Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Lione's Letter

by acotis - Competition Entry

A short escape game with original piano music.

Downloads and Links


Comments

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:48am

There's no .jar in there? You're going to need to at least compile if you want people to play it.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:11am

I am getting an unknown exception thrown when I try to run the jar. I do have the latest jvm installed.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:14am

I updated my jvm and was able to run the game and escape.

I really liked the alchemy table.

The piano made me feel like a mad scientist putting things together to get out.

Graphics were okay for what it is.

The only problem I noticed was my clicks were very hard to register. I had to click on the top left of the items to pick them up.

eevee says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:56am

Cute and enjoyable, though I had similar issues with clicking, which was a bit frustrating.

It's fairly linear, and you could solve it with pure trial and error, but I don't know how you could get around that without making it much more complicated. I did like the few "hidden" items — the apple felt especially clever.

I don't think I realized the connection between the blue/red buttons and blue/red books until I was a third of the way through, oops.

I like the music! Gave it a lonely, haunting atmosphere.

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:51am

Nice example of an escape the room game. Art works fine, had some problems with the user interface (mouse drag, release sometimes didn't drop items in the slots). Played it though. Nice subtle tune. Good work

acotis says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:47pm

@negativegeforce Hooray! Thanks for the feedback :)

@KevKevOnFire The downloaded file is itself the .jar that you can run, no need to unpack it. The source files are only in there as per the rules of the compo.

bog13 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Really good game ! The music is very nice and kind of relaxing. Maybe more instructions about the recipes system would be enjoyable. It was a very nice game experience :)

seurimas says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Solved it! I definitely appreciate the music. Crafting instructions were clear, though I had issues clicking in crafting boxes to place/retrieve items. Not sure what was happening there.

Also, you may consider porting this to Web with GWT or applets. It may depend on your engine, but I mention it because Java is commonly easy enough to get on the Web one way or another.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:55am

I liked it! It's sort of like a combination of a hidden object game and an adventure game. I enjoyed looking through the books and then searching around the room for the items described. I got a real sense of progression as I got further and further down the crafting tree. It's a simple game but it didn't overstay its welcome. My one gripe with the game is that the mouse we kinda unresponsive and it usually took several clicks to perform an action. Despite this, I really enjoyed my time with this game.

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:40am

Very Nice i love your Game Good Works )=

ccegeadamcc says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:43pm

A funny game, i can kill my hours while playing this but i couldnt find the rope. Music is so good

ccegeadamcc says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:46pm

I found!

kingpirux says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:10am

good :D it does what it promises. Nice music by the way!

CMangas says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:37am

I like a lot the idea. I had some technical issues, it seems really hard to click what you want sometimes, and if you try to put an object inside your full inventory it disapears.

Other than that nice escape room game, polish it a bit more and it will be really nice :)

yotam180 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:22pm

Nice game!

Music - relaxing, gives a lonely feeling. I love it!
Graphics - programmer art is exaggeration. Art is like a 5 year old. Less liked...
Gameplay - as said before - it's quite linear. The hidden objects are nice, crafting is pretty obvious after understanding what buttons do.
Story - cool :)

Overall - nice game!

Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Nice game, I enjoyed playing it! I liked the variation in how the different ingredients were hidden in the environment in such a small space. I found the music fitting and like how you made the most of fairly simple artwork. Great job!

Mine10blox says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:46pm

hard to click, otherwise very nice

Josho says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Cool nice music!

gonutz says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Consider using a language that lets you create native applications. I do not have Java installed and want to keep it that way. This means I cannot play your game.

thiagofr says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 4:34pm

As a suggestion, it would be better to click anywhere on the items to select them for the combinations. The music is simply perfect. It doesn't interfere with gameplay and don't even becomes boring. The item mixing mechanic could also be improved by indicating how to perform it. I spent some time until I made the connection between the buttons and the books with the instructions. A very good game overall! Congratulations!

AWOL says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Nice idea. I had a hard time with the mouse controls though.

Lon says ...
Sep 19, 2016 @ 4:25am

acotis, I enjoyed finding my way out of that room in your game: Lione's Letter. I found the recipes and hidden objects fun to build/solve; I never found the game frustrating or too difficult (respectful of the player time); and I enjoyed finding the hidden items and progressing through the tech/recipes. In the recipe books I'd spot an item I didn't have in my inventory, and go off on a search, to be quickly rewarded with finding that item. A nice sense of progress with the recipe book, and nice feeling of accomplishment finding the ingredients.

Good job getting music in! It adds to the atmosphere/immersion, with a good use of the dynamics/volume/rise'n'fall, and feel to the game.

Looking through multiple recipe books trying to find an escape does sound more grand/epic than looking through a single book. I'm not sure I understand how the recipe's were divided between the books. Perhaps I didn't pay enough attention to what recipes were in which books, so I'd often find myself pressing both buttons once I got the ingredients for a recipe on the table.

I like how you cleverly named the past explorer Lione Deliel, who was stuck 36 days ago, for your Ludum Dare 36th Compo entry. As a caver/spelunker myself, I liked backstory of a spelunking mission.

I had fun playing your game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]