Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Ancient Ranger with Ultimate Technology

by Kitkom - Jam Entry

Unsigned int64 ago, people use stones to deal ranged attack.

But a good stone-thrower requires a lot of training, so they invented the slingshot to fire stones. This new technology helped the fight with other creatures greatly.

But one day, the earth is invaded by unknown creatures. All of your kind has mutated and you are the only one survived! And they along with a lot of zerglings and titans destroyed your homeland!

Now it's your time! Show me what you can do with this ultimate weapon as an ancient ranger!

============

Controls:
WASD : Move
Left mouse button : Charge and fire
Right mouse button : Emit the Force (It requires cooling down after using it once, and you will hear notification sound effect when it's ready)
Left Shift : Sprint
Q : Switch weapon

============

Instructions in battle

There're two kinds of weapons.

Stones are reliable for dealing a lot of DMG, but requires charging for a while. Besides, stones have strong knock-back on light enemies.
Arrows now have higher fire rate and DPM but lower DMG. You will have to choose proper weapon to deal with different situations.

There're three types of enemies.

Orcs are normal one. You will have to kill it by at least two stone shot or multiple arrows.
Zerglings now have higher speed and hp. You won't be able to kill it with only one arrow, but one half-charged stone is enough to take it down. Think carefully about weapons.
Titans now will not be useless! Approaching titans will slow down your speed and if you didn't managed to escape you will be surrounded by zerglings suddenly!
Good luck!

BTW: Please run at full screen mode. There may be some bug in window mode due to some reason from Unity.

============

Some Questions:

Q: Why there is no dot in the center of screen to help aiming?

A: Because you are ancient ranger! Do you think you'are able to fire the stones precisely? No. Try to guess the trace of your weapons and make them of good use. Good luck!

Q: It's hard to aim and shoot when lots of enemies are moving towards you?

A: Yes. If there's an enemy blocking your slingshot, the dmg of your weapon will be really low. So keep distance from them. In fact, once you are surrounded while your Force isn't ready, you will die in seconds.

Q: Why does the movement speed is so low?

A: Because trying not to get surrounded is part of the game. It will be too easy if you can move at high speed. Use sprint and force to avoid being surrounded.

============
About movement speed:

Thanks to everyone who made suggestion!
I tried to improve movement speed, but the game is just getting too boring. Currently zerglings could catch you when you are not sprinting away from them, and orcs could catch you when you trying to simply hit & run. If player has higher speed, orcs may be harmless even with increased amount. To avoid this, both player and enemies' speed must be improved. In that case, zerglings would move too fast.
So in my opinion it's hard to improve movement speed while keeping it interesting. It would be different if I added more mechanics, enemies and skills in it.
I've uploaded a alternative version with higher speed.
Orginal Version:
Forward Speed : 6 Strafe and Backward Speed : 3 Sprinting Multiplier : 1.5 Hp : 100
Higher Speed Version:
Forward Speed : 7 Strafe and Backward Speed : 5 Sprinting Multiplier : 1.8 Hp : 200
============
Sorry about my poor English......

Downloads and Links


Comments

PlanetHoward says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Great UI, love that you found a mix between 2d and 3d, I'm gonna be honest, the shooting mechanic was the best, it felt great, responsive, but the rock sometimes was unpredictable, walking sometimes felt a bit slow, but overall it's pretty good for the unpredictable part, I'd recommend using a reticle/dot in the middle to show where the rock is going :D

yoel1234 says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:35pm

real nice, and fun, had an rts rpg filling to it, with a little polish and a story this can be a good game.

also it crushed becuse of an error once you shod chack it out.
overall i liked it.

yoel1234 says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:35pm

ops wrong game...

yoel1234 says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:52pm

(now for my real comment ignore the one sent by mistake)
it took me a while to get it but:
awsome an fps with a rogatka, i had alot of fun headshoting those club wielding clowns.
the sprite textures are great i like that style. gives it a retro old school feel.

one thing i would like is more movement speed.

Green_Cafe says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:47pm

I really enjoyed the game. I had a lot of fun attacking those weird enemies. My only issue is movement speed. But other than that it was fun!

zacks says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:09am

Interesting game, especially after training about the accuracy.
If the moving speed and the volume can be adjusted it would be better!
Looking forward to your final version!

JK5000 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:56pm

A good little game. I particularly liked the music, graphics and the shoot mechanic. But the opponents are really difficult to get away from. Overall well done.

pogo575 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Loved the graphics but the charging mechanic started to get annoying when there were lots of enemies moving quickly towards me.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Nice music and graphics!

Took a bit to figure out how I harmed the enemies with my weapon, though when I did the game felt a tad short as the victory was quite early?

What was that flying purple thing?

Kitkom says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:13am

@oskardevelopment it's a bug in early version. I have fixed it now.
The flying purple thing is portal as spawn point, but it's invincible.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:15am

Haha what a nice experience I love the art style as well

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:10am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Guennor says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:10am

It's a complete game with implemented basic mechanics, music, sound effects and UI, so that's pretty good for a game jam. But it has some balancing issues, like the fact that is super easy to get swarmed even on level 1. I have no idea why the slingshot is so high up, looks like the person is holding it with their arm held up above their head. Movement is also very sluggish even while sprinting.

I found an outstanding bug - if you get swarmed and you keep jumping, the creatues will stack on one another and you'll get to incredible heights. Though you will take lots of damage in the process.

maskinmask says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:10am

The tutorial is great,but the game is too hard.

Xakkar says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:33am

Cool hard game)

Lojchin says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:39am

It is hard but interesting.

yotam180 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Hard game, but really cool to play! The shooting is indeed the best part of the game - natural, hard but really fun and satisfying when you hit an opponent.

Also, great job combining 3d environment and 2d characters!

The artistic style of the game is very interesting, gameplay is nice, and, yea, I liked it!

cushycode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:34pm

I liked the look of it, but the gameplay feels like it needs some serious balancing. Firing weapons is somewhat frustrating since you can't really aim properly and your projectile shoots from the top corner.

You also get swarmed too easily and can't really do anything about it, except push enemies for a second but they swarm you right back. Maybe make the force wave do damage too?

PanicTheFirst says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:52pm

I like the mixing of sprites into a 3D World.
The shooting mechanic feels pretty solid. But the movement speed is a bit too slow. I got really fast surrounded by the enemies and didn't got away from them.
Besides that, great game. :)

nekolas says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:23pm

The 2D art style reminds me of Minecraft. Cool for me. Shooting is no doubt the best part. It feels really nice shooting with arrows (Much more light with a long shooting range). It's a surprise when I found out stone rolling in correct physics way and dust splashing up.

Moving speed should be faster. I get easily cornered, then I can't even see whether I have whether hit enemies ahead of me. Anyway, this is really worth playing considering you have done all these in 3 days.

ginger9 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:45am

The best part is, you jump to a zergling, and zergling jumps too. In that way, you can jump as high as your hp bar.

guoboism says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:59am

I like the arts style, very inspiring.

Geruhn says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:40pm

A really hard game, I like it though. Once the little zerglings have you surrounded you're doomed because of the low shots per second you can fire :/

Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:17am

Its cool, but I think the slower backwards movement is a bad move. If you are attack from all sides it makes it almost impossible.

The graphics, sound, and overall aesthetic are really great though, and I love the concept.

kawzar says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 6:27am

I like the concept and the graphics! The game is really smooth and well put. Shooting feels really good and instinctive!!
At first I was like "oh okay, so this is it" on the tutorial and jumped directly to the level I. Bad idea, I hated the zerglings they are difficult and annoying!
Nice job there! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 4:51am

It was fun but the movement and shooting mechanic need work. It really felt unfair at times. Really liked the game tho.

AnaGF says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 12:58am

Great job, I love the concept, art is pretty neat, sound is cool too, and the controls are really smooth. One of my favorite entries :D

However, although you say it was intentionally, I think a bit more of walking speed would make the game better. Even if you shoot it is impossible to not get surrounded, because (obviously) shooting a stone takes your time, and the force spell has a cooldown. Since shoots and spells need to be like this because you are an "Ancient Shooter", I think that increasing the walking speed would improve the game feel, and maybe the solution for not making the game too easy would be increasing the amount of enemies instead of keeping the player being slow.

Kitkom says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 2:54am

Thanks to @AnaGF and everyone who made suggestion!
I tried to improve movement speed, but the game is just getting too boring. Currently zerglings could catch you when you are not sprinting away from them, and orcs could catch you when you trying to hit & run. If player has higher speed, orcs may be harmless even with increased amount. To avoid this, both player and enemies' speed must be improved. In that case, zerglings would move too fast.
So in my opinion it's hard to improve movement speed while keeping it interesting. It would be different if I added more mechanics, enemies and skills in it.
But I'll provide with a "boring" version later.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]