Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

ArsonVille

by Graham Weldon - Competition Entry

ArsonVille

Can you destroy the whole village?

You're armed with a small set of fire proliferating goodies, and only ONE chance to start the fire.

Downloads and Links


Comments

SojaBird says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Well done a really simple yet fun execution of a great idea!
The art style is cool and sound adds a fun bit.

It reminded me of one of my previous entries to I wanted to let you know that you did a better job :P

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=31667

WhiteSeal says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Very nice looking game that satisfied my pyromaniac needs

Jod says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Solid game! Very good feedback loop to the player and playing into completionist tendencies. Liked it!

http://imgur.com/a/ABTco

tinykidtoo says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:21pm

I love this game. That might be a disturbing thing to say. Oh well more fire! The game looks great and is simple to understand. I wish it had almost a challenge level where you had to burn down 75% of the map or burn certain things. Like besieged.

Green_Cafe says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:30pm

I hope this game isn't remote controlled because I completely levelled multiple cities haha. It's a very fun and simple game. It's really well done!

Nils says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:29am

Having watched Graham code this over the past several hours over on twitch I can give this game my almost totally unbiased recommendation. Really fun!

Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:59am

This is an amazing fun little game! I didn't find a single glitch. We need to see more games like this!

Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:59am

Great game!

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:02am

Aw, shit. Who doesn't love burning down some buildings! Very solid and well made, though the fire behavior was a little hard to predict. Definitely saw it not spread to some adjacent flammable stuff in there. I also saw some toroidal behavior once? Maybe I was crazy.

Graham Weldon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:42am

@KevKevOnFire - Appropriate username ;) Yeah - There is a probability of catching fire to adjacent tiles, which is higher when there is something like a house, trees, hay bales etc on that tile. So just being adjacent isn't enough sometimes. This leads to more strategic placement of dynamite and other flammables.

tomer_cool says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Nice game good art, I enjoined playing it. Very god.

Simon Love says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:14am

The concept is immediately interesting, game is fun and it is satisfying to WATCH THE WORLD BURN!!! :) Good job!

austintradr says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:25am

Sick concept. Graphics were A1, When I completed the first map I was a little upset because I thought it was only one map, then I discovered you can play all new maps. Amazing game

stuckne1 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:00am

Good job!

devextreme says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:21am

This game was really fun for me to play, and I also liked the design and simplicity of the UI.

novotmike says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:50am

Mininalistic and really cool game! I enjoyed playing the game. Great Job!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:46am

Nice game. really smooth to play. For me only the Timer feels a bit strange. Maybe you could change the fire into a rocket that automatically shouts off after 20 seconds. That way the Timer has more meaning.

boats says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 2:28am

Well done, definitely a ton of polish went into this. I really enjoyed the simple art style, although the night cycle felt a bit too dark.

Graham Weldon says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Mini Update.

I've thrown this onto Steam Greenlight, and i've done some post-Ludum Dare polishing to get it closer to complete.

I'd appreciate anyone's support if you can vote YES on Steam Greenlight!

Steam Link: http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=755408618

xzippyzachx says ...
Sep 10, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Very cool game! the Idea is awesome! The Graphics are great! Game play is very fun!

The Idea of fire spreading is very cool and the fact that the maps can be randomly generated!

I watched your you tube video time lapse which was also very cool.

I gave that game a Vote YES on green light and hope to see it on steam!

I would add like villagers that run like crazy when the fire starts and have a farm land tile!

Over all I love the game!

hitchh1k3r says ...
Sep 16, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Burning down a village is surprisingly fun! The graphics look nice, and the fast forward feature is great.
My critique is that after placing all the "fire proliferating goodies" you have to wait for the timer before starting the fire. The timer is encouraging you to go fast, but then essentially punishing you if you go too fast. I wonder if the timer is even necessary. If there was no timer you could just place things and then start the fire right after. There would be less pressure to act, but I think the bulk of the game was in watching the village burn.
Certainly fire is an ancient technology, but I don't really feel this relates to closely with the theme. All is all, you did pretty well, and good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]