Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Navis

by Roland M - Jam Entry

> NAVIS <

DESCRIPTION:

Navis is a game were aliens gave you the ancient technology to see constellations during the day. Your quest is to search for islands using this ancient technology and discover the world, while trying to not get killed. Have fun!! ;]

NOTE:

Pile of Crates = Lives
Pile of Barrels = Ammo

CREDITS:

Code - ROLAND - @roliDev
Art - JESSE - @Jsf23Art
Sfx - BENNY - @blastaudioz
Music - ANTRIKSH - @antrikshbali

Downloads and Links


Comments

blinry says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Huh, can you supply a binary without an installer? Don't wanna trash my computer :)

Roland M says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:29pm

@blinry Done, it was just my mistake at exporting the file. Thanks!

akai_0okami says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Cool game, the art is awesome and the sound is good too. The controls took a little getting used to. Also the ship could sail through the islands sometimes.

pixelpotions says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Very fun game! Awesome graphics and music, had a blast playing! Some of the collision was a bit weird but I had so much fun discovering the islands and shooting.

Frump says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Fun game. It turned out to be more arcadey than I was expecting.

That boat turning controls would be better if they were full 360 and a bit more responstive. I liked the boat's momentum though.

Mottafier says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 12:42am

While I was playing, my antivirus popped up in the middle and removed the game because apparently it was suspicious. Should I be worried? :P
Other than that, I killed a turret thing, and the game seems well made from what I saw

celia14 says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:19am

Very cool! The art is really nice and clean, and the title screen is also so lovely! :)

Aaranos says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 3:04am

I really enjoyed the game, but I honestly was not sure if I was making progress or not. The ship control is a bit wonky with the way you turn, but it is forgiving enough with collisions on land to not be bad. I even pulled a flying dutchman act and drifted over land mass at one time.

mar3k says ...
Sep 9, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Great art and nice atmosphere, but the controls were quite bad (at least for me), wasn't very responsive and I also didn't really like the straight away turns instead of turning by small angles, but cool game nonetheless

Sep 9, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/MTi5CJCBr-w

WERT Studio says ...
Sep 10, 2016 @ 12:39pm

the garphics are looking so polished but i would like to control freely and shoot as many bullets as I want. I like it

csanyk says ...
Sep 11, 2016 @ 4:48am

Interesting controls, took a little getting used to steering the ship. I thought the sounds and graphics were pretty well done, but would have appreciated a larger view so I could see a bit further ahead.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]