Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Raiders of the cursed Temple

by McMutton - Competition Entry

Well... started with a rather small project for my first 48h Compo Entry.

It's based on the old technology of my youth which everybody hoped he could forget: The shitty LCD handheld games. :)
(Ok... might not reaaally fit the theme, but since there are no ratings anyways: just have fun with it ^^)

It's a small dungeon crawler, your objective is to find the crown of the king (which is always in the last chest of the maze... which doesn't seem to have too many forks now... but don't mind that)
On your way you'll find a lot of skeletons which will try to stop you.

Controls are mentioned on the main screen of the game.
You can find Potions and Attack-Upgrades in the other chests.

Tools used:
Sfxr - for the few sounds actually in the game
Photoshop CS2 - not that my shitty attempts at pixel art would have required it
Unity3D 5.4 Personal Edition
Visual Studio 2015 Community Edition


I had fun creating this game, since the few mechanics it uses, seem quite easy scalable for bigger projects.

Edit: Removed OSX Version, since it doesn't seem to work. :(

Downloads and Links


Comments

kadexus says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 5:51pm

I seemed to not be able to get past the first skeletons, shield or attacking didn't really do anything. Not sure if it's me or the game that's broken :)

I really like the graphic style and idea, very unique!

McMutton says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Ehm yes... the skeletons need 5 hits to die (without upgrades). If you get 2 skeletons right in the beginning it's for the most times game over. (currently it's randomly generated, would need some balancing)

The shield blocks only while it's displayed, so it's a timing thing.

But most importantly: Thanks for playing. :)

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 7:43pm

?? Couldnt open the OSX version for some reason. Is given this error:
"The application “Raiders” can’t be opened."

Mieeh says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Great take on theme. The gameplay seems cool but it took me a while to get it to work. The movement felt a little weird, it felt like sometimes the moving forward wouldn't work. Other than that cool idea!

McMutton says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 7:55pm

I'm sorry @SetTheBet
Built it with Unity, don't have an OSX device to actually test it. :S

Ghen says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:02pm

LOVE the aesthetic, remind me of good ol' tiger when i was in elementary school lol, everything self explanatory, exactly like what on tiger lol
very awesome entry :D

Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Really nice done graphics, I like the retro style and it reminds me of my childhood, The gameplay is fluid and I would say accurate to what I remember the actual things being. Had a blast!

SmallPhil says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 9:10pm

The art stye is awesome!

nander says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Best art style so far (first game tested, but still, awesome art style!)

Game seems a tad bit too difficult at the start, or maybe I'm just stupid.

abhimonk says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 10:40pm

The art style is SO COOL. I've literally never seen anything like this. Also super hard. I like that the blocks are very timing based. Sounds are nice too.

fabbyrob says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:42am

Great concept, the lack of feedback on moving forward is a little jarring (it took me like 4 minutes to figure out I was actually moving). It does a really great job of capturing the feel of those old handhelds though.

MaTeX-7seven says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:56am

This art style is really original haha have never seen one like it in a pc game.

Baknik says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:54am

Managed to kill a single skeleton, but couldn't get past the art style. I couldn't find my way through the level very well.

Multitudes22 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:11am

It seemed like a really good idea, but I was born after this generation of games and I really didn't have a good understanding of what was going on. I managed to play for quite a while, but it did seem a tad futile.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:21am

Maaaan, that art-style is DOPE. That's as retro as you can get! Gameplay wise, it was a bit confusing to navigate, and difficult to fight, but I enjoyed it quite a bit. Well done!

tGiant says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:43am

Interesting game. Well done on completing the game.

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:49am

You did an absolutely amazing job of replicating those old pieces of junk. On the other hand, this game shows exactly why those games were terrible. No feedback, hard to understand interface, etc., etc.

Like, you achieved *exactly* what you wanted, and I have to give a lot of respect that. Unfortunately, it's being faithful to games that just aren't, well, very fun.

Capt Nemo says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:53am

Art is pretty cool, and smart. the game is pretty hard i would say... i think the best way to make it easier would be a warning animation on the attacking skellies so the player can react to them rather than having to learn the timing range.

nanimono says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:16am

cool concept, but poor realization.
actually art is not that great.
also game like this need a score system for a sense of accomplishment. otherwise it's just a random pictures on the screen

mr.Lolcat says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:21am

Yo-moyo! It's could be an great game on old consoles. Made realistic.

yoel1234 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:20am

i liked the old school feel to it and the fake 3d.
i have no critique the game is what it is from start to finish nice job.

tomdeal says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:06pm

I really like this very old school style. It's very easy to lost though, maybe include a map (outside of the actual game) to make it a bit more accesible. Otherwise good job!

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Neat art style, love the contra-like fake 3d vibe. Pretty good as for a 2day dungeon crawler. Thumbs up!

Pusty says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:29pm

This console was really ancient. I don't even know what I was doing but it was fun haha
I really like your concept!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Very neat console! I like the game. I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ZS5h_OweR3s

Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:49pm

Good job on actually hitting the finishing line and posting something complete! especially on your first 48h jam.
I do remember that era, and you did well capturing it here.
I agree about several notes here for possible additions like map, warn animations, and easier start.
But the game is fine as it is.

I do wonder how you made it work behind the scenes though, how do you keep track of the player location and possible turns?

considering how old it looks, hard to believe it's a unity game XD

McMutton says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:26pm

@CyberStarLight
It's the same way as you would do it with any grid-based game: Have a data model for each segment and save everything you need to know into it. And the Player just needs coordinates + Look direction.
But that's the beauty of the compo: You can look into my source code :p

Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Oh right, I need to remember that :)

euske says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:24am

This was very frustrating to me. It took a while for me to realize the maze isn't random. Nice job.

Yumeito says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Nice game :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]