Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Mead Boy

by blubberquark - Jam Entry

The Time: Viking Age!

Recent advances in longship technology have made it
possible to sail upriver and raid both the coast
and the hinterland.

You have such a new-fangled longship!
Now you can raid, pillage, burn and
DRINK ALL THE MEAD FOR THE WIN!

The world is waiting!

Made with Python, PyTMX, PyGame, Gimp, bfxr, ASEprite and Tiled

Downloads and Links


Comments

edve98 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:15pm

I get an error when trying to run your game. Should I be doing something differently?

http://pastebin.com/czbQQHs1

blubberquark says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:16pm

edve98: I forgot to package some deps and a readme. fixed!

eott says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:32am

Oh very nice work, this a really fun game. Usually I'm annoyed by unresponsive controls, but when it's part of the gameplay like this, it becomes funny instead,

edve98 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:17am

I must say that graphics are amazing :P

It's a cool game, although I found that the best strategy for me is to wait as much as possible because my brain can't handle that always changing delay.

holgk says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:55pm

I agree with eott the controls are quite unresponsive. But it's still a good game.

blubberquark says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:07pm

@holgk That's the point of getting drunk ;)

Togimaro says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Funny game!
With the mead it's really hard to control xDDD
It's really difficult at the end x)
It's a good idea ^^
Great job!

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:20pm

It took me a while to get the constantly changing input delays under control. But it definitely makes the game challenging, which really adds to the charm. Great game 8/8

Xakkar says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Cool game!

AWOL says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:40pm

I like the concept. The controls were rough. But hey we only had a weekend to make a great game and you did it.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:40pm

This game is super fun! Even if I had to wait for the alc levels to wear off at times, it was also cool to try what you can do with that delay active :)

The artwork is really amazing (all these landmarks!), and so are the sfx!

Cool concept, and well executed :)

Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Cool graphics and art. I love that the cities are the real middle age cities and not just random names! :)

The input delays made the game quite hard and frustrating!

RubiksJr says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Cool game. I liked the dithering effect on the map, and I thought the burning-down-houses aspect was a bit obnoxious at times but was a nice addition. It's a really great idea to make unresponsiveness and floatyness a game mechanic, and it added some difficulty to an otherwise easy game. I thought the graphics were good, and I liked the food mechanic as well. I'm not sure what the gold was for though, but it was probably for score and I just didn't notice.

colapolka says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:22am

Nice game. I like the concept, though I feel like a more scaled effect of the drunk-mechanism would greatly improve gameplay. Right now the effect from just a single pint seems to drastic.

Otherwise, extra points for visual details and that beautiful map.

Geared Games says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:48am

The game looked pretty decent with a very good level selection screen. Really love the map!

I have to say though I am not a huge fan of difficulty through controls, with the objective to pick up items which make your controls delayed the game became difficult to control. But that wasn't really fun to me and felt unfair if anything.

Other than that the game looked, sounded and played well.

mat1er says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Good but hard to control

Rakart says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Man, Hamburg was...rough :D.
I really enjoyed the drunk mecanic, I wouldn't play a longer game with it but it was an surprisingly good experience.

Congratulation, the game was easy to apprehend, had a good learning curve and the map look awesome. Good Job !

nille says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Nice game!

Devious control crippling mechanic. I hate you.

Tselmek says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:44pm

The game surely has some cute pixelart and some clean interface but the controls are hellishly unresponsive. I wouldn't mind a little delay on the input/output but when the gameplay relies on precise jumps it's really frustrating and feels unfair. I didn't count how many times I died drowned falling off a platform becuase of the huge delay.

WERT Studio says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:11pm

cool pixelart but a hard control

Sep 2, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Really fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/taJ6gW4nG1g

local minimum says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Cool concept recording player actions and delaying them in proportion to level of intoxication. It would have been really cool with some camera effect too to give a bit of feed back on how bad things were. Still very enjoyable and I managed to clear all but the Hamburg level. So much evil water. It actually took me a while to realize why the little fellow so quickly were running all around the place the more drunk I got until I realized that it reflected that I was pressing keys longer waiting for stuff to happen. So it also visually got a bit strange that I was running faster (though not progressing faster) the more drunk I got. Something to test would be to slow down game speed a bit with alcohol too.

Sep 5, 2016 @ 6:09pm

This has to be the most frustrating game I've played all Dare, but I guess that's the point here, so good work! I really enjoyed the local touches you gave some of the areas, like the wine in Paris and the fish in Hamburg. That made it feel like you'd really put in the extra effort for what was otherwise a visually simplistic game.

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 11:18pm

That was actually a pretty fun game, though the initial idea sounds incredibly annoying. It's weird that these words are appearing on the screen immediately when I type them.

Pikby says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 12:23am

Very glad you spent the time on the tutorial screens, and the overall presentation is very good. I personally found the drunken mechanic to be slightly obnoxious, as a plat former the main thing you want to have is tight controls, and having the main point of the game to be collecting items which give you poor controls to be counterproductive. Also the sound effects were very loud and jarring once the game started. I think that with abit of play testing, it could be a very fun and solid game as the pixel art looked fantastic as well as the menu screens.

vicious_br says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Freat game. The mechanics consistent with the narrative.

Sep 8, 2016 @ 10:59am

I like the idea of the sluggish movements, it's an interesting mechanic!
The graphics are nice, but the sounds were a bit harsh when burning buildings.

A very nice game overall :)

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 9, 2016 @ 5:41am

So so gorgeous, such a tantalizing writeup, so much thought into the map and levels etc, so I'm sure its a great game and this is the one game I've bumped into that makes me regret not running native games :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]