Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Artifact Hunter

by CMLSC - Competition Entry

In Artifact hunter, you are hunting for ancient devices(known as artifacts) that give you special powers! You must avoid various dangerous objects and collect shiny blue orbs to reveal the artifacts. You must also figure out what exactly the artifacts do.

+-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
|READ THIS BEFORE COMMENTING!!!
|(explanations for things people were confused about)
|People still weren't reading this bit of the description, so I moved it. :P
|I forgot to mention that pressing R in the game after dying restarts the game. :D
|That green bar on the top left is your stamina for those who couldn't figure it out. (not you health because you die in one hit) Your stamina will |deplete from dashing or from using certain artifacts.
|You can avoid explosions sometimes because you get 4 frames(one 10th of a second if you run the game at max fps) to get away from the bomb |before it kills you. There is no form of health or lives in any way.
|You can dodge through(but don't land on) bombs, in a lot of cases, you can also use the first relic to go straight through the bombs. There is no |way to go through bullets, but you can dodge shurikens.
+-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There is new content in EVERY level! So try to beat level 1 to try out the artifacts!

This game may be REALLY hard. If you don't like challenging games, then I don't recommend playing this.
If someone even gets past 3 points on level 3, please tell me. :3

My record is 7 points on level 3.
Please post your highest score! (eg: Level 2 with 5 points)

SIDE NOTE: Head over to my website(shaulos.weebly.com) for info on the purchasable version I'm working on! :D I'll at tons of artifacts, new dangerous things, a story line, better music, and an overall more polished game! :D (The planned price is $1.99-$2.99) I've been making games for 4 years and I finally made a game I think I might sell. ^_^
Send an e-mail to shaulosgames@gmail.com with the code LD36AH if you want to receive the full game(when it is done) for free!

Things I used to make the game:
Code - Python
Graphical Display - Pygame
Art - MSPaint(lol yay)
Music - BeepBox.co

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Comments

anjack says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 9:07pm

The game is quite difficult! :) But not in a frustrating way. It's fun and I really like the SFX.

yoel1234 says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 9:45pm

a very fun avoider game, its not easy but fun, good replay value. i learned alot.thanks.

Crack498 says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Bombs everywhere! The bomb explosions are well done, and it has some replay value, already died 3 times!

Kalibrated says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:59pm

Nice concept - haven't seen it done in this way before! Don't go for the collectibles at the top! You will die!

BoltKey says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:10am

It is frustrating. I thing the game reset on death is unnecessary, level restart is enough. It is very hard, I gave up on like 6-8 deaths.

SFX was nice, the fact that you could hit a bomb and still survive was a nice element.

abhimonk says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:18am

Really fun game. I like the speed-up artifact a lot. Also, this game was super hard! I can't get past 3 on the 3rd level. Still, really solid game. I like the explosion animations a lot. The music was nice as well.

killthealias says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:09am

Fun arcade-like game. Clever way of allowing the player to get used to the controls before presenting any hazards. Button prompts instead of a help menu would be better for introducing the controls. Enjoyable music.

Baknik says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:49am

I liked the bomb explosions and controls.

Multitudes22 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:02am

That was so much fun! After I died I actually had to take some deep breaths because it made me so tense. The graphics, audio, and gameplay are all awesome.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:06am

A pretty fun game! I like the balance between having to collect things and dodge the hazards at the same time.

ZQMony says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:11am

Fun game. The bomb explosions looked cool. The game was hard, but not super frustrating.

acotis says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:34am

FYI, the game does not appear to work on Linux. I am running Debian 8 and tried only these two things:
+ Unzip top-level file, use wine to run the EXE
+ Also unzip libraries.zip and use wine to run the EXE again

Both times, I got this error: "wine: Bad EXE format for Z:\home\evan\Downloads\Artifact Hunter 1.0\Artifact Hunter.exe.". No need to troubleshoot or anything, just thought you'd want to know.

kazoo says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:34am

Visuals and sounds are great. I couldn't figure out a way to restart after death, perhaps that is a missing feature?

Pix3M says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:43am

Level 3, 0 points

Also, why am I dying with full health? (The green thing on the topleft corner?)

CMLSC says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:43am

Oh, sorry, I forgot. You press R to restart. :P
(When things like this happen to me when playing games, I press every button on the keyboard. :3)

CMLSC says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:45am

The green thing is your stanima. 1 hit kills you.

CMLSC says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:46am

*Stamina

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:28am

Nice polish on the sound and graphics. Good thought making no hazards appear until the first item is collected. The green bar on the upper left seems to not mean anything?

Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:04am

This game is quite fun! I really like the music and the graphics. It is difficult - I couldn't get past the lasers. Really, the only problem I had is that I didn't know which buttons to push for the artifacts - I didn't see that it had letters underneath them in the little box. That was kind of annoying, because I thought that "figure out the powers" also meant "figure out how to activate your powers" which would be incredibly annoying. Overall it's a pretty great avoidance game - it's just that I think it would be good to make it more obvious how to control the artifacts (or maybe that's just me?)

Ghen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:18am

very hectic and difficulty, but fun nontheless, the music quite catchy and fit the theme + art style overall

Aun says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:33am

That's hard but very fun. You should print the life also. Sometimes, you loose all your lives at once, depending on how you hit obstacles.

eelfroth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Probably my favourite game of this LD. Highscore: 1/12, but I'm not done with this yet!
The game is amazing, gets my adrenaline pumping by the time I reach lvl 3. Good pacing, cool patterns to dodge. Would give 5 stars in fun for sure.

A few things I would fix for future update:
- Bombs start spawnig bofore the transition-effect wears off. Sometimes you're dead before you can see again.
- Fullscreen would be very much appreciated.
- Add an alternative dash button. Its the most important button and my pinkie is not ready for that kind of resposibility. How about space bar, maybe?
- Include all keys in the help-screen. J, K, L and R are not documented there. A minor issue, but it might confuse some players.

The powerups appear kind of useless to me, considering they take away precious stamina needed for dashing. But then again, I haven't reached the skill ceiling yet - maybe I will find good uses for them yet.

wheerd says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:58pm

I got to 1/12. Nice game, but a bit too hectic for me :D The feeling is nice though, the music is catchy, the sound effect fit well. Maybe an indicator for incoming bombs at the top would be nice. Otherwise getting artifacts near the top can be really dangerous (died two times to a bomb spawning on top of me). Glad you want to continue working on this :)

lonesurvivor says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Great! Simple and challenging. Good minimalistic art, perfect sound for that kind of game. Was fun to play!
Being able to restart from within the game without having to close it would be nice though.

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Fun game! I like the challenge and the artstyle. Great pixel work. Thumbs up!

XAND says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:21pm

This game was quite frustratingly hard. The first level is deceptively easy. Get ready for the game to get knocked into 12th gear after that.

Pusty says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Quite hard. Well maybe I just surrendered too quickly haha
The music is quite cool. Posting a video for noobs like me to see how the other levels look like was quite nice of you although I would have liked to see more :P

g_o says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:31pm

awesome game!
Controls are great and art is great and music is great!

MrBrenan says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:27pm

Hard & Fun

Great game guy ! :)

PS : Just reach 3/5 :/

PeachTreeOath says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:11am

Fun game, had to dig up some classic gaming skills for this one.

Guennor says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:31am

The WASD to move and JKL for powers seems like a very right-handed centered layout. I'm left handed and it was really awkward to play. It's a shame there is no option to switch because it seems like a game I would enjoy.

Yngvarr says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:19am

Please, don't call something "Linux version" when it actually isn't. Anyway, game perfectly works under wine.
Gameplay is wonderful! Old-school hardcore gaming that I enjoy so much.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Very challenging game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/VSGUm6oLKPM

monkeybit29 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Not sure how this relates to the theme, but i had fun with it! Just wish there was a description on what each power does

Seizar says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:50pm

Some good old school fun, the controls are responsive so it makes it possibile to make some pretty risky maneuvers which is satisfying especially when more hazards start showing up.
One thing that I'd like to see implemented later on is some way to remap the buttons, I would've loved to play with arrow keys + zxc like I used to play this kind of games years ago :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]