Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Yggdrasil

by AnaGF - Jam Entry

A little game made in 72 hours for the #LDJAM 36.

You have been sleeping for many centuries. Now that you are awake, will you carry out your mission?


Made by Ana Guillen Fernandez @FdezGuillen

Special thanks:

Manuel Guillen Fernandez (Help with audio)
Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) - Romance for Piano and Cello (Song)

Downloads and Links


Comments

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:36am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Matlahvi says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:14am

The music goes pretty good with the game and I found all it pretty beautiful. I like the mechanics, you made a very good job! *^*

Allthebees says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:34am

Nice little game! The art was great but the collision system let down the lovely animations a bit. The player not moving with the moving platforms and jumping up stairs I got stuck a lot. The mechanic was a cool idea well done!

AnaGF says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:47am

@Matlahvi @Allthebees Thank you very much for your opinions! Thanks too for pointing out the colisión issue, I will look into it and I will try some changes.

conrad123 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Nice job! This was a really cool concept.

Thrainsa says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:34pm

awesome gamplay i love the cloning system, the story and the wall it's great, really immersive, the only bad point is the "slide effect"after the running animation, but is a detail. Good job and i really curious to see more

TomBuston says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Very nice entry !
The concept is interesting, but I got a bit confused at the part where you have to click on the clone to switch back to the real one.
Also, the plateformes are a bit slippery in my opinion.
The ambiance is actually the strong point of this, with nice graphics and great music ! Well done :)

Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:16pm

So much good stuff in here. The cloning mechanic is so good, the jumping though is a bit unresponsive while moving

Quicklyer says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Really great concept for a game, and great mood set with the music and art.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Really nice game with an interesting mechanic! I loved the character animation and music. The art is great too, although I thought that the somewhat pixelated mountains let down the foreground.

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:35pm

The graphics in Yggdrasil are super cool :) I loved the glowing tail of the protagonist - especially during the jump animation!

At some points of the level, I was a bit unsure, if I was supposed to play it that way. Like running into a wall, to avoid falling into the lava, so I could click the next clone point.

The story around the game was really awesome and touching at the same time, together with the wall paintings to share even more stories about the world the game takes place in.

Cool submission, one of my favorites so far!

AnaGF says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:39pm

@conrad123 Thanks! I am glad you liked it.

@Thrainsa Thank you a lot! And thanks for reminding me of the slide effect. I am trying to get rid of it.

@TomBuston Thanks for the feedback :) I will try to fix the physics of the game, those platforms have some issues. Also I will think of a way for managing the clones.

@kapricornmedia Thank you! ^^ I will check the code and I will try to fix the jumping.

@Quicklyer Thanks! :DDDD

@TangoOscarMike Thanks for your opinion! I will look into the pixelated mountain background. Maybe I forgot to change it when compiling to a higher screen ratio.

AnaGF says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:45pm

@Vaiaphraim Thanks you a lot! About the running into a wall, when I designed the game at first I didn't thought about sticking to a wall. It just happened that while testing the player controller you could do that, so I let it be just in case that part was very hard. Your comment gave me an idea, I think I will add a wall grabbing animation when I make a post jam version.

AlexanderMerk says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:54pm

Great music and intresting mechanics. I seen some collisions problem, try to use zero friction on Player.

felixsoum says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:40pm

Very nice clone mechanic!

Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Music is great and art is pretty. I like the stickman drawings too, I like the way you tell the story and the best part of the game is that great jumping animation. Gameplay wise, at first I expected it to be a puzzle game but it seems to be more of a how fast you can click the clone button sorta deal, it's tough to control sometimes especially when you encounter platforms. Controls are the most important part of platformers. Also do you manual save at the pink checkpoint or it's automatic because sometimes it takes me back to 2-3 checkpoints before my current checkpoint.

Aaranos says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Some of the jumps are a bit unforgiving. I like that the clones are used to reach places and also kind of like a checkpoint in some instances. Nice stickman drawings.

If you want to get rid of the wall grab bug make a Physics2DMaterial and give it 0 friction and assign it to player.

atcolombini says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:14am

Very nice level design and idea, I get the ancient technology is the fictional technology used to create the main character?

Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:15am

Cool mechanics and nice level design.
I guess the physics could be less floaty, it'd sure help the controls. I also had a bug with the checkpoints, not respawning to the last one.
But besides taht, a really solid entry, congrats!

Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:03pm

I liked the idea and the mechanics, plus it's nice to see all that environmental narrative spead along the level, it adds something to the experience. I managed to beat it, but the last trials took me a great deal of effort and timing.

As Oddly Shaped Pixels said, physics feel a little floaty. This idea with a better game feel could work very well!

Congrats!

Ludipe says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Congrats on finishing a solid entry! :-)

As the others said before, controls feel kinda of weird, but I'm sure you could fix that with a bit more of time. Perhaps it would be cool to also improve scrolling a bit (let the player see what's ahead on the direction they're facing).

Clicking on the blue nodes while moving too fast became pretty hard (don't know if that's what you meant), if you were going for something a little bit easier a "warping" button might do the work(since I believe there's never two blue nodes on screen at the same time).

I loved the level design, it featured "different ideas", the main mechanic was used in a wide range of ways, which is pretty cool and refreshing.

Also enjoyed the narrative, which I considered an important part of the game.

Well done! :-D

Jwatt says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Some curious uses of the cloning thing. It seems to have a surprising amount of lore to it.

Now, let's talk about the very basic things like collisions and camera. Those feel very funky, and that's what makes this more frustrating than it needs to be. The bit with the stairs is a good example: you get stuck on every possible wall, struggle to make the jump across, and when you do, the intended click spot is in the lower right corner of the camera view. (As an added bonus, the checkpoint next to it doesn't seem to register for me...)

Really needs some tuning with the essentials, because I think there's something here!

AnaGF says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 3:17pm

@AlexanderMerk Thank you for the advice. I will try :)

@felixsoum Thanks! :)

@Digitaldude555 Thank you! I will try to fix the controls. Also, about the checkpoints, they are authomatic but it seems that there is a bug in some of them (I will check them too)

@Aaranos Thanks for your comment! I will try, maybe it could be a solution until I make the grab for the post jam version.

@atcolombini Thank you! Yes, as you said, the ancient technology is the one used to create the characters, the cloning machines, etc. It has some story behind, but it had to be showed subtly because it was a little too much information for a single level.

@Oddly Shaped Pixels Ty! Thanks too for pointing out the physics, I am trying to fix the controller and I also think making it less physic-based will help. I will try to solve the checkpoint bug too.

@Deconstructeam Thanks for the feedback! You are right too, I will look into the physics. I think it will help me to solve the problem.

@Ludipe Thank you :) I like the idea of the scrolling camera, I like also the warp points, both are very interesting. I will think about them for the post-jam version!

@Jwatt Thank you for your comment! I am trying to fix the collision thing. I'll check the camera too :)

sorlok says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 3:55pm

Really awesome feel for a game, but the controls got in the way of the better puzzles. Main reason being: If you're going to require the user to click while jumping over lava, don't hide the cursor! Also, I wasn't sure if "sticking" to the walls was expected behavior. That said, even with the control issues I really enjoyed the game: very creative, and very well drawn. Nice fluid incorporation of the story into the game. Some hidden areas would be cool!

AnaGF says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 10:55pm

@sorlok Thank you a lot! Would you describe me the cursor issue? When I play it my cursor is showing always, even if I am playing in full screen mode. I tried with Mozilla, which browser did you try?

Kitkom says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 3:48am

Wonderful music and story´╝ü
I like the art too.
It would be better if you do more adjustments on level and character. It seems the drag of the rigidbody on the squirrel is a bit low?

ragnta says ...
Sep 7, 2016 @ 7:19pm

It's very funny, and you art is amazing. :)

Sep 8, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Very interesting and challening game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/66O503w0cEI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]