethics with the low poly style, though I feel like it hasn't been played through enough

Green_Cafe says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:14pm

I love the art style and it's a fun game to be made so quick. Good job!

jakechirak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:48pm

It's pretty hard, but the music and the idea is original, very nice!

walkupandaway says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Pretty interesting visually, and controlling the character feels nice. I wasn't ever able to get the pyramid open, as I couldn't tell what the correct pattern was (I'm guessing Red-Green-Blue?). I would suggest making that more obvious, and making sure the gems don't spawn on top of one another.

VersatileBox says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:45pm

I couldn't guess the pattern, but it's visually a gorgeous game.
I also love that trace the player leaves!

kingpirux says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:32am

nice and sweet but yes xD so fking hard to get the gems in time and order!

FrozenIndie says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:43am

This game makes sense actually the music was pretty neat and the puzzles was interesting and take some kind of my time thinking :D

irwatts says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:16am

The graphics and awesome music create a really cool foreboding mood!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:44am

Rather easy but looks nice!

bossinc says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:52am

I like the graphics and the sound track.

kadealicious says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:54am

I really like how the pyramid moves when you die, it really adds pizzazz.

Austinat says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:15am

wat

iBinary says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:37am

The atmosphere of the game feels great, it is very relaxing. but the gameplay wasnt enjoyable. very hard to get three diamonds in a row..

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:15am

I had a hard time actually playing but it looks nice :P

Elit3dGaming says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:53am

Didn't understand the goal of the game but played great and loved the art style

Darenn says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:47am

Good game, the controls are simple and fluid, but I think you could add more content, like traps, for example.
Furthermore, you should have added a little "Win screen", because I had trouble to understand I won.
However, the game is fun (Maybe a little bit boring, the pyramid takes too much time before it opens ?). Keep creating games !

VegaBuddhist says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:35pm

Music's nice)

kaos740 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Really nice game. Short but effective. Wonderful graphics!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Very challenging game, but it feels super nice! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ZS5h_OweR3s

TagliatL says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:25pm

I really likes the graphics but I had a hard time getting the gems

CLEV(R) says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Gems are overlapping but the game is still 9/10 :P

paruthidotexe says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:21pm

how to play the game ? nothing happened on collecting in RGB order too..
Art style, music, player control is good
To be improved are Game play, game design like two gems over overlapping, speed of player vs speed of the gems disappear, some indication like you have picked correct one or wrong one, etc

gonutz says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:18pm

I do not know what the 'right sequence' is and the game does not tell me.

seththefirst says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:37pm

hey man, that's a nice concept.
you should fix the resolution in the webplayer... I'm missing a lot of the gameplay window.

Congratz

Sabina Lis says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:03am

Me gustó el juego, la música, los colores y las formas, a pesar de que intente bastante no pude abrir la pirámide, me pareció haber podido hacer la secuencia de colores un par de veces pero no pasó. No entiendo muy bien la necesidad de perder si pisas la pirámide, igual me encantó, felicitaciones!

Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:16am

Love the art and soundtrack. The game is a bit repetitive in general though. It's a bit hard to know if you're about to touch the pyramid when behind it

devpaul says ...
Sep 7, 2016 @ 9:36am

Nice game! The music and a the visuals give a nice meditative mood to the game. But I couldn't open the pyramid even thou I tried a lot of combinations. Maybe I messed up, Its hard to tell which colors have you picked up, because the crystals spawns and despawns too fast and sometimes on top of each other.

luquio says ...
Sep 10, 2016 @ 3:51am

<!--- DEVELOPER NOTE ---> yeep theres a bug in my code that throws an exception that breaks prefab instances. Im sorry, and ill try to fix it as soon as i make myself a Little time. I couldnt test the game enought. But you could download the source and play with it. Was made with unity 5.4 (stable reléase). <!--- DEVELOPER NOTE ENDS --->

Yumeito says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 12:06pm

Neat little game :)

Sep 21, 2016 @ 5:34am

Yeah. I'm assuming the but Luquio is talking about made this unplayable. If you get red, green and then go for blue, you can't pick up blue anymore, thus I don't think you can finish the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]