Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Temple Plunder

by Fidrik - Jam Entry

Top down adventure game, loot the temple as much as possible within 5 mins. Your bag will get full up so drop of your goods at the cart!

Collect the keys to open the treasure room door and get the prized red orb!

WASD - Move
E - Drop/ pickup bag
Click to pickup loot
Space to jump

webplayer has lighting issues.

Music by - https://incompetech.com/
UI from - http://opengameart.org/content/ui-pack-rpg-extension
everything else by me

Downloads and Links


Comments

muit says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Rigid mechanics, nice level design and perfect theme!

I didnt see that I dropped the bag until it was too late :P

Nice game, congrats!

mde says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:31pm

Very nice graphics and great idea. I had a lot of fun playing it but i nerver unlocked the treasure hall. It seems to be pretty hard to do that.

joemag says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Felt really hard in a good way. Think it could just most broadly be better lit, struggling with the movement and the flashlight was frustrating. Also feel like it would be better if you dropped the bag on death rather than damage. Other than that good work.

Fidrik says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:44pm

Thanks for the feedback, the reason I made it so you drop the bag on damage was to prevent quickly running through all the traps, I can understand its pretty frustrating though.

*Spoiler
If you want to unlock the treasure hall the first key is bottom right, the second top left and the hall is bottom middle

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:10am

Nice graphics and music, I actually liked the dim lighting. I would like the slow down with encumbrance removed though, I think not being able to pick up things and having to run back to the cart is enough penalty.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:11am

Wow awesome game man!

kermed says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:29am

I thought it was cool. For some reason, once I died, I couldn't pick up loot anymore. Otherwise, very cool.

Anudin says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:32am

A little bit frustrating since the pattern for the traps were overly complicated but other than that it's really cool! I'm impressed how much gameplay one can deliver in this short time frame if he's not as noobish as I am :D

dwhiffing says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:13am

Nicely done :) I think it was a bit too dark, and I would have preferred not having to click on the treasure to pick it up, just walking into it would be make it less tedious. Considering the time limit, this is well polished! Great work

edgeofcode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:42am

The controls were quite difficult, good game though!

NinjaNic says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:28am

I was surprised at how well made this game was for just 2 or 3 days. One minor complaint I have is that the camera angle doesn't always center on the player. Other than that, the game's pretty good! Nice work, and good luck!

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:49am

Idian Jones, long time no see. :) Nice level. A complicated view of the camera - hard to see the corners. I'm confused with the bags. At some point, the hero stops to collect the gold. The game will benefit greatly if you add more emphasis on the achievement of intermediate goals.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:08am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

WERT Studio says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:11pm

the camera is the worst enemy but cool

Fidrik says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Thanks again for all the feedback guys. I do agree with the camera, I tried to get it to smoothly follow the player but it messed up for some reason and I forgot to fix it before it was too late. I will note this for next time.

Cheers!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:50pm

A solid entry with a pretty mood and a great amount of work on the aesthetic. However, the WebGL version manages lights in game really badly - there are some glitches. Overall, its good - especially the background music. Well done ++

Fidrik says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:39pm

@Geckoo1337

Thanks! Yeah I wasn't sure about the issue with the lighting on the web version, thought it might be because I didn't bake my lights.

I cant take credit for the music though, it was free off a website I linked in the description. I hope to learn some music software and make my own for the next jam though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]