Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Battle Forge

by thecatspajamas - Jam Entry

As a blacksmith you must quickly assemble weapons to arm soldiers who defend your home and conquer your neighbors.

Programming:
Paul Schwarzwalder
Phoenix Smith

Music:
Nick Faro

Level Design:
Paul Schwarzwalder
Phoenix Smith
Jami Schwarzwalder

2D Art:
Jami Schwarzwalder

3D Assets from Unity Asset Store.

Streaming on Twitch at https://www.twitch.tv/thecatspjsgames

Downloads and Links


Comments

frix360 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:16am

Wow I'm impressed. That is a great game! Nice art style, animations ( that ranged kick :D ) , sounds. The idea of Minecraft type crafting worked pretty well. Very fun. Good job.

Omiya Games says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:15am

Very cool idea to have multiple consumable resources in a tower defense game, as it adds a strategy I don't see often in other games: to create lesser army men while waiting out for the bigger guards. The Minecraft-y crafting didn't really add much in my opinion, but I see a lot of potential in this concept. Nice job!

CodeCracked says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:22pm

I think this game looks really good. I don't have a chance to try it now, but I will in a few hours. I really like the Wolfenstein-style walls and Minecraft-style crafting. Look forward to trying it.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:52pm

I think the crafting idea was really great! It would have been nice to be able to check the "recipes" before the battle begins - other than that, the reference book was a great help!

I found wood to be the limiting factor quite often (only way to rebalance I found were the regular sword and shield, which required only one / zero wood)

I had a lot of fun playing though, and I definitely like the way you were going with this game. The audio selection was also right on point.

Great work!

monkeybit29 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:35pm

pretty awesome man, very nice! not much i could say for feedback other than it needs to have the weapons snap to the blocks better for better control, aside from that, no complaints! job well done!

Zeriver says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:21am

Cool concept and nice execution. Games keeps you occupied all the time and you don't even have time to get bored. Difficulty increases with each level and teaches player new mechanics so the game does not get repetitive. Art style is pretty good looking and music fits weel. Solid game overall.

Drury says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:25pm

This is amazing!

Breakdown:

Innovation: I've already seen every piece of this game before, but not in this combination. Really smart!

Fun: There's some depth here, definitely had a lot of fun playing. Very well-designed LD game. Great difficulty curve, easy to understand, even some room for mastery.

Theme: More medieval than ancient, but if there were ratings I'd let that slide and give you 5 points.

Graphics: Not mindblowing but not shoddy either. Never had an issue telling different units or crafting ingredients apart. Half-baked but efficient.

Audio: Not that bad. Never got in the way, and helped build the mood.

Mood: Really good, actually felt immersed like I would in the classics with a similar theme such as Age of Empires.

Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Really nice concept! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/vrExnx4_kXk

Sep 15, 2016 @ 7:56pm

I loved the mechanics and how simple yet hard it was to defeat the final level. It all worked out really well.

We streamed it earlier if you'd like a more indepth thought on the game: https://www.twitch.tv/cantgetourname/v/89524937

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]