Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Wheel Warrior

by Shatter Point Studios - Jam Entry

It is the year 35XX B.C., and the greatest device ever has recently been invented… THE WHEEL. Unfortunately, nefarious forces such as rocks and birds threaten to destroy man’s greatest achievement. Can you help keep the wheel forever rolling to stop the apocalypse? Can you become… THE WHEEL WARRIOR?!

Features:
Simple, yet incredibly deep, two-button gameplay!
A riveting story unlike anything seen before in a video game!
State of the art graphics and sound!
Exactly one level!

Downloads and Links


Comments

omid says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:15am

Wow really cool idea. Not too difficult. I like how the game really focuses on the theme with the wheel and has cool graphics. Overall really cool game:]

leondryaso says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:54am

Great one! The collision boxes of stones depressed me a bit ^^

Skye says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:08pm

This game actually looks really nice, and the concept of having to change the batteries is funny.

I did have to strain my eyes to avoid using the light, though, however, I guess I could have used the sounds to time my jumps instead?

Overall, a fun game, with a neat trick.

Battosai_c81 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:47am

I had a hand in making this but man..... just makes me relive my childhood....the struggle was real. People today need to live this struggle lol.

Venneque says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:53pm

Check that out ! A game inside a game, with double correlation to the theme !!

Although the game in itself is no wonderland, you have got sweet a pretty nice and smart concept that I would have rated 5/5 if it was not for that update on this LD.

I do not remember having such a try to hit a score (80 so far, I suck)

Took me some time to understand i actually had to hit the buttons with mouse and not to use the keyboard lol.

Thumbs up for the kid's misery grumble sound.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:13pm

I really loved the concept of this, as we all remember, with anguish, trying to play on a GameBoy with only street lights to see by!

I think it would have been better if you *had* to use the light, even if it was only occasionally, because I could play it just fine without the light.

And, like someone else said, I was pressing A and B on the keyboard to begin with.

austintradr says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Interesting idea, and I understand what you guys were going for, but it really was not fun to play. Having to hold spacebar just to play the game is not an extra task I want to do, and the fact that you have to change the batteries interrupts the endless runner in an unexpected and intrusive way. The runner itself was not very fun either - to justify the annoying mechanics, the game needs to be extra fun, which it wasn't. In turn I quickly turned it off.

On the other hand the graphics are undoubtedly awesome, and I did definitely appreciate the child's voice sound effect.

Sean says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Interesting concept, though it was (by design) frustrating to play and so not actually very fun. Great implementation of the theme though!

Adding some keyboard controls mapped to the handheld buttons might make it a bit more accessible, took me a little while to realize I had to use the mouse to play the game.

Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Was the light mechanic really necessary? I think the concept clashed with the gameplay here, holding the space down is not a skill based action, it's just menial and as such contributes nothing to the gameplay. I think this is a case of good on paper bad in practice kind of idea that should have been dropped, but that's only my opinion.

I never had an actual gameboy so I couldn't relate to the experience like many others here have, I only had to judge what I had in front of me.

the need to press escape to load the batteries, the need to have the batteries replaced only after it depleted, and the need to press the buttons using the mouse join together to make it hard to play.

The actual graphics and designs are nice, it looks good, and expressed the experience it tries to convey well.
On a technical level it works well and the controls are nice and tight. so good work on that.

Sorry if my comment sounds so negative, I'm only trying to give good feedback.

juxipolo says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 2:42am

This takes me back :)
I wish you could swap out the batteries in advance while the game was running. Then there'd be some timing challenge in keeping a run going.

Sep 5, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Even though I overtly sucked at the game and it took me a while to catch on to it, I really enjoyed this! Another great idea, guys!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uH9eqHQxRsw

Sep 5, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Thanks @The Daily Fandom ! And congrats, your score was better than I could get haha

csanyk says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 4:10am

What was the other button besides the space bar? I couldn't figure out how to play :(

csanyk says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 4:12am

Oh wait... was it hitting Esc to change batteries? That's it? Lame! :P

Sep 14, 2016 @ 2:32am

Hi @csanyk ! Thanks for playing. The other "buttons" are the A and B buttons on the Game Boy, you need to click them :p

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]