Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Pyramid Builder ADV

by snaps - Jam Entry

Build a pyramid and ship it.

Instructions:

1.Unzip and open the .exe

2.Play on fantastic :^ )

3.Build a pyramid

4.Ship it

Downloads and Links


Comments

Vegevan says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Hey, I just played your game :)
I've been surprised by the dot texture / filter that is hard to handle in fullscreen with a big brick on front view haha
Otherwise, I'd have appreciated a key to rotate the selected brick, I wanted some fantasy in my pyramid :p
I liked the sounds to tell you when you take then take off the brick you select, nice helper. The pysics are good, but the camera / character lacks of frcition meaning you slide on the ground after walking a bit, and I made some bricks fall due to this slide ^^
Finally, a little background music / sound would have given some deepness to your work, but the simulator is here. Just sad to find that we had a place to settle our pyramid and make it fly while I've done mine in a black space near the spawning point :p

Had fun building, thanks mate !

snaps says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Thanks for commenting! Yeah I might add rotation today if I have time.

Tbh was rly sick while I made this so its a bit simplistic. :/

Remynfv says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:20pm

You are so awesome. I've been following your other projects for a while, so I was super excited to see what you did for Ludum Dare. Shaders are like black magic to me, so your stuff is amazing, really. I just came here to say that I love this stuff. :D

snaps says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Thank u Remy! (^∇^*)

ztiromoritz says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:43pm

That was fun.

Was able to rotate the bricks by let one drop down from another. Felt like an ancient hacker as i invented this ;)

And i did not expected what happend after pushing the red button and laughed hard.

snaps says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:01am

Thank u ztiromoritz!
I'm glad it made u laugh! ⁺✧╰(・ ᗜ ・ )╯⁺✧

WERT Studio says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:36am

8/10 would never build a pyramid again. sorry i am just too stupid to build "something"

amras0000 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:14pm

The core concept does have a lot of potential but the game just felt very frustrating all the way through. The movement felt like my first time trying on ice skates, and the blocks wobbled wildly out of control whenever I picked them up. On top of all that, my mouse got unlocked from the game window at some point which meant I kept clicking off on my other monitor.

As far as I could tell, it felt like you were trying to take control away from the player, and force them to make something abstract and unintentional. And if that was your intention, here are my thoughts: to make that work you can't let the player feel like what they've ended up with is bad, or wrong. And while I can see how you tried to do that with the end screen, I consistently felt like I'd done something wrong when a block would fling itself off the specified platform, or fly off into the distance where it wouldn't be counted towards my pyramid. I had no significant control over what was happening, but I kept feeling like I didn't want what was happening to happen, I felt like the game didn't want me to let it happen. IF that makes sense in a rambly sort of way.

I would've much preferred to have standard fps controls, where when I stop holding down a button I stop moving. And while I see what you were going for with the wobbling bricks I think the experience would've been more pleasant if they'd just stayed where I was looking. I'd have liked to be able to scroll my mouse wheel and have the bricks come barreling towards/away from me, and to have the z-rotation of the blocks stay constant relative to my camera rather than the world. If you'd done all that, this would've been a much more satisfying and relaxing experience for me, rather than causing the frustration it has.

And hey, I don't get this harsh in a critique if you hadn't done a lot of things right. The graphics and audio are very well-designed, the end screen is highly amusing and helps the game immensely. And the core concept of the game is a really nice one that I could see myself enjoying with a couple tweaks.

snaps says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:33pm

The acceleration in the movement is there because if movement speed was constant it would either take consistently too long or too little time to get from one side of the play area to the other. I'm unsure of how you could accidentally fling a block unless you were swinging it wildly in the first place? You can decelerate by pressing the opposite direction you are moving perhaps that wasn't clear and I should put that in the instructions. I agree however that the controls aren't ideal. If you are looking to build a geometrically perfect pyramid that might actually be frustrating. I would have liked finer control but I made the art first then got sick so the controls suffered a bit since they were all produced in a feverish haze. Thanks for the serious critique!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]